We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay in Estes Park”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

There is really no way of saying how wonderful this place is to stay. Dana and her Husband are super in keepers. They are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are the cleanest I have ever seen in a vacation town. The place is a little older, but don't let that fool you, the rooms are updated, free wifi and lcd tv's. The beds are super comfortable. The hot tub is awesome for sitting out under the stars. It's right off the main road, but traffic noise is not a problem. Dana is a wealth of knowledge of the area and has great advice of places to eat and things to do. I didn't run into any problems or complaints, but I'm positive if I did, Dana would have gone out of her way to fix it or make it right. It started to feel a little like home after a couple days. Don't pass this place up, its a place where vacation memories are made and you will want to come back time after time.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4. Roomy enough for a couple with one queen bed. Has a nice 2nd room with a microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Bryan - we are very humbled by your (and all reviewers) compliments on our Inn. As with any small business owner, all we want is for our customers to be happy and enjoy what we are offering. It looks like we were able to provide just the right level of customer service to meet your needs, while allowing you to explore and enjoy your vacation in a way that worked for you. Being a family run business, we try to treat our guests as such, except we are the type of family that love when our guests want to come back over and over and over again! Can't wait until you can return to enjoy some more R & R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We were in Estes Park to visit Rocky Mountain. We chose this Inn based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. We felt very welcomed and our room was quaint, with extra little touches. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were perfect! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FortWorth1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maxwell Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that your room met your expectations. We try to be as transparent as possible when it comes to the amenities of our accommodations, we know that we may not fit everyone's needs but we have truly enjoyed serving the guests that we have had. Let us know when you're coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My son and I went on a hiking vacation last month. We had initially booked for several nights at the Maxwell but when RMNP closed because of the shutdown, we changed our plans and went elsewhere. While we were in Colorado, the governor persuaded Interior Dept to reopen the park and we called the Maxwell. They had a room for us the next day and we ended up spending three nights there. It is a pretty simple place, laid out as a motel, but the rooms are clean and cheery, and the breakfast offered was fine. Good internet service in the rooms, as well.
They gave us good recommendations for where to eat. It suited us very well,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philaseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Raymond & Son - we were ecstatic that the gov't got their act together and opened the park during your vacation. Our hope is that all of our guests get to enjoy the RMNP in some capacity, so the fact that you guys were able to get out and do some good hiking is great! Thank you for staying with us, we were glad that we were able to provide "just what you needed" while you were our guests. Please come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Maxwell recently on an overnight trip to Estes Park. We wanted to see the results of the flooding and also offer a little bit of financial to folks in the area. The new owners are in the process or renovating the property, so not everything is where they want it to be, but we were very happy and comfortable with the accomodations.
Dana at the desk was very friendly and hospitable. She gave us a room that did not face the road, although honestly, they is hardly any traffic right now! Our room was clean and comfortable. They had re-done all the woodwork, including new headboards, nightstands, and bathroom door with beautiful knotty alder. The vanity and sink were not yet updated in our room, but many of the rooms have been we were told.
The beds were REALLY comfortable as were the pillows. The entire room was done tastefully with nice throw pillows and little touches.
We enjoyed the hot tub on the side of the building in a private fenced area. It was wonderful to look at the stars and soak in the lovely hot water!
The continental breakfast was perfect, nothing fancy, but had everything we needed; GOOD coffee & teas, fruit, yogurts, muffins, danishes and cereal for our daughter. The breakfast room has a fireplace in it which made it all even more charming and cozy.
The entire property was well kept even though it is older. The new owners just took over in April and are not finished with the place, so it will get even better! We felt they have done a wonderful job so far and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Chip and Family - Thank you for staying at The Maxwell Inn. We love chatting with other business owners, who happen to be guests, and swap and share stories about the business. Thank you for pointing out the quietness of the property in relation to our closeness to the road and to Downtown. That's one of the things that drew us to this property, we have such a close proximity to all the things you would want to do in Estes Park, but while on the property, you would never guess that we were so close because it stays so quiet!
And we enjoyed talking with you about the renovations we have completed and the ones that are on the books to be completed. We are continuously responding to guest feedback and making changes as we go. Like you mentioned, some bathrooms have been touched up here and there, we can not wait to be able to update them totally. You will have to come back to check on our progress or to see the projects we have completed (wink, wink)! We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had in impromptu vacation to Estes Park and arrived in town with no reservation. We discovered the Maxwell Inn and it met all our criteria: Breakfast, Family Friendly, Clean/New, Comfortable and Reasonably priced. The Inn keepers are young, friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating and helpful. The room was recently remodeled floor to ceiling and it appeared no expense was spared. The building is an older, quaint, structure which adds to the ambiance.

I give it an excellent rating not because it was a high end hotel but because our experience there was excellent. The accommodations at Maxwell Inn did not detract from but rather contributed to the success of our vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Byron and Family - we are glad that you found us on your spur-of-the-moment trip to Estes Park and that we were able to meet all of your lodging needs. It's always a pleasure to meet wonderful families like yours. Thank you for staying with us, we hope that you can visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and were going to Estes on a long weekend. We loved this place and the inn keepers. Couldn't have been nicer and helpful as to where to go in Estes. Place was clean and great views. They even let us borrow a wine opener so we didn't have to buy one. We can't wait to go back. On a side note Estes looked great, hard to tell there was a flood here not to long ago

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fred U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Mr & Mrs U - Thank you for staying with us on your extended-parents-only weekend! We were glad that we could help you find a place to watch "your" football team win another big game while the Mrs enjoyed a massage. Please let us know when you are ready to return to Estes and we will make sure you are taken care of, as always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were visiting Estes Park and decided to stay at the Maxwell Inn specifically because of the recommendations.

To begin with the gentleman at reception was very obliging and let as into our room early as requested. He also gave us some salt water taffy which was a very nice touch.

We requested a room on the second floor which had a nice view. The room itself while scrupulously clean was small and dark. The tiny window did not let in much natural light. The bathroom itself can only be described as petite. I found the bed uncomfortable. Others may have a different view as this is a personal thing.

On the plus side I found the inn clean and the owners friendly and its location to the town and park was great. The continental breakfast was reasonable and the starting time of 7:00am was convenient.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vivienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Vivienne, it was great meeting and assisting you and your husband. I am sorry that the size or our room, bathroom, and window were not what you were expecting. We don't really advertise having "spacious" rooms or bathrooms or spectacularly large windows with lots of natural light, because those aren't strengths of our Inn - and we make sure that our pictures online give an accurate representation of our property and accommodations. The service, the materials used in the rooms (linens, duvets, towels, baseboards and crown molding, etc), the ideal location - those are our strengths. Your insight is sincerely appreciated because it will certainly help travelers looking for larger rooms with bigger windows ensure they're happy where they stay - even if that means it's not with us. Our #1 priority is making sure that our guests our happy. Thank you again for your review and please don't be a stranger to Colorado and Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,659 reviews
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing