We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful host and wonderful breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilded Pine Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Helpful host and wonderful breakfasts”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The best thing about this B&B was the host, Eric. (We did not meet his wife.) Eric went out of his way to voluntarily help us in all kinds of ways. For example, he called to find out if Trail Ridge Road was open as it was foggy the day we were planning to drive along it, and recommende walking options within RMNP. The breakfasts he cooked were wonderful and the best we had during our two week holiday in Colorado. The B&B is within walking distance of restaurants and Eric recommended the best places to go to. We were the only people staying at the B&B at the time and we very much enjoyed talking to Eric while having breakfast each day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildflower68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
134
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gilded Pine Meadows Bed and Breakfast in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in fact wished we had more time to hang out with Eric and Caprissa. We especially enjoyed the historical information about the house and area, as well as being surrounded by interesting antiques and furnishings. Eric was very accommodating towards helping me with my mobility issues and I was able to negotiate quite well in this lovely house and in our room. The multi jet shower was very different and a pleasant experience. We enjoyed Eric's scrumptious breakfasts and interesting conversation, while watching the birds and squirrels busily carrying on outside. The restaurants and sights suggested by Eric turned out perfectly pleasing and just what we wanted to do in our short time in Estes Park. Everything was close by while still being in an idyllic setting. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to wander the grounds and sit on the porch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We wound up here by accident and boy were we glad for the change in plans.This was the perfect getaway! Beautiful , quaint and comfortable accommodations and the hosts were just lovely!Lots of neat little things to learn about and if you love to socialize with the locals, Eric and wonderful wife Caprissa were perfect company, especially for getting to know the history of the house and the town.There was guitar playing, laughing , a relaxed and inviting atmosphere as well as a scrumptious breakfast ( I suggest the German Pancakes. YUM!) Great restaurant recommendations for dinners, and Eric even made our reservations for us! This house, the hosts and breakfast , well, and entire stay was exactly what a B&B should be and we will be patrons for life. Thank you both and see you again! PS Say hi to Chatters for us :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boyd room, ask about the decor and history , it will make the stay that much more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently stayed @ the Guilded Pine and it was exelent. Eric was a great host and knew the town well. He offered dinner reservations upon or arrival and check-in was a snap! The house was very quaint and full of history but not cluttered or stuffy. Breakfast was prompt and very delightful. We had pleasant confersations with the other guests and Eric was quick to give us pointers for navigating around the area and highlighted many attractions for us to partake in. Eric had maps and brochures for everything and everywhere to go. We chose to go to the Rocky Mountain National Park and Eric suggested taking the dirt road... we were simply amazed of the vast natural beauty of the trip. We were there for a wedding and Eric even suggested we could use the rear entrance if we were going to return very late and it was a nice offering. I would highly recommend the Guilded Pine as it is just off of the beaten path, right next to the Stanley hotel...very near to shopping and just down the road from the National Park. A perfect location and the weather was just right for our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jprovi218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A beautiful, cozy little old historic home off the beaten track but close to the downtown area. Eric was a gracious host and didn't just pay us lip service; he was a genuinely nice guy with a solid history of the house, the town and the region, its mountains and its characters (he among them!), who enthusiastically shared his stories with us. The breakfasts were gourmet, and Eric bent his breakfast schedule to accommodate our hiking schedules. Highly recommended for a quiet getaway, where it is likely you will look out the window at Elk walking around the Inn property. Beautiful views, including Longs Peak, from the front window. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Sterling Room has a very nice European style shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was a dark and stormy night... Actually it was a warm and sunny day when we arrived at the Gilded Pine Meadows. But I thought I would give Eric, our host with aspirations of being a best selling author, a little help. The inn, a historic house, is meticulously maintained by Eric and his wife Caprissa. Clean to the point of obsession, the inn is comfortable, cozy, and inviting. It is tastefully furnished with antiques, including a piano that is original to the house.
Eric was immediately helpful with suggestions of places to eat, making reservations, and arranging prime seating. The evenings were spent in engaging and entertaining conversations with our host. Caprissa maintained somewhat of an invisible presence, but her artistic and decorative skills were evident thought out the inn. Breakfast was delicious and delightful. For someone who claims to have limited culinary expertise, Eric must have some fantastic cookware. More likely, Eric understates his ability, which is considerable.
Our stay was one of the most memorable experiences on a trip that was filled with memorable experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I just spent two wonderful days and nights at the Gilded Pines and can't wait to return next year. I highly recommend it. Estes Park is at the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, so there are countless breathtaking hiking trails within minutes, for hikers of all abilities. The B&B is beautiful, quiet, and welcoming. Eric is the perfect host. He's an avid hiker, so gives priceless advice on various hikes, including providing maps. I and the others at the Gilded Pines just consulted him over breakfast each morning and planned our day accordingly. Eric also steered me to some wonderful, off-the-beaten-track restaurants that I never would have discovered otherwise. And, although Eric laughs at his culinary skills, he's an excellent cook. His breakfasts are to die for. There are two rooms in the main house, plus a small free-standing cottage. The rooms are lovely and tastefully decorated. There is a pleasant sitting room, a screened porch, and an outside gazebo perfect for sipping wine after a long day hiking. The B&B sits on over 4 acres of land, so is private and quiet. My first morning I saw a coyote in the drive and a huge elk just outside the drive. So fun! If you stay here, you will never want to stay at a regular motel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
6.9 mi away
Kokopelli Inn
Kokopelli Inn
#6 of 20 in Estes Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Pine Meadows Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Pine Meadows Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gilded Pine Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Address: 861 Big Horn Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9027
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilded Pine Meadows B&B is a mile outside of the historic town of Estes Park. We are a few minutes from the Fall River Road entrance into Rocky Mountain National Park. The B&B is a Victorian Cottage that sits on five acres. Decorated in antiques and family heirlooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gilded Pine Meadows Bed And Breakfast Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing