We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of River Spruce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okay but not the best”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in the Tom Tom cabin. It was moderately clean but the living room furniture was horrible. We couldn't find a comfortable place to set. The futon in the living room should not be counted as another bed. The location on the river is great and the hot tub was wonderful. The delivery of fresh bread/muffins each morning was wonderful. With all this being said, probably would not say there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gambler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
So sorry you didn't find the living room furniture comfortable. Funny thing is that we replaced the old pull out couch with the futon because some of our regular customers didn't like the pull out and said it was uncomfortable and they liked the futon for sleeping. Having said that, we agree it was not great for sitting to watch TV or getting out of for some of our older guests. So...we recently replaced the futon couch with a queen pull out sofa. Thanks for your honest review and we'd love it if you'd give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
106
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed there for five days in early June, beautiful place! Service is great, very nice owners, great view of the river, quiet location, muffins in morning were out of this world good! The cabin we stayed at was very spacious and very clean, had a wonderful kitchen and all the amenities. Easy access to Estes park and Rocky Mountain National Park. They had free DVD movies to checkout. Right outside our window was a hummingbird feeder and it had humming birds flying around it all day. A great place to get away from it all, with helpful and friendly owners. Would go back given the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hello to my Oklahoma friends! Thanks for taking the time to share your review of our place. Hope your trip back was uneventful and will look forward to your next visit:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We've just returned from our fourth wonderful Memorial Day holiday at the River Spruce. Wendye and Shelley are like family now - they greet us with hugs and "how've you been?" The cabins are cozy and we always feel right at home.

There's nothing better than waking up in the morning to fresh-baked pastries (the pecan was wonderful!) and ending the day with a cozy fire by the roaring river.

And, dinner cooked on the grill and enjoyed on the picnic table - also by the river - makes the best food taste even better.

As far as we're concerned, Wendye and Shelley have the corner on the best place in Estes Park. We'll be back in 2013 for year 5!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are delightful - it just depends on whether or not you want a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
You guys are the best! We always enjoy having you guys and look forward to see you all again and giving your mom a hard time:) Or is it that she gives us a hard time, I think it goes both ways. Memorial Day 2013 will be here before you know it.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We took a chance and called River Spruce to see if they had a room on 5/4; and they did! We arrived and was escorted to the Thunderbird which was beautiful, clean (and I mean clean) with a beautiful view of the river!

The cabin was warm, charming, clean and well kept - what a dream! We started our vacation here and it was a great send off for the rest of the week.

And the greatest part - in the morning a knock on the door with a basket of "warm coffee cake"..yum!

We're planning on making this a yearly excursion!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hey there CO friends! Thanks for the kind words and using the word "clean" so many times in the review:) Above all, that's what we like to hear the most and second, how great the cake is:) Please come back this spring and let us try some new recipes on you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've stayed at many lodges and cabins over the years while visiting Estes Park, CO. I found the River Spruce to be the best by far. Our cabin was spotless, everything worked--especially the heater and it was right on the river. In addition, all of my phone calls prior to our stay were returned promptly. We also asked for and were granted a late check-out. Now here's the kicker. On Saturday morning Wendy, one of the owners, hand delivered hot homemade coffee cake to our door. And WHOA, was it ever good!
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! However, you have to come back if you think Wendy's coffee cake was good...mines even better:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I, our daughter, son-in-law and his dad, and our three grandchildren rented Tom Tom and Namaqua in July 2011. We had an absolutely wonderful trip. When I asked my grandchildren 4,9 & 11 yrs old what was the better vacation... Disneyworld or Colorado, they couldn't decide. They were totally content shooting rocks across the river with a slingshot they purchased at a gift shop and hanging out in the hot tub or sitting by the fire. We also went horseback riding, 4 wheeling and rafting. Shelly and Wendy were wonderful. We are planning a return trip the summer of 2013. If we lived closer I would stay at River Spruce often. We are from Southeast Texas so it is a long drive but we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My best friend and I traveled to Estes Park in late October for a getaway. After lots of searching, we settled on River Spruce. Ohhh my God, we could not have picked a better place!! I fell in love the moment we drove up. Wendye and Shelley are the most wonderful hostesses. They are so friendly, personable, sweet, and helpful. We left feeling like good friends, not just customers. The cabins are situated in the absolutely most perfect setting. I couldn't have asked for more.....quaint and cozy cabins right on the rushing river, with benches, trees, and wildlife everywhere. It was absolutely beautiful! We were lucky enough to have arrived right after a fresh snow, so I can't even describe the beauty of it all. Each morning, the girls deliver fresh baked goodies for breakfast, and they are delicious. :-) The hot tub at night, in the cold, was awesome! I cannot wait to go back and will recommend River Spruce as often as I can, to as many people as I can. Beautiful place, beautiful hosts, beautiful memories! Thank you, River Spruce girls! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
4.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
2.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 77 in Estes Park
275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Property: River Spruce
Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Spruce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Spruce Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing