We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Maxwell Inn. The place is very close to the RMNP entrance, and walking distance to most of the dining in town. The rooms are very clean and well-decorated. I have to give a big thanks to Dana, who loaned me a phone charger after I left mine in the previous hotel we stayed at. Would stay here again if we ever return to Estes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Greg - It was a pleasure meeting you two. We were happy to be able to provide a phone charger for your to borrow while you were here. We completely understand the importance of being 'connected' even while on vacation! Thank for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    78
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
114
256
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you want to stay in a small inn where the owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home, then this is the place for you. We could not have enjoyed our stay more, except wanting to stay longer. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices, the rooms were quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but was in easy walking distance. The park entrance is a short drive away and every question we had was answered with a smile.

Room Tip: The upstairs queen was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Inn is unique in the fact that we have a smaller number of rooms, only 17, which allows us to meet and greet nearly all of our guests when they check in or have questions about things to do in Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and hope that you think of us for your next vacation to Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed in 4 rooms here with a family group and all of the rooms were great. The rooms had both the King or 2 Queen bed option and all were clean and very comfortable. The furnishings were all newer and up to date including very good wi-fi. The biggest selling point as other guests have mentioned are the owners. They both go out of their way to make sure you have what you need and quick to offer very helpful suggestions when you ask for advice. It is not very often the owner herself will pour a guest a cup of coffee during the continental breakfast.
The location is very convenient for RMNP. You are only minutes from the entrance as well as the haunted Stanley Hotel and downtown Estes Park. They have a nice fire pit where you can sit and talk about the daily activities. The cost here is very reasonable compared to what we found when we were looking at other locations on TA.
We had rooms facing the front and the back of the motel and no one noticed any difference as to sound from traffic. The street in front is not very busy which is probably why we saw Elk eating in the field across from the motel.
The only tip we could make is do not use the freezer in the mini fridges in the rooms as they do not keep things frozen.

Room Tip: Consult with the owners as to what you prefer and they will be happy to suggest a particular room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Mark & Family - we too enjoyed meeting your family and are happy to hear that you all enjoyed your time in Estes Park and at The Maxwell Inn! We are sorry to hear that your freezer was not doing its job, Thank you for that feedback, we will be addressing that issue immediately. We are happy that we were able to make daily suggestions for you and your family of places to go and see in RMNP and around Estes Park. We hope that you all enjoy the rest of travels in Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is an old property in Estes Park which was recently purchased by a very energetic and pleasant young couple and is being brought into the modern era: they are doing a good job of it.

I have been visiting Estes Park for many years: this in my 50th. I am familiar with the level of accommodations in this area and would rate this one as adequate plus: what one would expect but not exceptional. (The new owners have undertaken extensive upgrading of the property which might change this rating in the future.)

On the positive side, the owners were very gracious to me: very much appreciated. The lobby and breakfast areas are warm and inviting. The breakfast items on offer were quite adequate. The guest room was pretty standard. There were adequate power outlets for the device oriented world in which we live. The shower head was very nice, as were the bath amenities.

On the negative side, given that most of travelers in 2014 travel with laptops or some sort of device, the lack of any sort of desk was a total pain for me. There was no trash can in the bath, which is inconvenient. There was no laundry bag leaving one to deposit dirty laundry in a pile on the floor. On my arrival there was one (1) cup by the coffee maker. The only cups that ever made it to my room were the ones I put there from the breakfast are. There was no glass ware of any sort, which, again, is rather inconvenient: I purchased plastic cups so I could have beverages in my room.



All in all I would certainly consider the Maxwell Inn as a future place of accommodation in Estes Park.

Room Tip: Request a room upstairs.
See more room tips
Green Features: While I certainly appreciate the Inn's efforts to be "green" I must say it fall short. Every morning of my stay, I followed the instructions of the "environmental" card in the bath regarding towel reuse: Every day the towels were needlessly changed.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denniskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dennis, thank you for offering your feedback on our Inn! It was nice to meet you and we're happy you appreciated our improvements to the Inn. We encourage guests, as you did, to pick a room on our website based on pictures and description so that there are no surprises, ie, lack of a desk. We have rooms with tables - however the layout of your room in particular (one of our most popular) doesn't lend itself to additional furniture. Regardless, we would only ask that if there are ANY concerns during a guests stay - no matter how small (laundry bag, extra cups, etc) - that we're given a chance to address them in the moment. We hope that you enjoy your future stays in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The Maxwell Inn first caught my attention because I too am a (madien) Maxwell. But I really booked because of the reviews and they didn't lie! Rooms were super clean and comfortable. Location was great and I think the price suited the room/service. We stayed in a double queen, great choice as it was on the back side and quiet. Hot tub was much needed after a long day in the parks. Both owners were extremely friendly and made it feel like a family friendly place. Will be going back to Estes Park and now know exactly where we will stay again. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We, too, are glad that you found us! You were one of the first guests to use our hot tub in our newly renovated patio area, so we are glad to hear that it was a relaxing experience after all your adventures in Estes Park. Please let us know when you are ready to return, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

we stayed two nights in one of the double queen rooms in the back. It was very quiet and the room was big. The beds are very comfy.

The Maxwell Inn is good located near the center of Estes Park and the RMNP Entrance.

The owners are very friendly and care about there guests and motel. I can only recommend to stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you and your friend, and offer some fitting suggestions for your time in Estes Park. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the States and are looking to take a trip to the mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Maxwell Inn first week of June for sightseeing in Rocky Mtn National Park, choosing it because of high TripAdvisor ratings, which are well deserved. The owners, who put their name over the door, man the front desk at all times, live directly behind the front desk, and are utterly charming, spare no effort to make everything as nice as possible..which is VERY nice! They bought this small, cozy motel 16 months ago, and seem to work 24/7 to polish it to perfection. Although the building is not new, many of the furnishings are. New high quality furniture, individual unit air conditioners, flat panel TVs, quality mattresses, shower curtains, good towels and sheets and comforters, and on. Fresh paint on everything painted, and the place is immaculate. They have a gardener and a cabinet maker in the family, and it shows. Included continental breakfasts are great, and did I mention the place is spotless?
Only negative is the rooms are small, so being indoors all day on a rainout would be cramped, but if I return to Estes Park, this is unquestionably my first choice! In these days of corporate motels (and everything else), the Maxwell Inn, run so well by the Maxwells, is a treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Paul - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and so will our future guests. Part of the uniqueness of our Inn is that every room is a little different. Ideally, we strive to provide friendly customer service (including recommendations of things to do and places to see), clean and comfortable room accommodations...a place to get a good nights rest so that you can get up and out to enjoy RMNP or the town of Estes Park. We truly enjoyed our time getting to know you two, and hope that you are able to make it out this way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing