We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxing stay”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in Discovery Lodge for 5 days. The room was spacious, though the restroom was pretty small. Apart from the beds there is a fridge and a tv with a cable in the room, also, you park your car just in front of the room. There is no ac, they provide fans instead.We stayed on the ground floor, I have to admit you can hear the feet above you but it did not bother us as much. We were having breakfast outside everyday, there are picnic benches as well as charcoal grills ready for you to barbecue in the evening after a day of hiking. Since the rooms are not equipped with electric kettles, they provide coffee, hot water, hot chocolate and tea in the office starting from 7 am. Also, if you need you can use the computer in the office, which is connected to the printer. You can use it if you need to print boarding passes as we did! The staff is super helpful and will answer all the questions you have and recommend the places to visit. The lodge is walking distance from downtown and 10 min drive from Beaver Meadows RMNP entrance. We loved waking up to the mountain peaks. What a view!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we are still working on the appearance of some of our rooms as well as the AC.
Thank you for the good comments about our property we try to keep our guest happy and we are glad to hear that you had a good stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in the area for a family wedding in Denver and decided to make a vacation out of the trip. Discovery Lodge met every expectation and more. We had a different view every morning, including a herd of Elk in the parking lot. The staff was friendly and helpful the morning coffee was great and everything was close by. The price was really good and we went and took the ghost tour at the Stanley Hotel Great fun. Stop at Do you need Pie for breakfast it is across the street in the shopping center good food and fun owners.

Room Tip: Every room had a nice view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your time and writing this review. We are glad you decided to stop through town and that Discovery Lodge was your main option for your stay. We are glad you got to see the elk in our property during your stay considering that we do not have them very often during summer.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel for almost a week by myself. They were so kind and accommodating. It was a short walk to downtown and to the Stanley hotel. I never felt uncomfortable being alone there. The Elk came right into the pond at the hotel. I will for sure use them again! Their prices were also the best in town!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rookie41998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Discovery Lodge. We are glad you got to see the elk in our property we normally do not have them here every day but we're glad you got to see them on your stay.
Hope to see you soon in our Lodge.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not sure why my room got cancelled. I confirmed 2 days prior. I could tell the girl wasn't listening. They did find us a room for one night, then 2 more nights at their sister motel. When I thought I left a charger, they were very nice and we met the next group of people in the room. Noisy street, but snow capped peaks in the distance.

Room Tip: really confirm. never got e mail confirmation, but 2 phones calls confirmed, but I was cancelled
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry about that miss understanding with your reservations and that your trip did not turned the way you wanted it we are sure working on having better costumer service and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Once again sorry for the inconvenience.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was spacious, very clean, and the staff was really friendly. Such a great deal. I would definitely go back. For the price and even for quite a bit more I don't think you can beat this hotel. Absolutely pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for the great review we would love to see you again in town and of course for you to stay in our Lodge we always try to make our guest happy and we are glad you had a good experience in the Discovery Lodge.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a two night stay in Estes Park - taking some vacation time while there to officiate a wedding. The location was perfectly situated for us - close to dining facilities and to where the wedding was taking place. Even though we didn't do anything on the lodge grounds it was very attractive - a nice slightly rustic feel. The room itself was quite enjoyable with a comfortable and supporting king-size bed. I'm always a little suspect about hotel showers, but this one had good water pressure. The only complaint was that at night the room got a little warmer than we would like - the attendant, Brenda, received this complaint well and planned to look into it. There was a fan in the room and that made it more comfortable. Brenda was very nice and a pleasure to do business with. Room was clean and well kept. Good internet access for my laptop. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We would not hesitate to stay at the Discovery Lodge again during a visit to Estes Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weilandrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review , we appreciate and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Discovery Lodge. We're still working on the AC for the rooms but normally here in town its not necessary but it seems that every summer keeps getting hotter, we are glad we were able to solve your inconvenience.

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon again in our Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at this motel, and were a little disappointed in the room. The room itself was very clean, but we were expecting log furniture, as that is what is represented in the motel's photos. We first had a room in the 500 building, that had a great mountain view, but it was very close to the busy road. We asked to be moved to a room that was further away, and they were very accommodating. Our room 418, was dark, and the only entrance to this room is a sliding glass door. The only mountain view was from our bathroom window. The bathroom window was the only window in the unit, besides the slider. The lighting over the vanity/sink area was one very dim recessed spotlight. The screen door on the slider did not have a lock, and this was a concern at night as we liked getting fresh air. At check out I told them about no lock on the screen door, and the response was that none of the screen doors have locks! I would think that the customers safety should be a priority. Their reasoning was that Estes Park is a fairly safe place. I was told that the glass slider has a lock, but if the slider is closed then the room would become very stuffy (no AC). Also besides the maids talking very loudly in the early am, there is also an employee that arrived on his VERY LOUD motorcycle every morning and made no attempt to keep it quiet. Guess I am having a hard time understanding the rave reviews of this motel, as the reason we chose the Discovery Lodge is because of the reviews on tripadvisor. In the future I doubt if we will stay at this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69mpr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry that you did not have the best experience at the Discovery Lodge as it is our number priority to provide great customer service.
We are also working on the appearance of some of our rooms and that includes the sliding doors. We also would like to apologize for the attitude that our employees had towards you. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Hopefully we will see you again in our lodge and have you enjoy your stay better.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £55 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing