We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Great Room and had a wonderful time. The room itself was beautiful - a cathedral ceiling log cabin with exposed beams. The location is excellent. We used it as a base for hiking in the park and it was very convenient. It was also conveniently located for exploring Estes Park. The real attraction of this place, though, was the wonderful people who worked here. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating! You could tell they really cared about their guests.

Room Tip: Ironing boards ans hair dryers are available at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0ilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    34
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Edward
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first time at Castle Mountain and I must say we were quite impressed with the staff, let alone the scenery. A beautiful rock-cropped mountain greeted us every morning as we came out the door. The smell of the air alone invigorated us and provided the perfect 'air' for our vacation. We are part of the motorcycling community and were totally immersed in the beauty of the state of Colorado. Having lived in the state next door meant we have had ample oppotunity to visit the buffalo state. But we never had. What an error that was.The lodge provided all manner of comfort and friendliness during our stay-so much so that we bought a new motorcycle on the way back home and will soon be reserving our 'lodge experience' for 2012! Thank so much to LuJean for her untiring efforts to provide us with viewing and dining options. We had such a pleasant stay at Castle Mountain and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights while hiking in RMNP. We were a little unsure what to expect after reading some mixed reviews here, but we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a River Castle, which looked out over a grassy area and the river. If we come back, I would specifically request to stay here again. Other cabins are set farther back and look at nothing but one another. All cabins are close together, so if you're looking for privacy, this is probably not for you. We were only in the cabin to sleep, so the proximity to neighbors didn't bother us.

The cabin was small, but very clean. We didn't cook because we were there such a short period of time, but had we stayed for longer we probably would have. The kitchen seemed to be well stocked and there was a big grocery store about 5 minutes down the road. (Dining options were limited in Estes Park.) As far as travel time to the park, we felt like Castle Mountain was well situated to get to both the main entrance and the slightly less trafficked western entrance. Overall, good value for the price.

Room Tip: If you only need 1 bedroom, request a River Castle. Better view and a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We spent two nights in Castle Rock #3 and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a cabin, not a fine hotel, but it was clean and peaceful. Great internet service, beautiful view of the Fall River. You need to get hairdryer from the front desk and beds are not triple sheeted. These factors are for your knowledge, but would not keep us from staying there agian. Queen size bed. Call them for reservations for your summer get-away!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettsb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were a family of six, including three teenagers. Each of us thrilled with our three-bedroom and three-private-bathroom cabin "home" on the roaring (literally) river within 12 feet and overlooking our small sandy beach area for fishing and swimmimg (when the water warmed up). There were (to this "City" guy) amazing views up and down the river.

We were located mid-way between the center of Estes Park and an entrance to Rocky Mountain Mountain National Park (say, each about five minutes in either direction) .

The employees were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Our cabin and the surrounding areas were clean and seemed to have a couple of towel changing days as well as checking on soap and other items. There was plenty of parking space and a nice lawn area in front with furniture as well as a nearby seperate play area for the below-teenagers.

We hope to go again !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farrelljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here in the Great Room for 3 nights. It was clean and comfortable and nicely decorated with a cathederal ceiling and wall of windows that looked out onto the private deck with hot tub and gas grill. The property itself was well kept, the staff were generous and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: reserve months in advance if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadialuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We just got back from our 4th of July stay at Castle Mountain Lodge – my husband, Honey-bear our dog and myself – and we LOVED it! It was exactly what we had hoped for…a beautiful setting, a rustic cabin (Castle Spruce) set against the mountain side and endless (hard to come by at home) peace and quiet. The staff was friendly and cheerful – always available – never invasive. Our cabin was scrupulously clean and very well stocked. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the setting is unbeatable. I usually travel with my white noise machine (I know…I know) but this time I left it at home and slept like a rock to sound of Fall River rushing by the cabin. Castle Spruce was a dog friendly cabin – the back deck (large and great to wildlife watching – many deer and elk) ALREADY HAD a swinging/locking gate attached at the top of the stairwell (no need to bring a baby gate) – and Honey (large dog – 75 lbs) spent many hours sitting outside watching the chipmunks plan world domination. Below the deck was the flagstone patio with charcoal grill and picnic table – perfect for outdoor dining. From the patio it was a few shorts steps to the trail leading directly from the property to the entrance of the national forest. People…if you’re looking for pampering and pedicures this is NOT the place for you. BUT, if you’re looking for a super relaxing, super mellow, hiking, biking, dog-friendly, Colorado mountain cabin experience…David, Carol-Ann and Honey-Bear the Beautiful highly recommend Castle Mountain Lodge! Happy traveling…!

Room Tip: If you need a dog-friendly cabin, or want a riverside cabin, book EARLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4verity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Property: Castle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Castle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Castle Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing