We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as its excellent reputation”

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
Ranked #5 of 128 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As good as its excellent reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

With almost a thousand reviews and most of them wonderful, I would add that the food and atmosphere lives up to the excellent reviews they generally get. The one time we had dinner there the pulled pork was outstanding. Unfortunately I can't give them a rating of 5 because of the hours the kitchen is open.

Remember that Estes Park as a tourist destination was hit extremely hard by the Sept 11, 2013 floods that shut down two of the key three highways to the town. We heard two weeks ago that sales tax revenues were down around 80% from normal! The good news is one of the closed roads opened on Nov 4th so there is now a much faster way to get there from Denver / Boulder.

All that is background for our bad experience at Smokin'Daves. We arrived about 8:10 pm and we found that the kitchen had closed for the night! Come on folks, you can't close your kitchen at 8 pm when your restaurant is built around your bar and your reputation for BBQ! It doesn't wash that just because there are fewer tourists than normal that you can't feed people until at least 10 pm.

By the way, I'd go back for a BBQ meal in a heartbeat if they were only open!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    913
    250
    68
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food fills up early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our Group got here at 5:30 and still had to wait for 45 minutes to get in. The food is worth the wait, we went back twice. We tried the three way everyone had something a little different and it was all good. Check it out when in town, this our favorite place for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_A_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food great, service NOT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Called for reservation, would not accept reservation. Get to the restaurant am told 15 minute wait. They seat 5 other, smaller parties that walk in. After 25 minutes we ask if we can preorder food for the kids that there will not be a long wait before they eat since they are starving. 5 minutes later we are led to our table and the place is half empty! Waitress was un attentive and only became attentive when the manager asked me if we needed something. Food was pretty good but the fries were undercooked and therefore limp and greasy. Brisket and ribs good. Greeter and waitresses need serious.........training.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ & value, but.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

....but you have to get there early because it is so popular....lots of good food and good (sports) on TV on a Saturday. Just couldn't eat it all....and the wait staff terrific and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peyton_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Finger licking good BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had to wait 40 minutes to be seated since we were a party of 6 but the food was worth the wait! We had the cheesy fries with green chiles as an appetizer and it was YUMMY! The pulled pork BBQ with the many choice BBQ sauces was very tasty as well. the atmosphere was great. It was packed. The bar was full with people eating there also. They gave us a dessert which was huge when they found out it was a birthday party for my husband. We all shared it because we were quite full.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing