We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here recently. Dana and her husband took this place over last year and have given it a facelift. It is now a great place to stay with a good position just a little walk away from the hustle and bustle of the town yet close enough for a short walk to all the restaurants and shops. Comfy bed and A/C make for a decent nights sleep followed by continental breakfast in the morning. Dana is extremely helpful and is very knowledgeable about the area. It is just a short drive from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. We stayed in Room 2 which is a double aspect room and although faced the road we suffered no noise throughout our stay. Perfect!

Room Tip: Get Room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Simon and Sandra - It was a pleasure to meet you two and we are glad that you found our Inn to be exactly what you needed for your stay in Estes Park. Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn while you are still traveling. Room #2, that you stayed in, recently received many updates, including new bathroom tile, new vanity and counter-top, custom made headboard and nightstands and new upholstered chairs. Room #2 also has easier access to the newly renovated patio and our breakfast room. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    78
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
263
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here on a little getaway trip with my wife based on the solid reviews. The reviews were correct! It is a small little place, but is just enough out of town to stay in walking distance, but be quiet as well. It is also only 4 miles from Rocky Mountain Park entrance. The owners are from Missouri, and fellow Cardinals fans which supplied some very easy conversation from the get go. We tried some of the restaurants that were recommended and were pleased as well.

It is a not a big place, but the rooms were very modern and recently renovated. When we got back from dinner the first night we had 5 cow elk grazing in the parking lot, which was amazing. This was followed by 5 bull elk the next night grazing within feet of our car.

Overall the owners were great, the rooms are very nice, and the scenery is beyond breathtaking. I look forward to our next trip to Estes Park, which will include another stay at the Maxwell Inn. I would recommend to anyone coming to stay in this area. It is a perfect compliment to the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We have many loves in our lives, the St. Louis Cardinals and The Maxwell Inn being tops on the list. So when we meet people with those same connections, it always makes for great conversation! It was a pleasure meeting you two and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay and our nightly visitors (the Elk). Please keep us in mind the next time you come to Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean and cozy rooms. Very healthy breakfast with high quality organic food. Service was great. She treated us as guests in her own house. She gave us the prefect advice on places to visit and where to eat. We couldnt thank enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeraGarciaMuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Since we are a small Inn with only 17 rooms, we are able to give our guests a more personable experience, get to know you a bit and make the best recommendations based on that. We are happy to hear that we could point you in a direction that suited you and to make your Estes Park experience a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Calhoun, NE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there last year and loved it. Of course, it was pretty new at that time and when we booked another stay there recently, I hoped that the "newness" had not worn off and it had become just another hotel. They didn't disappoint at all!! In fact, they have made even more improvements to the place!! It is the cutest little place. The rooms are so comforting and cute. The beds are soft and the blankets warm for those chilly nights in Colorado. The towels are so soft and fluffy. I felt pampered. I love that they are close to town so you can just walk to where you want to go and not worry about parking. And the fact that the owners are so nice and accommodating, you won't go wrong staying at this place when you visit Estes Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swc769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are happy that you chose to stay with us again this year, we only wish it could have been for longer. Hopefully you will keep up in mind the next time you are able to get away. And thank you for reviewing our Inn, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a night at the Maxwell Inn. It is a retro styled motel on the outside with updated and very clean rooms on the inside. The linens are very nice, the beds comfortable and surroundings beautiful. The staff is very nice and helpful. The little patio area with fire pit and hot tub are perfect. You will enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Cody - It was very nice to meet you and some of your family. We appreciate your review of our Inn and hope that we can accommodate you the next time you decide to get away from the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a wonderful reset for a quaint and cozy mini-hotel. Each room has unbelievable custom touches that make you feel like you are staying with your favorite aunt. Great beds, super clean remodeled bath, tons of electrical and USB outlets, convenient parking, free dvd's and the friendliest inn keepers west of the Mississippi river.

Free breakfast, great location (we saw elk and deer) and ONE minute form downtown, yet you feel like you are far, far away.

Young family just moved from Missouri and they do the Show Me state proud!

Room Tip: When you go online you can actually view every individual room. We really liked 16, on the end, supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyReb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
J & J - It is so nice to hear that you two liked the option of using our website and choosing the specific room that you wanted. Room #16, like a few others, is one that got new bathroom tile, custom made vanity, soapstone counter top, new headboard, nightstands and upholstered chairs this winter! To hear that you and your wife loved all the updates we did to the rooms, warms our hearts. Thank you for trying a new place, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and Mother's Day at The Maxwell Inn. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baudette
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The rooms are beautifully designed in warm inviting tones. The beds were very comfortable. There were DVD players in each room and a selection of movies in the lobby. Simple but fulfilling continental breakfast is provided. They just installed a gas fire pit, which is a great place to gather. However the best part was the hospitality. The staff was very helpful. That recommended things to do and a great restaurant for dinner. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Wendy and Brian - It was a pleasure meeting you two and sharing similar experiences in life and work made for great conversation. We are glad that our restaurant suggestions were well received and we would love to hear about your ATV adventure. You two were our first visitors to enjoy our newly renovated patio area and fire pit, so we are happy to hear that it was enjoyable. Hopefully next time you come you can bring the rest of the family and enjoy even more of what Estes Park has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing