We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice quiet hotel within walking distance of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel within walking distance of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here with the wife last week. It's pretty quiet, clean, and the rooms have been updated. The front desk was friendly, and the skittish hummingbird at the feeder near the front office was really funny. It's fine, you should stay here.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, I would recommend requesting the second floor because if you are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marvingardens22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let folks know about our Inn! Updated rooms is something that Peter and I have personally put a lot of time and effort into. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the local wildlife as well; being a quiet location lets you feel like you're close enough to walk to town comfortably but also be able to relax anytime you'd like (the hummingbirds and elk have figured this out, also!) - especially using our new fire pit and hot tub area. Sometimes the deck can be noisy, and we'd agree that light sleepers may sleep better upstairs - using our website lets you choose the specific room, and we'd recommend that. Again, your insight is appreciated and we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    78
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
114
256
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I cannot say enough about our stay.

We were travelling from another part of Colorado and got into Estes Park well ahead of check-in time. Dana greeted us and told us our room was ready for us which was wonderful (we were tired).

We received helpful information/ideas on what to see in RMNP, where to dine and even found us a place in the village for my daughter to find a replacement earring. It was also very conveniently located close to town and RMNP.

The room was very cozy and comfortable and very nicely decorated and clean! The internet was the best we had during our stay and Colorado and considering that it was the most remote location, we were pleased!

The breakfast was nice. Many choices for a continental breakfast. The danish were delicious! Dana even spent time with us at breakfast sharing stories of how she and Peter got started and ended up in the hotel business.

Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. We hope we will be able to visit again and look forward to catching up with Dana and Peter.

Highly recommend the Maxwell Inn!!!

The Bakers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bakers_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Baker Ladies - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure getting to know you, it was like talking with long-time friends! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Inn, your room and the in-room amenities offered here. As for the recommendations, we truly want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and their time in the mountains, so we do what we can to make recommendations tailored to each guest. There is so much to see and do, we hope that you return for more fun and adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked this Motel having seen it on Trip Adviser and were not disappointed. Our room (Number 3), was upstairs and easy to get to from the rear, with only a few steps. The room was quite large, comfortable and had a very comfortable arm chair and foot stool. A pity there was not a second chair for the second occupant. We mentioned this to Dana, who fully understood and said that the room was too small to put in another similar chair. Maybe just a smaller chair would be a compromise? The continental breakfast was very good and had a large selection. We agree with previous comments about the friendliness of the owners and about Dana pouring fresh coffee for the guests, even when the coffee dispenser still had hot coffee in it. Nothing was too much trouble and she even tried to do our airport "Check In" on line for us. We would certainly stay here again, should we return to Estes Park and would recommend it, if anyone we know intends to visit the area.
Gordon & Chris (from England)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackpoolTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Gordon and Chris - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in room #3. We are currently looking for a smaller chair to add to that room, thank you for the insight about additional seating in that room. We hope that you made it back home safely. Please keep us in mind the next time you vacation in Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Maxwell Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. The Inn was very clean and with big comfortable beds. The innkeepers and staff are very friendly and helpful. The Inn is very close to the East entrances of the park and is also a short walk to the center of Estes Park. A great combination. Highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Larry and Family - it was so nice to meet you and your family, we especially liked to hear that you are fellow Tiger fans! Thank you for sharing your information about Dinosaur National Monument, we will be sure to put it to good use. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. Please keep us in mind the next time you vacation in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Maxwell Inn. The place is very close to the RMNP entrance, and walking distance to most of the dining in town. The rooms are very clean and well-decorated. I have to give a big thanks to Dana, who loaned me a phone charger after I left mine in the previous hotel we stayed at. Would stay here again if we ever return to Estes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Greg - It was a pleasure meeting you two. We were happy to be able to provide a phone charger for your to borrow while you were here. We completely understand the importance of being 'connected' even while on vacation! Thank for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you want to stay in a small inn where the owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home, then this is the place for you. We could not have enjoyed our stay more, except wanting to stay longer. The continental breakfast had a good variety of choices, the rooms were quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but was in easy walking distance. The park entrance is a short drive away and every question we had was answered with a smile.

Room Tip: The upstairs queen was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Inn is unique in the fact that we have a smaller number of rooms, only 17, which allows us to meet and greet nearly all of our guests when they check in or have questions about things to do in Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and hope that you think of us for your next vacation to Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed in 4 rooms here with a family group and all of the rooms were great. The rooms had both the King or 2 Queen bed option and all were clean and very comfortable. The furnishings were all newer and up to date including very good wi-fi. The biggest selling point as other guests have mentioned are the owners. They both go out of their way to make sure you have what you need and quick to offer very helpful suggestions when you ask for advice. It is not very often the owner herself will pour a guest a cup of coffee during the continental breakfast.
The location is very convenient for RMNP. You are only minutes from the entrance as well as the haunted Stanley Hotel and downtown Estes Park. They have a nice fire pit where you can sit and talk about the daily activities. The cost here is very reasonable compared to what we found when we were looking at other locations on TA.
We had rooms facing the front and the back of the motel and no one noticed any difference as to sound from traffic. The street in front is not very busy which is probably why we saw Elk eating in the field across from the motel.
The only tip we could make is do not use the freezer in the mini fridges in the rooms as they do not keep things frozen.

Room Tip: Consult with the owners as to what you prefer and they will be happy to suggest a particular room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Mark & Family - we too enjoyed meeting your family and are happy to hear that you all enjoyed your time in Estes Park and at The Maxwell Inn! We are sorry to hear that your freezer was not doing its job, Thank you for that feedback, we will be addressing that issue immediately. We are happy that we were able to make daily suggestions for you and your family of places to go and see in RMNP and around Estes Park. We hope that you all enjoy the rest of travels in Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, new mattresses, and comfortable linens and bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing