We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generously appointed cabin, incredibly friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Generously appointed cabin, incredibly friendly service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and our two boys decided to "get away" to Castle Mountain Lodge and stayed in Castle River 7. This huge cabin has a separate bedroom, a well supplied full kitchen, and a nice private spa. The spa is in it's own separate ventilated area so the smell and humidity doesn't impinge on the rest of the cabin like some other places you might have been. There's also a nice "back" patio and BBQ Grille which I'm sure would have been a lot of fun in the summer. Despite obviously being a somewhat older building, it's been kept in excellent repair and very clean. More people could have easily fit into this room (up to 6 adults I'd guess) making the price also a great value. For a small mountain town, the wifi/internet worked quite well and there was plenty of cable channels on TV for when we wanted TV. We loved the wood fireplace which came supplied for us with everything needed to build a warm fire!

LuJean the owner was very friendly and helpful for our every need throughout our trip. I felt like we were staying at a B&B. It was an incredibly relaxing stay with absolutely no problems at all. I don't get to say that very often about any lodging experience. The location couldn't be more perfect as well - beautiful! My kids kept remarking the whole time "It's so quiet Daddy!".

What a great place to come with family!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    34
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was my husband and I's third Christmas at Castle Mountain Lodge and everything was perfect as usual. It's a wonderful feeling when Lu Jean, the manager, greets you upon your arrival like you are close family, home for the holidays. We stayed in River Castle 7 which is roomy, comfortable and very romantic. The Hot Tub felt so great after spending the day snowshoeing in Rocky Mountain National Park. The cabin was very clean and someone dropped by daily to see if we needed anything. I cannot recommend Castle Mountain Lodge highly enough and we look forward to spending Christmas there again another year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were only staying one night, so we stayed in one of the rooms. It was perfect. Small, but very comfortable with plenty of room, very quiet, comfortable beds and a little porch we could sit out on. The rooms were exceptionally clean and updated, but still have the cabin feel. The entire staff was friendly and helpfull and the setting was great. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

For our second trip to Estes Park, we returned to Castle Mountain Lodge. We again stayed in one of the standard rooms our first night. It was serviceable with two beds, refrigerator, microwave, TV, and DVD player. The shower was my only complaint - I had to squat to get my hair wet and the shower curtain kept blowing in and clinging to me. I'd be perfectly happy in these rooms if they could upgrade the showers!!!

For the next four nights we stayed in Castle Glen - a duplex overlooking Fall River. It was very nice with a kitchenette (full fridge, microwave, coffeepot, dishes, stove) that opened to the living room and had a separate bedroom with two beds. The shower was much improved (thank goodness!). However, whenever you have a duplex, you have the potential for noisy neighbors and several times there were babies/kids next door slamming the doors and screaming. Really, people - teach your kids how to behave!!

My favorite part of Castle Mountain and why we keep returning is it's location and setting. We love sitting by the river and hearing it from the cabin. We love hiking up behind the lodge. We love being only a couple miles from the quieter RMNP entrance (and not having to go to the Beaver Meadows entrance). We love having a fire place with wood provided. And the owners of Castle Mtn are very nice. We'll keep returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donia1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The E-Myth Revisited is a book that highlights businesses that know how to give customers a consistently great experience year visit after visit and year after year. Since 1987, Castle Mountain has given a magical experience to me and my family on every visit. We went there as a young married couple, then as a couple expecting our first child, then as our two sons have been growing up, and this past summer we all returned again, to a different cabin than we'd ever stayed in before, and that cabin has now become our family favorite. The Disney Corporation has a formula at their parks and hotels that give their guests a magical experience everytime they visit. Castle Mountain gives guests a similar experience. It's surroundings are exquisitely beautiful; it is on the quiet side of Estes Park; the cabins are updated and sparkling clear as are the front and back rock porches and seating areas, which include hanging swings in beautifully manicured grassy meadows; the river down below provides the music which will lull you to sleep every night. And then there is LuJean, the manager of this property, who is the heart and soul of the place. For over 25 years, she has greeted us with the smile and care that a beloved aunt would give you when she welcomes you into her comfy home. We hope LuJean will always be there to greet us. On our visit to Castle Mountain this summer, after having other obligations that kept us from going there for several years, we were reminded how rejuvenating it is, and we hope to return there for many seasons to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camille m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a duplex cabin that was about 1/4 mile away from the main lodge. It was perfect for us. The Fall river was about 60 feet away from our back deck. The cabin was very, very nice, with a patio door opening to the back deck - great for sleeping. Check-in was no problem, but we did have trouble finding the "off campus" duplex cabin for the first time. Very quiet - we never saw or heard the neighbors.

Room Tip: The duplex cabin that is 1/4 mile up the road was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpieTayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

At the beginning of Aug 2012, my family of seven stayed in the Castle Tower on the grounds of Castle Mountain Lodge, which is 3 stories tall - FUN! This particular cabin also has it's own private hot tub, and we took every chance to enjoy it while we were there. I also have to mention that just outside the sliding doors and down the steps of the deck, live several ground squirrels and chipmunks. We had so much fun feeding them peanuts and watching them scamper in and out of the bushes and rocks they lived in. And they weren't the only critters that we spotted in the area. Several birds, bunnies, raccoons, and even deer and a couple of elk wandered through! Of course, the staff were SO caring and helpful. LuJean even lent me a cooler so we wouldn't have to buy one. And I want to mention they have the Fall River right on the property, plus hiking possibilites right there too. And they are just a couple of miles down the road from the Rocky Mountain National Park. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay! We'll be back next year... if we don't move to Colorado - LOL!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Property: Castle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Castle Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing