We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - Very Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a duplex cabin that was about 1/4 mile away from the main lodge. It was perfect for us. The Fall river was about 60 feet away from our back deck. The cabin was very, very nice, with a patio door opening to the back deck - great for sleeping. Check-in was no problem, but we did have trouble finding the "off campus" duplex cabin for the first time. Very quiet - we never saw or heard the neighbors.

Room Tip: The duplex cabin that is 1/4 mile up the road was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpieTayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

At the beginning of Aug 2012, my family of seven stayed in the Castle Tower on the grounds of Castle Mountain Lodge, which is 3 stories tall - FUN! This particular cabin also has it's own private hot tub, and we took every chance to enjoy it while we were there. I also have to mention that just outside the sliding doors and down the steps of the deck, live several ground squirrels and chipmunks. We had so much fun feeding them peanuts and watching them scamper in and out of the bushes and rocks they lived in. And they weren't the only critters that we spotted in the area. Several birds, bunnies, raccoons, and even deer and a couple of elk wandered through! Of course, the staff were SO caring and helpful. LuJean even lent me a cooler so we wouldn't have to buy one. And I want to mention they have the Fall River right on the property, plus hiking possibilites right there too. And they are just a couple of miles down the road from the Rocky Mountain National Park. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay! We'll be back next year... if we don't move to Colorado - LOL!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We loved the place. Our group consisted of my mom, mother-in-law, daughter, and myself. Our goal was to enjoy time with each other in our beautiful mountains. We got one of the motel rooms. Yes, it was simple, which is exactly what we wanted and very clean. Because of the microwave oven and fridge, we were able to make a couple meals and picnic down by the river. My only complaint would be there is a little bit of road noise, but it wasn't that bad. We can't wait for the opportunity to get back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovelife1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My wife and I decided to take a short weekend trip from Boulder to Estes park. We found castle mountain online and although their site basically has no pictures or reviews, the reviews online convinced us to give it a try. When we first arrived, lujean (the person up front) seemed courteous. However, when I asked if there were aaa rates (the entrance sign has the aaa logo in huge letters) she immediately became hostile and told us "You are lucky we even rented to you for one night". We laughed it off and got our key, and asked each other "Did that really just happen?". We are a young couple but this woman was trying to chastise us like school children for asking a completely reasonable question (there is a giant AAA logo at the entrance). It's surprising that they acted like they didn't need our business, as every conceivable corner was cut here. The cable is basic (5 channels), the Internet is unusable (multiple minutes to load text only websites), the climate control system was an old oscillating table fan, the water pressure is nonexistent and the bath towels are the size of washcloths....I could go on. Bottom line, there was nothing here to make this place stand out from the other 100 similar lodges in the area, and lujeans rudeness ensured we will not be returning. Give your business to someone else who actually seems to appreciate it rather thank taking it for granted that people will stay here since there are pretty mountains nearby.

Room Tip: Try a different lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Boulder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Our family of 5 just returned from our 5 day stay at CML. We stayed in the Castle Tower which was perfect for us. The 3 kids (4,6,8) had plenty of space in the 3rd floor room and each had their own bed. Our bedroom on the 2nd floor had a nice view and great tub! Another bath and shower on the first floor along with the small living room and kitchen. Large deck out front with our own hot tub. Very, very clean. Furnishing somewhat dated but in good shape and appropriate for a cabin type place. Kitchen in this unit had all the appliances in good working order. Nicely stocked with utensils and dinner ware. Loved that we were up a ways from the river and right in front of the playground. Perfect for letting the kids have some freedom and go out and play while we sat on the deck or in the hot tub. Grounds are lovely, we didn't even notice the road being so close, only heard the sounds from the water. Staff is pleasant, held an ice cream social one afternoon. Fresh towels and trash removal are daily, you can pay extra for daily full housekeeping but we didn't need it. Had a momma racoon and her babies show up every night to play outside our windows. Close to town and park enterance. A restaurant is right next door and was good. The Great Room is right next to the Castle Tower and not alot of privacy for those in that room, but not really an issue for the Castle Tower. Everyone I talked to that week was very happy with their stay. We were very pleased with the wifi connection in the cabin, on the deck and even by the river. Over all a great family vacation and will try to come back soon.

Room Tip: Castle Tower is great for families, especially little ones as you are not right on the river but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was the second time in three years that my family (14 persons this year) gathered at the Castle Mountain Lodge to spend a week. Both times we have enjoyed our stay immensely and found the accommodations to be excellent for our group -- with a range of cottages and rooms to suit any size family or budget. Great staff, clean facilities, comfortable beds, nice setting on the Fall River. For our group, we particularly liked having the Little River cottage, with its large patio on the riverside, to use as a base for our meals and social gatherings.

Room Tip: For those who want more seclusion, try one of the Evergreen cabins (A & B), which are down the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Beautiful, open and spacious unit for 2 with tall vaulted ceiling with 3 skylights, a fireplace (wood and firestarters provided by property), a full kitchenette including an oven, and LOTS of windows, all with window coverings. This property seemed pretty new and updated on the inside. The bathroom was average size with a tub and was very clean. They provided dish soap, shampoo, lotion, and regular soap as well as plenty of towels, paper towels, toaster, coffee maker, and coffee filters (note: no coffee provided in the room). The staff was very responsive and provided other items upon request at the reception desk including an iron and hair dryer. The cabin was attached to the back of the main reception unit but there are no other units attached to the Great Room nor did we hear any noises inside our unit - it was pretty quiet and seemed as if the unit was a stand alone unit. The Great Room has no views of the mountains, nor is it on the river, but the property had a lot of large trees which provided shade and the woodsy mountain feeling we were looking for. Great Room had a big deck with 2 chairs, coffee table, our own gas grill and hot tub. Extra towels were provided for the hot tub. The free wi-fi worked great in our room as well and there was a decent TV with DVD player.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#18 of 78 in Estes Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#28 of 78 in Estes Park
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Castle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Castle Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing