We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but seriously out dated and lacking basic amenities”
Review of Columbine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Columbine Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This place is clean but in desperate need of updating. We stayed in a "suite" which had a kitchenette and a gas fireplace. The room is so outdated it's uncomfortable. The fixtures are leftovers from the late 60's or early 70's. The gas fireplace smelled so bad (like improperly vented) that you couldn't use it. The bed had the ugliest, oldest bedspread,a really cheap blanket,and only two lumpy pillows. No nightstand on one side so had to put water bottle, phone, etc on floor. There's a very small flat screen TV and slow Wi-Fi. If you don't clean up your own dishes apparently you're charged an extra "service fee". Isn't that why you pay for a suite? I can't help but think of the TV show "Hotel Impossible" and how the host would have a field day with this place!
My husband chose this property as we attended a family wedding and some people were on a budget. I work in the travel industry and always stay in 3 star plus lodging. I can't help but think there must be much better lodging for the same price or even less here in Estes Park. The surroundings here are so beautiful but there's no view at this motel, nothing special, no amenities, no extra pillows, no hair dryers, no hair conditioner,no ironing boards. The room even smelled funky. All I could think of is, why dont hotel owners put a little money into fixing a place up, and provide basic amenities? Don't they want their guests to be comfortable? I say don't bother staying here. This place needs a serious makeover!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The owner (John) of the Columbine Inn is very accommodating and helpful in finding things to do and places to eat in the Estes Park area.
Also, the Columbine Inn offers a variety of rooms for all types of travelers. Aside from the regular rooms, our group utilized the jacuzzi suite, family suite, and fireplace suite and they accommodated to our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The owner/manager was friendly enough. But when I found out there was no wi-fi signal from them, he blamed it on some guests who had left that day and suggested that I try to link into the neighboring motel's wi-fi and gave me a bogus password (so much for getting some work done for clients that evening)... That night my husband and I were treated to the worst night's sleep we've gotten in a very long time, thanks to the horribly uncomfortable beds. Followed by a shower that barely drained. We both ended up leaving grumpy, exhausted, and dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRHCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

This is is ok. It is a simple hotel. There is a tv, refrigerator, towels, and extra blanket. It has electric heat. It has air if needed. Breakfast is a roll or cereal with milk. No worries McDonalds is only 1.2 miles up the road. Breakfast does not start till 7. Check out is at 10.

On a budget you get what you pay for. No extras however it is clean and the owner is pleasant. The hot tube is outside and it does work.

The picture on the website implies that you are close to the park and elk are everywhere. Not really close but not far. You in the valley surrounded by mountains. Very nice site. Grounds are well kept. Felt safe and secure. There is a paved walking path next to the road into town. Deer wander through area occasionally.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After reading that other guests brought pets into their rooms, we were hesitant, because my wife is an allergy sufferer and can tell if a pet had did something in a room. The manager insisted that he had never had a complaint about this so we took a chance, and were very pleased. My wife had no complaints about pet odors, the motel was close to shopping, the room was comfortable and very reasonably priced and easy to find. We liked the screen door and the windows that opened in the back of the room to let the fresh air in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEKansasBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Seeing our dog travels everywhere with us, we were limited as to where we could stay in Estes Park. Columbine Inn was our first choice among the in town hotels. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning staff went above and beyond to keep our room perfect for our entire stay. We got the fireplace suite which has a private bedroom. That was great for our dog to have more room to play than a traditional hotel rooms. The gas fireplace kept our room warm and added some ambiance as well! The location was nice as we were able to walk to 2 restaurants. Overall, everything was great!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After a last-minute bailout from a friend on staying the weekend in Estes for ScotsFest, I was fortunate enough to find Columbine Inn. What a GREAT place! John is a wonderful, kind and gracious host. The room is SUPER clean and although a little retro, I LOVED it!!! I'll take this place over some "updated" (read: overpriced and snootchy) resort on the other end of town. Sadly, they aren't open year round, but they're pet friendly, and I recommend it without hesitation! Easy access to Estes, clean, old school, real deal. LOVE it!!!! Thanks, John!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClimbHighColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#25 of 29 in Estes Park
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 1540 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8918
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £122 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park
Columbine Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing