We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We originally planned to stay in Estes Park just two nights and decided just a few weeks before our trip to make it three. The hotel we had booked didn't have anything available for the extra night, so we chose Discovery Lodge, based on others' reviews. It was a great choice. It was homey, clean, and welcoming, and the price was right. As with most hotels in the area, there was no A/C, which made for a warm evening. But a fan was provided in the room and we felt safe leaving a window open. Being our first trip to Estes, we very much appreciated the recommendations of restaurants and attractions made by the person working the desk when we arrived. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you don't expect more than the basics, you'll be fine with this place. The photos are misleading. Our room was very dated, which is not necessarily a big deal, since we didn't expect too much. There is no A/C, which is normally not an issue, but it was warm that evening. The biggest disappointment is that there are no windows, except for a small one in the bathroom. The front door is a sliding glass door, which we kept open for a while to get air, but there is no lock on the screen, so we had to shut it at night. If it's not a hot day, this is probably a non-issue. Front desk staff was friendly and helped me find a good place to eat (we ended up with kid's choice of Village Pizza down the road, which was decent).
Expect an older, budget-style motel and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AndyManCan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We began our Colorado summer vacation by traveling from Denver to Estes Park. I had been researching the area for a few months before arriving, and the discovery lodge was at the top of my list. We received a fair rate of $89 for a one bedroom room, which I thought was a great value. Upon arriving at the hotel, the manager asked me if I would like to upgrade rooms. For an extra $10 a night he gave us a room on the second floor overlooking the area, and it was an incredible view of the Rockies! Well worth the extra 10 bucks.

When I walked into the room, we were very pleased with how neat and clean the room was. The rooms look very rustic, but that matches the area and expectations of Estes Park. Our room had a balcony with two chairs just outside the back door that overlooked the Rocky Mountains. We were traveling with a small child and they brought us a baby crib before we return for the evening. The manager told us there was a hot tub at the end of the sidewalk, but it was so warm outside we didn't want to get in. The motel was in very close proximity to downtown. We were only a 15 minute walk to all local shops and restaurants. Once we returned for the evening, we saw three elk near the hotel. One of the elk even walked right behind a room in the parking lot. Overall, the motel proved to be a very nice place to stay while visiting Estes Park.

The only negative I will say is that the motel did not have any air conditioning. This is mainly due to the temperatures being so low year round at Estes Park. However, we happen to be there during a very hot spell. But each room is well ventilated and they included a fan so the air can blow in during the night.

I would recommend the discovery lodge for any family, couple, or single person traveling through Colorado and staying in Estes Park. The rates are very competitive and the scenery is beautiful!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2014

Thank you for your lovely review we appreciate all the good comments that you made for our lodge
we hope to see you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just stayed here. Nice view, clean rooms. No A/C, and leaving windows open at night was not an option. Heaters are ancient if it was child's out. Windows were difficult to open. There were box fans in room, but we're very loud and kept us up.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackdaniels1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thank you for writing your review on our property, we all know that here in Estes A/C it is not a very needed thing in most of the hotels because the weather its a little different every year on summer they are getting hotter we are considering the option of having A/C on the rooms!
we really hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second trip to Estes so we knew we wanted something that was within walking distance to shops and restaurants - that was the first priority on our list. The downside is that we were only staying for two nights, which really limited our choices - and this wasn't planned months in advance so again our choices were limited. With that said, I chose the Discovery Lodge based on the high ratings by other travelers; wish our experience had been as positive as theirs.

Pros:

Location: easy walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. If you don't want to walk, the visitors center is practically next door and you can hop on the (free) trolley.

Staff: friendly, both in person and on the phone (I called to confirm our reservation because I used a third party site and didn't want to end up sleeping in the car)

Balcony & Views: most rooms had a balcony with two chairs and we had very nice views. Of course if there are other people next to you on yours, it's like having company over.

Decor: It's a rustic/woodsy feel of a room instead of your typical hotel room.

Bathroom: Had been updated; nice shower head (bad shower curtain though; never had one so unwieldy) and thankfully they added a shelf above the toilet because it had a pedestal sink which has no room to set anything down.

Mini frig: very nice to have and worked well, even the little freezer compartment

TV was nice and worked well.

Wi-fi provided

Cons:

Our room was right off the highway - very noisy - day and night! With people parking right outside the door it also added to the noise, especially with the window open. When you're relaxing, you don't really want everyone looking in at you as they walk by.

No A/C - which is common in Estes, but it was quite warm and uncomfortable. There was a box fan that we used to try and pull air through from the door to the balcony to the window in the front - which increased the noise level.

Horrible bed - I almost did sleep in the car. It was hard as a rock and every movement made by one person almost shook the other person out of bed. The cleanliness of the comforter was suspect as was that of the blanket which looked like it had seen its better days.

The carpet and chairs needed cleaning and/or replacing.

Small room. The king sized bed took up most of the space and with two people in the room, every movement made by one person meant the other either had to stand still or move out of the way.

I didn't check out the hot tub but did see the pool (which wasn't open); the shape it's in pretty much resembled that of the room - in need of repair.

The price was less than what top ranked places or B&B's charge, but I don't think it was that much of a savings compared with the difference in amenities. I don't know how old this motel is, but the age, wear and tear are showing; with the updated bathroom it looks like they're trying to improve things - hope they continue down that road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's as far away from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your stay in the Discovery Lodge, we appreciate it a lot. We are working on all the details of our rooms and the property for your convenience , we really hope to see you again soon!!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our first time staying and we're already booked again for next year's 4th of July and for Halloween this year! We stayed in room #302 and you wouldn't even know it was a dog friendly hotel. Our room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. We watched the 4th of July fireworks right from our porch, along with a couple other families. We played frisbee on the golf course in the late afternoon and unleashed our small canine friend so she could run around, and yes, we came prepared to pick up her waste. Brenda, part of the hotel office staff was so darn friendly, she really made us feel like we were on vacation. The two ladies cleaning the rooms that weekend were also very nice, they spoke very little english but knew how to clean rooms! We brought our own small charcoal grill and grilled right outside our room. They also had the cable channels that had a ton of music channels on the tv. We didn't find that A/C was necessary, the fan suit us fine, heck, we even turned the heat on for a bit. Loved everything!

Room Tip: Room #301 is very large with a fireplace, Room #302 is also really nice with 2 Queen beds, just no f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Well Thank you very much for the good comments about our property and staff we always try to have the best costumer service to have you enjoyed your stay. We are so ready to see you again this 4th of July.


Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This shows people deserve a second chance. Stayed here, last minute, no notice and the 4th of July week. They managed to get me a room and it was awesome.

Hats off to the management group / counter people. Great Job. Will be back.

Room Tip: This is an old standby motel. Nice thing is you can get your room and 'walk-off' the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doogie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Thank you for your review we appreciate it!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £57 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing