We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, good value.”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Pleasant stay, good value.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Discovery Lodge while on a weekend getaway. We got a room in the cabin. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The grounds are very nice with a pond, gazebo, and picnic tables. The location has good access to all of Estes Park and RMNP. The staff was very friendly. We will stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities we have to offer. Our outdoor area is great for small picnics and just plain relaxing. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    329
    113
    36
    22
See reviews for
285
424
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our stay at Discovery Lodge was fantastic. The staff was really sweet and the room was adorable. As soon as I walked out of the room in the morning I was faced with amazing mountain views. The lodge is close to town and they have great suggestions about restaurants and gear rental stores. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We got the "suit" because it was the only room left. It had two queens, a microwave, frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookedavis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take full advantage of our location and mountain views. Hope all of our suggestions came in handy! :D
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us this review. We look forward to seeing you again next time! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada,CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Been going up for years for weekend , annv, vacations love stay at the lodge but we really love the cabin will see that more

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
The Cabin is very popular! Make sure to make your next reservations in advance! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a nice review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Cabin. We look forward to seeing you next time! Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in a corner fireplace suite. The staff was very friendly and the rates (for off season) were excellent! The staff recommended a few places for us to eat and they were all good. It's centrally located and was very convenient to get anywhere we wanted to go. The wi-fi was also great, never had a problem. We will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kegskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I hope we see you again, Estes is a great place for a getaway weekend and it sounds like your stay was great and our staff friendly. Please let us know how we can improve. We are constantly improving different aspects every year. Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lupton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is seriously the best value in the Estes area.It is walking distance to town(about a mile),there is tons of restaurants and things to do near by.There is a safeway across the street.In the evening the golf course right next door is FILLED with elk.The rooms are clean,they are pet friendly,staff is helpful,there is fishing and a playground on site.The Estes visitor center is about 2 blocks away.They have a outdoor heated hot tub that is open year round

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA76FortLupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Glad our staff was so nice and accomidating for you. The elk seem to like here a lot too. :D That's great you were ablet to see them. We get visited by the quite frequently. Thanks so much for taking the time out of your day to write us such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our stay at the Discovery Lodge was fantastic. We traveled there with our 2 large dogs and we were all welcomed! Rebecca and her dog Teddy were very gracious hosts at check in and even invited our dogs to come in and play with them. The room was very comfortable and had a very nice balcony with beautiful views. If you want to see elk then you see them every night right outside your room as they make there way to the pond on the property. There is also excellent free wi-fi available in the rooms. Over all we had a very nice and welcoming experience staying here and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying (especially with dogs!) in Estes Park.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenKevCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
So happy to hear your stay with us was fantastic! Glad to hear that Rebecca and Teddy were so welcoming and nice. Sounds like you all had a great time. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon! Bring your dogs again next time, we had a new addition that you may be able to meet. Little Oliver! :D
Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Its very easy to see why this lodge gets great reviews. Throw in a super friendly and helpful service, a great location with views of snow clad rockies right from the bed, a spacious room with a balcony (highly recommend the King Bed rooms ), parking outside the door and prices as low as what you pay at a regular motel. Yes, the walls are a little thin and at nights you ought to be courteous and turn down the TV volume. But then thin walls are a problem I face at most places and its never stopped me from getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our mountain views. You should try one of our other balcony rooms. We have one with a fireplace, closer to the out door hot tub. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing