We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more....amazing bed!”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Medstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Could not have asked for more....amazing bed!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Travelling from the uk to spend a couple of days in the Rocky Mountains national park before continuing to Utah we chose the Maxwell Inn. All we can say as UK weary travellers is that our stay exceeded all expectations and the level of customer service and comfort we found exceeded our expectations. Dina could not do enough to facilitate our needs and coming off a 10 hour flight the comfort of the bed and the beautiful quiet surroundings were just perfect. The location is ideal for quick access to the national park and a very short walk by the river to downtown where we had a great meal and a beer or two. You are doing a great job with your hotel and I am sure you will have a busy season. Thanks for everything, Gary and Jo from Hampshire UK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Gary and Jo - We always enjoy visiting with visitors from all over the world. We really appreciate that you were happy with the accommodations at The Maxwell Inn. We stay pretty busy in the off season with updating our rooms. We hope that while you are finishing up your travels in the US, that you remember your time in Estes Park and at The Maxwell Inn as one of the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    79
    28
    3
    1
See reviews for
129
285
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I were looking for a couple of days rest between a conference in Aspen and another in Denver. This place has highly recommended on TA. We were very happy with the room, the location, and even the continental breakfast in the morning. The owners were a wealth of information which helped us to plan the two days that we had in Estes Park. Even got a call the day before we left Aspen with some tips on avoiding the snow as we came to EP.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJ_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Whether you are coming to Estes Park from the Front Range, Highway 70 or the Denver Airport, we realize that you will have a little bit of a drive. In hopes that you arrive in Estes and at The Maxwell Inn safely and not weary eyed, we try to help our guests find the best route. When we found out that you were going to be coming from Aspen, CO, we wanted to make sure that you knew that certain roads would be unpassable this time of year (Trail Ridge Road) and which routes were not under major construction. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time at The Maxwell Inn and in Estes Park. We hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Marais
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is our second time staying at The Maxwell Inn and we love it! The rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, and the location to town, restaurants, and local area attractions is perfect. The owners are very hospitable and more than willing to help in any way. As this was a special trip for our 29th wedding anniversary, we were delighted to find a beautiful bouquet of roses in our room!
Thank you so very much Dana and Peter for everything, we will return! Steve and Sherry W.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us, again! We look forward to your next visit, and hope that we can send you to more new places around town and in the Rocky Mountain National Park. As always, it was a pleasure talking with you two and being able to make your anniversary a memorable one. Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at The Maxwell Inn in Estes Park! The owners were super friendly and helpful with great recommendations and advice for restaurants and attractions in the area. Our room was clean and modern and very cozy. The bed was very comfortable...best I've ever slept away from home. Our king room was on the small side but it was perfect for the two of us. We didn't spend much time in our room anyway, the area is so beautiful and there is so much to do! The downtown shopping area and restaurants are an easy 10 minute walk from the Inn. The entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park is a mere 4 miles down the road. The location is perfect, and we enjoyed our stay so much that we will be back again as soon as we are able!

Room Tip: Cozy King room, very clean with comfortable beds. Rooms are on the darker side which was perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adschimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Estes Park! Between the hiking, fly fishing, shopping, and trying out restaurants around town, it sounds like you did it all! We couldn't be happier to hear your feedback about our Inn and that we did everything we could to meet your needs and help you enjoy your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very comfortable rooms, fully accesorized but most of all - the owners were so hospitable and nice! We came with a gas stove to cook a bit in the room but it didn't work, and the owners were willing to let us use their own kitchen stove. That's what I call dedication!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Alon, It was great getting a chance to meet you and your family. We are happy to hear that our place was perfect for you needs and that we could assist you when your portable stove was not working properly. We hope that you all can come together again some time soon, I know it's probably hard to get everyone together from all over the states and world. Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My traveling allows me to visit numerous cities throughout the United States. This trip to Estes Park will always be remembered by the friendly owners at The Maxwell Inn. Once I arrived in town locals recommended that I stay at the hotel because of the friendly owners and location to the towns attractions. This hotel was located within walking distance to the downtown area.

Rooms were obviously recently remodeled. All items in the room were new and did not show any signs of wear and tear. Bathroom fixtures were clean and modern. The owners did not cut any corners with remodeling this hotel.

Noise was not an issue for me as the hotel is located far enough away from traffic. The only noise I could hear was the sounds of the Elk passing in the area. This was the best sound to experience while visiting colorado. If you want to see elk up close visit Estes Park.

I believe my stay at The Maxwell Inn has totaled 12 weeks in total. Yes 12 weeks at this hotel and it was an excellent place to stay. One of my weeks was over the Thanksgiving holiday. The owners main concern was that I had a place to enjoy a good meal and invited me to Thanksgiving dinner.

I would highly recommend this hotel for my friends and family.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Rick - it was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you for such an extended time. We are truly glad that you were able to make our Inn your home away from home while you were working in Estes. Thank you for your appreciation of our friendly customer service, quaint and quiet room. We also are happy to hear that you enjoyed meeting our family, so much of the hospitality business is making people feel welcome and like family. Follow our website or Facebook page to see the renovations that are continuing since your departure. And as always, come back and see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irkutsk, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We did not plan to go to Estes Park due to the shutdown, but then decided to visit the Rocky Mountain NP after reopening. The Maxwell Inn was on the top in Tripadvisor list and I booked it with no doubt. We easily found that nice place by navigator. Our room was not made, so, we had to move to room #9, which was clean, warm and comfortable. I cannot say we had a nice view from our room. The weather was very favourable to us - on the way to EP from DEN we drove in heavy snow, what was not easy. Next morning we had shining sun and blue sky. Breakfast is a kind of homestay style - simple, good and friendly. It is served at the reception area. The location is not in the downtown, you have to walk for 5-10 minutes to the central shopping street for food and entertainment. There is a good microbrewery in EP, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Vlad and Family - Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maxwell Inn. Our apologies again about the room not being ready when you arrived - however we're glad we could immediately get you into a comparable room that you found clean, warm, and comfortable! Our town very much appreciated those that decided to give Estes a chance after the flood, and I think you found that we got back to normal pretty quick! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Inn and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing