We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling from Canada on a Harley”
Review of Columbine Inn

Columbine Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Columbine Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
vancouver island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Travelling from Canada on a Harley”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a great Motel at Estes Park Colorado. We spent one night on our way through Rocky Mountain National Park. Loved the accommodations, the benches outside the unit, grounds with picnic tables, hot tub. John is very helpful and had lots of brochures and maps in the reception. The only thing we didn't like was there is no coffee in the room and we left before the continental breakfast but not a big deal.
Loved the comfy feeling of the place and would definitely recommend it and stay again.
The walk to town is uphill both ways and it was very hot so have a look before you walk to town

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverIslandSamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    14
    15
    9
See reviews for
32
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip to the Rockies, the room was very clean, comfortable and well priced. The location was great, and the owner, John was very friendly and helpful about places to eat and things to see in the area. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This place is clean but in desperate need of updating. We stayed in a "suite" which had a kitchenette and a gas fireplace. The room is so outdated it's uncomfortable. The fixtures are leftovers from the late 60's or early 70's. The gas fireplace smelled so bad (like improperly vented) that you couldn't use it. The bed had the ugliest, oldest bedspread,a really cheap blanket,and only two lumpy pillows. No nightstand on one side so had to put water bottle, phone, etc on floor. There's a very small flat screen TV and slow Wi-Fi. If you don't clean up your own dishes apparently you're charged an extra "service fee". Isn't that why you pay for a suite? I can't help but think of the TV show "Hotel Impossible" and how the host would have a field day with this place!
My husband chose this property as we attended a family wedding and some people were on a budget. I work in the travel industry and always stay in 3 star plus lodging. I can't help but think there must be much better lodging for the same price or even less here in Estes Park. The surroundings here are so beautiful but there's no view at this motel, nothing special, no amenities, no extra pillows, no hair dryers, no hair conditioner,no ironing boards. The room even smelled funky. All I could think of is, why dont hotel owners put a little money into fixing a place up, and provide basic amenities? Don't they want their guests to be comfortable? I say don't bother staying here. This place needs a serious makeover!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Palmer, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The owner (John) of the Columbine Inn is very accommodating and helpful in finding things to do and places to eat in the Estes Park area.
Also, the Columbine Inn offers a variety of rooms for all types of travelers. Aside from the regular rooms, our group utilized the jacuzzi suite, family suite, and fireplace suite and they accommodated to our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The owner/manager was friendly enough. But when I found out there was no wi-fi signal from them, he blamed it on some guests who had left that day and suggested that I try to link into the neighboring motel's wi-fi and gave me a bogus password (so much for getting some work done for clients that evening)... That night my husband and I were treated to the worst night's sleep we've gotten in a very long time, thanks to the horribly uncomfortable beds. Followed by a shower that barely drained. We both ended up leaving grumpy, exhausted, and dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRHCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

This is is ok. It is a simple hotel. There is a tv, refrigerator, towels, and extra blanket. It has electric heat. It has air if needed. Breakfast is a roll or cereal with milk. No worries McDonalds is only 1.2 miles up the road. Breakfast does not start till 7. Check out is at 10.

On a budget you get what you pay for. No extras however it is clean and the owner is pleasant. The hot tube is outside and it does work.

The picture on the website implies that you are close to the park and elk are everywhere. Not really close but not far. You in the valley surrounded by mountains. Very nice site. Grounds are well kept. Felt safe and secure. There is a paved walking path next to the road into town. Deer wander through area occasionally.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoyt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After reading that other guests brought pets into their rooms, we were hesitant, because my wife is an allergy sufferer and can tell if a pet had did something in a room. The manager insisted that he had never had a complaint about this so we took a chance, and were very pleased. My wife had no complaints about pet odors, the motel was close to shopping, the room was comfortable and very reasonably priced and easy to find. We liked the screen door and the windows that opened in the back of the room to let the fresh air in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEKansasBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 1540 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8918
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park
Columbine Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing