We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed a whole week and loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stayed a whole week and loved it!”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We just returned from our 30th Wedding Anniversary trip to RMNP. Castle Mountain Lodge was the perfect location for us. We enjoyed sitting by the river (on their property) at night and even saw a deer in the river. We stayed in River Castle 6, it is a stand-alone cabin and it was somewhat secluded and very private. The staff did not intrude at all. It was clean and had all the amenities we needed - fresh towels everyday. I would recommend this lodge to anyone who is intending to visit RMNP.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    34
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, KY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

The Castle Mtn Lodge (CML) is a great place to stay only 2 miles from an entrance to Rocky Mtn National Park (RMNP) or into downtown Estes Park. Conclusion: excellent location.

We are day hikers and RMNP was the purpose of our visit. We sought lodging within proximity of the park for a reasonable price, which was about $85+ tax/per night in early June for the 4 weekdays we stayed.

We stayed in Castle 3, part of the lodge which offers guests two queen size beds. It was affordable since we booked ahead of the busy season which begins mid-June. The room was large and clean and included a microfridge and coffee pot. The bathroom was standard size and offered a sink and tub/shower but there was no ventilation fan which was an annoyance. Heating was provided via electric baseboards; we were never cold.

Our host, Ruth Lujean, was very helpful. We often badgered her about the area and for the key to the hot tub, which was very therapeutic after a hike.

We recommend this lodge and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Local owners and staff are very helpful. close to downtown but, closer to the park. The fridge and microwave in our room made it great for sandwhiches to go and a quick breakfast. I would stay their again. Great hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayhiker6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Castle Mountain Lodge was a nice place to stay, if only for the one night. It was close to Rocky Mountain National Park, so we could drive there easily. It was also close to many restaurants in town. We had one room with two queen-sized beds, and it was a good size for a family of four. One thing that was enjoyable was the small playground area. There was a play structure with swings and a slide as well as shuffle board, horse-shoes, and tether ball. Although we only saw rabbits and squirrels, I have seen pictures of the elk coming and grazing right beside the rooms (we even saw elk walking in town). There is also a river right by the outside of the rooms which was very pretty and I believe that you can go fishing there as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rld_Traveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, AR
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We have been to Castle Mountain Lodge 23 times and find the service and location to be the BEST in Estes Park!!! Lujean and her staff go out of their way to make this place the Best Rocky Mountain home away from home!! We have stayed in most of the units at this resort and find the 3 bedroom Riverside to be the best for our needs. most every visit we see Elk, deer or a bear on the property, neat to see but scary to some!! From fishing on Fall river to the relaxing time at the fire pits on the river toasting s'mores, This is THE place to stay!! Thanks For EVERY great visit!

  • Liked — Family oriented, they make you feel welcolm
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffOmaha_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

This stay was a surprise birthday getaway for my husband. We bought land outside Estes Park about a year ago, but as it will be a few years before we can move here, we've been sampling local places to stay with each visit.

We stayed in Little Castle, and it was simply perfect. I'd wanted a studio-type room with a wood-burning fireplace and kitchen plus close proximity facing the Fall River. Little Castle had it all! Although we did not see any wildlife there (despite copious photos of such critter visits on the lodge website) we found it to be a peaceful, welcome respite.

After spending the days riding horses, visiting our land, and watching elk in the national park, the lodge was a great place to collapse! All the staff members were exceedingly pleasant and helpful. The property is IMMACULATE. The wi-fi worked great, and we were impressed by the "library" stocked with books, movies and games plus a model train that circled the room overhead! The location was really lovely, and the river noise pretty much drowned out the traffic from Fall River Road, which is close.

For my husband's birthday dinner we used the charcoal grill on our deck to cook steaks and baked potatos and had a real feast! Even our small kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to make a full meal. We drank coffee one morning and shared glasses of wine one evening sitting in the wooden Adirondack chairs right on the river. There are a variety of cabins to choose from, so although our cabin was for two, there are units that larger families can share.

The only thing that could be improved on was the amount of firewood provided each day...it was only enough for about an hour-long fire, so you'll need to purchase or bring extra wood if, like us, you like long fires at night as well as one in the morning!

A great place to stay.

  • Liked — Fireplace and great view of the river.
  • Disliked — Small amount of firewood provided.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Skylynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2008

My husband & I stayed in the River Castle cabin. We were next to the river and enjoyed a wonderful stay with a fireplace and an in cabin jacuzzi. We had a kitchenette and everything was clean and nicely decorated. The cabin could have slept 6 comfortably.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Liked — location to Rocky Mountain National Park & the river
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainlovers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Property: Castle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Castle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Castle Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing