We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Everything was great!"”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Towanda, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Everything was great!"”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Again, we greatly enjoyed our stay at Discovery Lodge! Room service was great and of course the location is great - out of all the traffic but very close to downtown. Brenda, the manager, was so friendly and helpful! We and our pets felt right at home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    343
    120
    39
    23
See reviews for
300
432
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Rooms were nice and clean. The staff was friendly. Nice area although turning off the busy road in front of the hotel can be a little tricky. Lots of parking space. No breakfast just coffee and tea but there is a great restaurant across the road in the plaza on top of the hill by the Hallmark Store that has amazing food for great prices!
No AC in the rooms and your front door is a patio door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Family (me, 10yo daughter, 11yo son) had a very nice stay (2 nights) at the Discovery Lodge after camping in RMNP for three nights. They were very willing to change reservations and accommodate our change in schedule. Rooms were clean and quaint. No A/C, but didn't need or expect it in Estes Park. Overlooking the pond is nice. Mountain views are good. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The 300 rooms on the second level are nice with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We originally planned to stay in Estes Park just two nights and decided just a few weeks before our trip to make it three. The hotel we had booked didn't have anything available for the extra night, so we chose Discovery Lodge, based on others' reviews. It was a great choice. It was homey, clean, and welcoming, and the price was right. As with most hotels in the area, there was no A/C, which made for a warm evening. But a fan was provided in the room and we felt safe leaving a window open. Being our first trip to Estes, we very much appreciated the recommendations of restaurants and attractions made by the person working the desk when we arrived. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ihearteureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you don't expect more than the basics, you'll be fine with this place. The photos are misleading. Our room was very dated, which is not necessarily a big deal, since we didn't expect too much. There is no A/C, which is normally not an issue, but it was warm that evening. The biggest disappointment is that there are no windows, except for a small one in the bathroom. The front door is a sliding glass door, which we kept open for a while to get air, but there is no lock on the screen, so we had to shut it at night. If it's not a hot day, this is probably a non-issue. Front desk staff was friendly and helped me find a good place to eat (we ended up with kid's choice of Village Pizza down the road, which was decent).
Expect an older, budget-style motel and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyManCan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We began our Colorado summer vacation by traveling from Denver to Estes Park. I had been researching the area for a few months before arriving, and the discovery lodge was at the top of my list. We received a fair rate of $89 for a one bedroom room, which I thought was a great value. Upon arriving at the hotel, the manager asked me if I would like to upgrade rooms. For an extra $10 a night he gave us a room on the second floor overlooking the area, and it was an incredible view of the Rockies! Well worth the extra 10 bucks.

When I walked into the room, we were very pleased with how neat and clean the room was. The rooms look very rustic, but that matches the area and expectations of Estes Park. Our room had a balcony with two chairs just outside the back door that overlooked the Rocky Mountains. We were traveling with a small child and they brought us a baby crib before we return for the evening. The manager told us there was a hot tub at the end of the sidewalk, but it was so warm outside we didn't want to get in. The motel was in very close proximity to downtown. We were only a 15 minute walk to all local shops and restaurants. Once we returned for the evening, we saw three elk near the hotel. One of the elk even walked right behind a room in the parking lot. Overall, the motel proved to be a very nice place to stay while visiting Estes Park.

The only negative I will say is that the motel did not have any air conditioning. This is mainly due to the temperatures being so low year round at Estes Park. However, we happen to be there during a very hot spell. But each room is well ventilated and they included a fan so the air can blow in during the night.

I would recommend the discovery lodge for any family, couple, or single person traveling through Colorado and staying in Estes Park. The rates are very competitive and the scenery is beautiful!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we appreciate all the good comments that you made for our lodge
we hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just stayed here. Nice view, clean rooms. No A/C, and leaving windows open at night was not an option. Heaters are ancient if it was child's out. Windows were difficult to open. There were box fans in room, but we're very loud and kept us up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackdaniels1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you for writing your review on our property, we all know that here in Estes A/C it is not a very needed thing in most of the hotels because the weather its a little different every year on summer they are getting hotter we are considering the option of having A/C on the rooms!
we really hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park
Discovery Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing