We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this...”
Review of River Spruce

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just recently returned from a trip around Colorado and our last 2 night's stay was at River Spruce. I wish we would have stayed there for the entire trip! The setting right outside our cabin was enough for us - the beautiful Big Thompson river was just steps away from our door. Listening to the rolling water was completely soothing. We had our own firepit and multiple different places to sit. The gas grill came in very handy. The cabin was perfect for our party of four. We stayed in the "Windwalker" cabin which had 2 large bedrooms both with comfortable queen-size beds in them. The cabin came completely furnished with everything we needed. We had a large television and a gas fireplace - the comforts were all in place. We even were provided with entertainment by the hummingbird feeder right outside our window (at one time we counted 13 hummingbirds all trying to get their spot at the feeder). The cabins all had windowboxes filled with fragrant flowers and I really appreciated how neat and clean everything was. The landscaping around the cabins was beautiful as well. Our hosts, Wendye and Shelley, treated us like they had known us forever. Such warm friendliness was very welcoming. They also provided us with a wonderful, warm coffeecake in the morning. (I forgot to ask for the recipe but I'd still love to get it.) I'd recommend this place to anyone and we will surely return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyP_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Wow, what a nice review! When we read these, and we do read them, it makes the work we do so much easier:) We put a little piece of us into each cabin and it's so nice to know it is appreciated! Thanks Wendy, it was a pleasure getting to know you folks....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in the Tom Tom cabin. It was moderately clean but the living room furniture was horrible. We couldn't find a comfortable place to set. The futon in the living room should not be counted as another bed. The location on the river is great and the hot tub was wonderful. The delivery of fresh bread/muffins each morning was wonderful. With all this being said, probably would not say there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gambler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

So sorry you didn't find the living room furniture comfortable. Funny thing is that we replaced the old pull out couch with the futon because some of our regular customers didn't like the pull out and said it was uncomfortable and they liked the futon for sleeping. Having said that, we agree it was not great for sitting to watch TV or getting out of for some of our older guests. So...we recently replaced the futon couch with a queen pull out sofa. Thanks for your honest review and we'd love it if you'd give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed there for five days in early June, beautiful place! Service is great, very nice owners, great view of the river, quiet location, muffins in morning were out of this world good! The cabin we stayed at was very spacious and very clean, had a wonderful kitchen and all the amenities. Easy access to Estes park and Rocky Mountain National Park. They had free DVD movies to checkout. Right outside our window was a hummingbird feeder and it had humming birds flying around it all day. A great place to get away from it all, with helpful and friendly owners. Would go back given the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Hello to my Oklahoma friends! Thanks for taking the time to share your review of our place. Hope your trip back was uneventful and will look forward to your next visit:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We've just returned from our fourth wonderful Memorial Day holiday at the River Spruce. Wendye and Shelley are like family now - they greet us with hugs and "how've you been?" The cabins are cozy and we always feel right at home.

There's nothing better than waking up in the morning to fresh-baked pastries (the pecan was wonderful!) and ending the day with a cozy fire by the roaring river.

And, dinner cooked on the grill and enjoyed on the picnic table - also by the river - makes the best food taste even better.

As far as we're concerned, Wendye and Shelley have the corner on the best place in Estes Park. We'll be back in 2013 for year 5!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are delightful - it just depends on whether or not you want a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

You guys are the best! We always enjoy having you guys and look forward to see you all again and giving your mom a hard time:) Or is it that she gives us a hard time, I think it goes both ways. Memorial Day 2013 will be here before you know it.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We took a chance and called River Spruce to see if they had a room on 5/4; and they did! We arrived and was escorted to the Thunderbird which was beautiful, clean (and I mean clean) with a beautiful view of the river!

The cabin was warm, charming, clean and well kept - what a dream! We started our vacation here and it was a great send off for the rest of the week.

And the greatest part - in the morning a knock on the door with a basket of "warm coffee cake"..yum!

We're planning on making this a yearly excursion!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Hey there CO friends! Thanks for the kind words and using the word "clean" so many times in the review:) Above all, that's what we like to hear the most and second, how great the cake is:) Please come back this spring and let us try some new recipes on you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I've stayed at many lodges and cabins over the years while visiting Estes Park, CO. I found the River Spruce to be the best by far. Our cabin was spotless, everything worked--especially the heater and it was right on the river. In addition, all of my phone calls prior to our stay were returned promptly. We also asked for and were granted a late check-out. Now here's the kicker. On Saturday morning Wendy, one of the owners, hand delivered hot homemade coffee cake to our door. And WHOA, was it ever good!
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! However, you have to come back if you think Wendy's coffee cake was good...mines even better:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I, our daughter, son-in-law and his dad, and our three grandchildren rented Tom Tom and Namaqua in July 2011. We had an absolutely wonderful trip. When I asked my grandchildren 4,9 & 11 yrs old what was the better vacation... Disneyworld or Colorado, they couldn't decide. They were totally content shooting rocks across the river with a slingshot they purchased at a gift shop and hanging out in the hot tub or sitting by the fire. We also went horseback riding, 4 wheeling and rafting. Shelly and Wendy were wonderful. We are planning a return trip the summer of 2013. If we lived closer I would stay at River Spruce often. We are from Southeast Texas so it is a long drive but we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
4.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#6 of 28 in Estes Park
1,259 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#5 of 74 in Estes Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £72 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Spruce Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing