We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price!”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and had no issues. Price was very reasonable and the views out the balcony were awesome. The place isn't very fancy, but was clean. Keep in mind the rooms do not have air conditioner, but if you leave the windows open at night it will cool down nicely.

Room Tip: If available, ask the front desk for a room with a balcony that faces the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write an review for our Lodge we appreciate and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.


Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

After 11 days into a two week trip we found a lodge we could actually afford. Very clean comfortable bed updated bathroom relaxing view of mountains and water. Only thing bring your hair dryer. No microwave or breakfast available. Temperature in our room was controlled by management because shared by three rooms but Brian at front desk made sure we were comfortable excellent service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We try to make your stay one of the best experiences and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our Lodge.
We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here for one night, for a friends wedding.
The motel itself isn't very fancy but the room was spacious and comfortable.
The property has a lovely pond and there is a golf course next door. They also have picnic tables, horseshoes and a playground.
The prices were very reasonable for Estes Park.
The Discovery Lodge is dog friendly and I plan to go back with my four legged friend.
The main downside was the water pressure int he rooms, other than that, it was a great stay.
Just keep in mind this is a "rustic" place.
I would recommend staying here; I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We appreciate the time you took to write this review we are happy that you liked your visit to Estes Park and to our Lodge. We hope to see you and your four legged friend soon.


Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this place! The check-in was a bit unsettling, as the woman (the owner? Manager?) stated "the rules" to us in a way that made us feel as if we were already guilty of violating them. She went over the "no smoking" policy repeatedly, even after we'd told her that we don't smoke. It is understandable that the rules may need to be stated, but to go over them again and again is no way to make brand new guests feel comfortable or welcome.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, with a fantastic view. It is an old building, and the floor squeaked with every footstep. All the doors could have used some WD-40, as well. Someone checked into the room next door a few hours later, and they were unbelievably loud. Not sure if the loudness was due to the people or the building itself.

At one point my 14 year old son and I went to the lobby to use the guest computer to print out our boarding passes for the next day. Half-way through, the same lady who had checked us in came out of a back room, and only seeing my son, said "What do you want?" in a less than friendly manner. Perhaps she was worried that he was going to steal something? I don't know for sure, but it left me wondering why someone who seems to distrust people so much would work in the hospitality industry. You cannot expect the very worst of people who are paying guests.

The lady who checked us out was much more friendly than the one who checked us in. She was very pleasant. Overall, we had a good stay at the Discovery Lodge.

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemoangellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the inconvenience with our staff, we appreciate all the comments from our guest. We are glad you had a good stay after all the inconvenience.
Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

my niece and i and her two children rented the suite. wonderful. two rooms with an adjoining inner door and shared bathroom. also a refrigerator and microwave.the young man at the front desk whose name i do not remember was extremely helpful. it was a five minute walk into town. there was a playground, hot tub and beautiful pond with a fountain. i recommend it highly

Room Tip: the suite 104 for families
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank hellopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Than you very much for taking your time to write this review we appreciate it. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in Discovery Lodge for 5 days. The room was spacious, though the restroom was pretty small. Apart from the beds there is a fridge and a tv with a cable in the room, also, you park your car just in front of the room. There is no ac, they provide fans instead.We stayed on the ground floor, I have to admit you can hear the feet above you but it did not bother us as much. We were having breakfast outside everyday, there are picnic benches as well as charcoal grills ready for you to barbecue in the evening after a day of hiking. Since the rooms are not equipped with electric kettles, they provide coffee, hot water, hot chocolate and tea in the office starting from 7 am. Also, if you need you can use the computer in the office, which is connected to the printer. You can use it if you need to print boarding passes as we did! The staff is super helpful and will answer all the questions you have and recommend the places to visit. The lodge is walking distance from downtown and 10 min drive from Beaver Meadows RMNP entrance. We loved waking up to the mountain peaks. What a view!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we are still working on the appearance of some of our rooms as well as the AC.
Thank you for the good comments about our property we try to keep our guest happy and we are glad to hear that you had a good stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in the area for a family wedding in Denver and decided to make a vacation out of the trip. Discovery Lodge met every expectation and more. We had a different view every morning, including a herd of Elk in the parking lot. The staff was friendly and helpful the morning coffee was great and everything was close by. The price was really good and we went and took the ghost tour at the Stanley Hotel Great fun. Stop at Do you need Pie for breakfast it is across the street in the shopping center good food and fun owners.

Room Tip: Every room had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Thank you for your time and writing this review. We are glad you decided to stop through town and that Discovery Lodge was your main option for your stay. We are glad you got to see the elk in our property during your stay considering that we do not have them very often during summer.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £45 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing