We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near RMNP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Timber Creek Chalets
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We recently came back from Estes Park and the location was a perfect base for visiting RMNP. Although everything was fairly close, it was nice that it was literally right near the entrance to the park especially after a long day out. Our cabin had a full kitchen. Very convenient when traveling with family so we didn't need to go out to find a meal if we didn't want to. It was over labor day weekend and estes park got very busy with limited parking. Karen was a great host. She actually got concerned that she hadn't seen us since check in and left a voicemail to make sure we were ok. Considering that we did get lost while hiking in Vail, I now appreciate it even more that she reached out to us. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

First, the good. We stayed in cabin #7, the Blue Columbine, and it was VERY clean, nicely decorated, well-maintained, and adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly and accommodating, allowing us to check in 20 minutes early.

Now, the not so good. First, the living area was very small, had no coffee table, and did not have enough seating, and the "sofa" (more like a padded bench) was very uncomfortable. Although it COULD accommodate eight (one king bed, two queen beds, and a sleeper sofa), there was not even enough living room seating for our party of five, and one person had to sit at the dining table. Second, our pillows were TERRIBLE -- about the thickness of waffles. Third, there was no oven. Fourth, no daily housekeeping and we were asked to wash our dishes before leaving (and there was no dishwasher). (BTW, the glassware was plastic -- a petty point, but still a turn-off.) Fifth, although the surrounding area was BEAUTIFUL, our view was primarily of the parking lot and highway. (The river is across the highway, and grounds of he motels/condos on the river side seem to have much nicer grounds.) Sixth, the bathtubs are small. (I weigh 123 and felt slightly squeezed -- I doubt if anyone over 145 would be able to fit at all.)

In short, although the Timber Creek is definitely "okay", I thought it was over-priced by about 25%.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Timber Creek Chalets were perfect for our family reunion. We stayed in #8, a three bedroom, two bath cabin. Included was a full kitchen stocked, washer and dryer, and our own private hot tub. They gave us plenty of towels for us to use for the shower and the pool/hot tub. The location was great, only a couple minute drive from the park entrance and a couple minutes to the downtown area in the opposite direction. Behind the cabins was a rocky hill that was fun for us adults and children (4 yrs old) to climb. We spent a couple hours up there exploring and enjoying the scenery. The pool was the perfect temerature, not too cold, noone likes getting in a freezing cold pool. Having our own hot tub was fun for the adult only time and relaxation time. The only things that I personally think need improvement is that there is no AC as where the nights do get chilly in the summer, the rooms never got as cold as I like them for sleeping conditions. They do have ceiling fans in all the rooms and also provide floor fans to help with the heat. Also the second bathroom is down stairs where the other two bedrooms are up stairs, it was a little annoying to go down stairs every time you had to relieve yourself, or get ready for the day. Parking is also limited, they could use a few more spots to accommodate for when the cabins all fill up. There are no closets, which if you like to unpack your clothing or just keep your stuff out of the way, you can't. These are trivial things and I got over it. I would definately stay here again and recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Gr8 place number6 but at nite in Texas we crank up the ac cold. I was warm even with windows open. I like to be cold to sleep. But the place is great value... Way cheaper than most and you gotta a kitchen since in town food can get$$$$$$$

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank dontask94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed in #3 and it could use some improvement. It is impossible to sleep on the futon bed without it making so much noise it wakes the rest of the cabin every time you turn over. There is no bathroom counter space to get ready and only an itty bitty mirror. We killed two spiders and a flying ant while we were there. The people in the room upstairs were noisy and every time they flush their toilet it makes noise in our bathroom. The shower was either freezing cold or burning hot depending on anyone else using the water or flushing the toilet at the same time. It was not worth the expense.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockymtnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This 3-bedroom unit (#14) with hottub worked great for our multi-generational family. Both the pool and hottub were appreciated as well as the childrens' playground. Just across the road from Fall River, and just a few minutes to downtown. Our beds were quite comfortable and everything we needed was ready in the kitchen. Lighting is limited over the dining table and bedrooms. There is no AC but fans are available for warm days. A good value especially if you do not require a minimum stay of several days. Clean, neat, and a nice place to return after a busy day.

Room Tip: Unit #14 has 3 bedrooms but only 1 bathroom. Your own hottub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in room #5 for 4 nights in early Aug. 2012 and loved it. I considered several more expensive places in the area, but ultimately chose Timber Creek Chalets after reading the good reviews. It turned out to be a great choice...very close to the park so we could drive in early each morning, clean and comfy room and bed. Would definitely stay here again next time we visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#45 of 78 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#27 of 78 in Estes Park
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#23 of 78 in Estes Park
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#46 of 78 in Estes Park
143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Creek Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Creek Chalets

Address: 2115 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £84 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber Creek Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect resort for nature lovers! Our cabins and chalets (some with personal hot tubs) offer beautiful views and hiking from your front door. Heated swimming pool (seasonal), hot tub, and game room with pool table. Kitchens, fireplaces, gas grills, phones, free Wi-Fi. Our chalets sleep from two to ten people. Some units are pet-friendly. Only two miles from RMNP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Timber Creek Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Creek Chalets Hotel Estes Park
Timber Creek Chalets Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing