We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Collinsville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Vacation House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Otis House for 3 nights. We rented the whole house for our entire family since my daughter was getting married in Estes Park. The location was perfect! The house was absolutely wonderful. Very clean, spacious and all 9 adults and 1 baby were very comfortable. Melinda made sure we had a crib and high chair for the baby and everyone I dealt with was so friendly. Wonderful view of the mountains. Back deck was perfect for a family BBQ! Elk in the backyard. The house was well stocked and we all felt at home. The Otis House made the trip to Estes for the wedding even more special! Would definitely recommend this property !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we are happy that you like the property and that you enjoyed your stay at the Otis House we would definitely like to see you and your family again.
Once again thank you for the good comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    328
    112
    36
    22
See reviews for
285
423
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I just stayed two nights at the Discovery Lodge in Estes Park and were very pleased with the experience. Our room was very clean and had a great view of the mountains from the private balcony. The grounds were very well kept and the fishing pond with a fountain was a nice touch. The lodge is located only a couple of blocks from downtown and very close to the Estes Park visitors center which has free shuttles to everywhere. Overall, an excellent deal for the price and we will definitely keep this one in mind for our next visit to Estes Park.

Room Tip: Room 508 has a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your preference and we would love to see you again in our property.
we are working on the appearence of our rooms we appreciate all the comments and hopefully we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our room was very clean and well maintained. If there was anything that could be improved, it was the size of the bathroom but the property and cleanliness more than made up for that. The lodge is centrally located and easy to get to. I loved the furniture that was made out of wood poles and was very nice looking. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for the good review on our property we would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Discovery Lodge for 2 nights and will stay again on our next visit to RMNP.
The location is great- close to the park and very near a Safeway. Both nights we witnessed amazing sunsets over the mountains from our balcony. Our room was clean, bright, it had a good sized refrigerator and the bed was comfortable. The property could have used a touch of paint here and there, but that was minor considering everything else. It's next to a golf course that elk roamed in the evening. There is a fountain in the middle of a pond on the grounds, it was surrounded by benches and had picnic tables nearby. Hummingbirds were frequent visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ska51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your review on our property we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got to see great views from town, we are also working on the appearance of our lodge and we appreciate all the good comments.

Thank You!
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

we spent a night here while touring RMNP. Was pleasantly surprised. The room had a cute rustic appeal. Nice little deck overlooking a lake. Room had a nice working AC and fan plus a mini fridge. Great deal for the space. Easy <5 minute drive to downtown for restaurants. Would stay here again if back in town.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are glad you had a good time here in town and that you liked your stay here with us.
we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The Discovery Lodge is walking distance to Lake Estes Trail, with a nice view of the lake and the Mountains. We had a very clean room, comfortable bed, and the registration desk staff was very friendly and helpful! We would definitely go there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sessalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
We are happy that you liked our Lodge and the facilities that we offer for your convenience. We appreciate you took your time to write this review and we would love to see you again soon.

Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh,UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at discovery lodge which is situated within a 10-15 minute maximum walk to downtown. Lovely grounds adjacent to the golf course where you can see the elk early morning. Our room was clean and spacious. Good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ATraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a good review, We are happy that you had a good experience with us at the Discovery Lodge.
We would like to see you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing