We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Columbine Inn

Columbine Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Columbine Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We received a phone call from the hotel a couple days prior to our visit and learned the family suite for $155/night had caught on fire. We were offered a two queen single room for $114. We felt we should have received a discount for our inconvenience since we were spending 4 nights, expecting our young son to be in a separate room as those with young children will understand. (I also see we got burned on the price as a previous review paid $110 for approx. the same unit around the same time). Secondly, thought it was a bit strange that we were charged for all four night at the beginning of our visit which gave no option to leave early as the direct TV went in and out on us several times, the plug from the fridge fell out of the wall without being touched spoiling our food the 2nd night. Not to mention, cramped room with front door that would get stuck on the bed as your entered. Also puny bathroom. Continental breakfast consisted of Cheerios, milk, orange juice, and prepackaged danishes. Lastly, every time we needed ice we had to go to the front desk and ask for it. Aside from all that, the place is clean. . . however outdated "Granny" music played in the lobby/breakfast area. The view around and location was great (despite the plastic and silk flowers around the grounds) and the Manager/Owner was helpful and friendly. I wouldn't tell anyone not to stay there but would recommend not having high expectations!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hucklebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    35
    15
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
garland tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

$110 for a tiny cramped outdated room, We could not even open the front door all the way because it hit the bed. You can't watch the tv from the beds because it faces the cramped little sitting area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmstrng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We relocated to the Columbine from a property without A/C. At first sight, I thought "Oh no, an old fashioned motor lodge", but I was very pleasantly surprised. This place was incredibly clean!! Fresh paint, no musty odor in the rooms, good beds, and strong Wi-Fi. They have a small gas grill (a Weber) on the deck by the hot tub that we grilled bison burgers on for dinner, and we were able to watch the full moon rise over some peaks in the evening from the hot tub. Just really friendly folks in the office, too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago vicinity
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Because my wife and I travel with our pet dog, our lodging choices are limited to pet-friendly properties. Columbine Inn was a pleasant choice and rather economical for Estes Park. By that I mean to say Estes Park is, overall, a priceir tourist town. So, the rates at the Columbine Inn were economical for Estes Park, but they would have been over-priced had this hotel been in, say, Fort Collins.

The same gentleman who took my telephone reservation, handled the check-in and handled all of my inquiries about the locale was also the owner, and whose name totally escapes me. He was very helpful with his restaurant recommendations and local driving directions.

The hotel itself was a 1950's style motor court with some pretty garden areas and gazebo. Had the evenings been a tad warmer, an evening in the gazebo would have been a wonderful way to relax after an active day in the nearby Rocky Mountain National Park. The outdoor pool was already out-of-commission for the season. The lobby/lounge was cozy (small) but with large windows and mountain vistas. The breakfast buffet didn't have many options, and it was mostly pre-package items. We just supplemented the limited choices with groceries we bought on our own.

The room decor was more like a B&B than hotel. Small sitting area w/ TV separted from the bed. Perhaps a bit cramped, or cozy, depending on your perspective. The room was clean and furniture in good shape, albeit older. While some people might criticize the furnishings as dated, (as in suburban family room circa 1974), the feel that we we were in a guest room in someone's house, rather than a hotel, was what we enjoyed most about this property. The room came with a mini-frig, which we put to good use. The only maintenance issue was with TV reception. Not every channel came in with that HDTV clarity we now all expect.

The hotel is on one of the major roadways near the edge of town. Traffic made getting into and out of the hotel a pain at times, and it was too far to walk into central Estes Park. However, several restuarants were within easy walking distance. And we were able to see some of the local wildlife right on the hotel grounds, including elk and mule deer.

This hotel is probably best for couples who are in Estes Park for activities other than spending alot of time in their hotel. But if you want to avoid "resort" rates and just want a comfortable, basic room, the Columbine Inn would be a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, FL
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

On the way back to Ft Robinson, NE... We had 2 rooms for our family of 7. Easy to find, and close to everything. Overall a pleasant experience.

Realize that this is an old motel. In old I mean 60's era beds, furniture (smacked of college dorm furniture), bathrooms and heating/cooling.

That's not to say it isn't nice... The owners are pleasant and helpful, and it was quiet and clean. You will definitely get what you pay for. We would stay again.

  • Liked — Inexpensive, location
  • Disliked — Inexpensive
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dissector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We were looking for a reasonably priced motel for a quick overnight from Denver. We found this motel after browsing on the Internet. Their website looked great. Then we called the hotel directly. They seemed very friendly. Family-owners have had the property many years. The front of the property is on Hwy 34, but fortunately the rooms run way back so there is not much road noise. The rooms are acceptable for the price. Our room was a double queen and a little snug, but to be expected for the $89 price. We did not turn on the TV. There was no no restaurant directory, or hotel/room guide or signs in the room at all. No hair dryer, no robes. There was a tiny basket with shampoo, lotion, makeup remover, and an emery board. There was a 2004 phone directory in the bedside drawer. There was a small refrigerator but no microwave. There was a small A/C unit that gave me a terrible headache, but that could have been because of the controlled burn fires they were doing in RMNP. The beds were acceptably comfortable. The sheets were clean. The bedroom and bathroom were clean. There were plenty of smallish towels, and 1 extra blanket.

The "private patio with table and chairs" is about 4' deep by 10' wide with an 8' fence immediately outside the back door of the room. They were actively finishing this fence when we arrived for an early check-in (much hammering and pounding). You cannot see over, around, or through it, and it has no gate to the back. I assume they didn't originally intend to have this fence, as it completely blocks off any views or access to animal watching (what we came to Estes for).

Perhaps the private property/condos behind them are new and they had complaints about motel guests, or vice versa, I don't know. For some important reason, they are now building a fence which makes the patios hot, unpleasant, and obsolete.

The hot tub is max 6 people, and it is across the parking lot from the rooms. I wouldn't want to share it at night with total strangers, so I didn't. The "continental breakfast" is weak diluted reconstited bulk OJ, coffee, hot tea, and icky packaged rolls and muffins served in a lobby that gets WAY too hot in the AM.

Just remember, this is a motel. Small, cheap, comfortable and clean, no perks. You get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Back "patio", "Continental Breakfast"
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleton co
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Pictures are decieving, rooms are extremely small, it is very old and needs updating, worst thing was a VERY large, very nasty bug running across floor and under bed. There are too many choices in Estes, this isn't a good one

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainlover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#24 of 29 in Estes Park
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
34 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 1540 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8918
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park
Columbine Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing