We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We love the Discovery Lodge! Comfy, clean rooms. Within walking distance to downtown Estes. We stay here every time we come to town. The bay windows in the rooms we've stayed in add a nice touch and a bit of extra room. The staff are incredibly friendly, especially David! The only reason I'm not giving five stars is because the rooms don't have coffee makers and you need to visit the lobby for your morning joe. :). However, they do use Eco-Products cups, so at least you can feel good about the environment as you drink it! Bottom line - great place, great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are in the process of re-wiring our rooms as to be able to have coffee makers in each room. In the mean time, if you request a coffee maker upon making your reservation we can do our best to get it in the room for you! We look forward to serving you in the future! Have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    328
    112
    36
    22
See reviews for
284
422
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Spent four nights with my wife over Christmas holiday. Our room was clean, with a good bed, pillows and linens. The bathroom had all of the basic necessities and was also clean. Our room had a bay window that offered a great view of the mountains in Rocky Mountain National Park. The golf course is just behind the property and there is a very nice walking trail around the perimeter of the course and lake Estes. As has been stated by previous reviewers, there is a grocery store and restaurants just across the highway from the property. The office staff were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is that the layout and size of the room left something to be desired. When we opened the door into the room, we immediately ran into the king sized bed which, in order to maneuver ourselves into the room, required us to walk sideways between the foot of the bed and the wall. This space was only about 18" wide. A portly individual might find it hard to navigate this narrow space. Our room also had a small outdoor patio, with lawn chairs, attached to the room which is probably very nice in the warmer months. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the back side of the property offer at door parking and excellent views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good expierence with our staff! I am sorry you found the room a little cramped. Maybe next time try to get one of the rooms right next to the room you had. They all have the balcony mountain view but are a little bigger. We look forward to seeing you again! Have a great week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

David was working the front desk and he is very nice and helpful. This place is dog friendly and only charges $10 extra to have your pet stay. Great views/great hot tub/great real wood fireplace. Great value for the money. Thanks David!

Room Tip: Only some rooms have the wood burning fireplace, ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here at the Discovery Lodge! We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful expierence! We look forward to serving you in the near future!! Have a great week!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Discovery Lodge was our saving grace when my husband and I got stuck in Estes Park over Valentine's Day weekend. When the blizzard came out hard and fast and our car started sliding on the mountain roads, we had to look for a last-minute booking. Brenda was friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked a pond and grassy field. Inside, accommodations were fairly standard. The room was on the small side. The mini fridge, while a nice amenity, froze all of our food. Overall, though, the Discovery Lodge was a great deal for the rate. We appreciate that they are pet-friendly, and would consider staying here again with our pup.

Room Tip: If you're not looking for a view of the parking lot, ask for a room that overlooks the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad we were in a place to help you in your time of need! The snowy weahter can cause stress sometimes (especially in the mountains) and I am glad you found a safe place, in our hotel, to rest your head! We will address the issue with the mini fridge so that you will have a fridge that doesn't freeze all your food! :) See you soon and have a great week!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

What an amazing place! It isn't the Stanley, but frankly, the bathroom was nicer. Clean and affordable. Loved the fireplace and the hot tub. (They both had been freshly cleaned as well. Brenda checked us in and let us know that she could be reached if we needed anything. Great lady!! We stay in Estes once a year, and plan to make it more often now. Look forward to staying at Discovery again.

Room Tip: Room 312 was fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiet_example
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay with us at Discovery Lodge. We always appreciate any feedback you can give us and are thankful for your business! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great time at the Discovery Lodge. Beautiful views from any room. Nice folks work there and very helpful. Rooms were clean and up to date. Pet friendly is a perk. So close to the center of town. Walking distance to the local grocery store too.

Room Tip: All are with great views. Any will do.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels you use more than once, which is ok with me to save energy. Most Hotels do this now.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello, and thank you for the kind review regarding your stay with us at Discovery Lodge. We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I spent two nights at the Discovery Lodge in October 2013. The young man who checked me in was extremely friendly and professional and for an even better price than the one published on their website I was offered a renovated basic room located on the ground floor. It was a nice surprise and if the room, beside being equipped with a fridge, had had a microwave and/or a coffee maker I probably would rate it even better. In any case guests needing a microwave can use the one available in the lobby, where every morning from 8 a.m. complimentary coffee is served. The location is good, being just a minute drive from the central Elkhorn Ave and being within walking distance to the river promenade and a main chain supermarket. Would I stay there again and would I recommend it? If you need a simple and right priced accomodation YES.
Pros:
Staff kindness and professionalism
Location
Rate
Cons:
Lack of in room microwave and coffee maker
Coffee not served before 8 a.m.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Discovery Lodge! We are glad you had an overall good experience at our lodge! One thing to keep in mind for next time is the fact that we do offer microwaves and coffee makers upon request! Also the summer hours start at 7:00 am with coffee ready! We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay and thank you for your recommendation! Have a great week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing