We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Spruce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Awesome :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I recently made our first trip to River Spruce, but it definitely will not be the last! We fell in love with it, and it reminded me of the cabins I stayed in as a child in Minnesota. You can tell that the owners really care about it and it is kept up very well. The bed was very comfortable, and listening to the river all night was great. The hot tub was so relaxing :) We can't wait until our next trip

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rainbow room and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thanks for the nice words. We love our local folks so we hope to see you all back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
66
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladbrook, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were fortunate to spend a week with my sister & brother-in-law in the Windwalker cabin sleeping with the windows open & hearing the rush of the Big Thompson river every night. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The owners were most accommodating with friendly smiles, great morning treats of muffins/breads, and everything is very well taken care of. We hope to return in coming summers to fish and relax in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
It was great meeting you all Terri and we hope to see you guys back soon! Thanks for the kind review:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just recently returned from a trip around Colorado and our last 2 night's stay was at River Spruce. I wish we would have stayed there for the entire trip! The setting right outside our cabin was enough for us - the beautiful Big Thompson river was just steps away from our door. Listening to the rolling water was completely soothing. We had our own firepit and multiple different places to sit. The gas grill came in very handy. The cabin was perfect for our party of four. We stayed in the "Windwalker" cabin which had 2 large bedrooms both with comfortable queen-size beds in them. The cabin came completely furnished with everything we needed. We had a large television and a gas fireplace - the comforts were all in place. We even were provided with entertainment by the hummingbird feeder right outside our window (at one time we counted 13 hummingbirds all trying to get their spot at the feeder). The cabins all had windowboxes filled with fragrant flowers and I really appreciated how neat and clean everything was. The landscaping around the cabins was beautiful as well. Our hosts, Wendye and Shelley, treated us like they had known us forever. Such warm friendliness was very welcoming. They also provided us with a wonderful, warm coffeecake in the morning. (I forgot to ask for the recipe but I'd still love to get it.) I'd recommend this place to anyone and we will surely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyP_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Wow, what a nice review! When we read these, and we do read them, it makes the work we do so much easier:) We put a little piece of us into each cabin and it's so nice to know it is appreciated! Thanks Wendy, it was a pleasure getting to know you folks....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in the Tom Tom cabin. It was moderately clean but the living room furniture was horrible. We couldn't find a comfortable place to set. The futon in the living room should not be counted as another bed. The location on the river is great and the hot tub was wonderful. The delivery of fresh bread/muffins each morning was wonderful. With all this being said, probably would not say there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gambler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
So sorry you didn't find the living room furniture comfortable. Funny thing is that we replaced the old pull out couch with the futon because some of our regular customers didn't like the pull out and said it was uncomfortable and they liked the futon for sleeping. Having said that, we agree it was not great for sitting to watch TV or getting out of for some of our older guests. So...we recently replaced the futon couch with a queen pull out sofa. Thanks for your honest review and we'd love it if you'd give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed there for five days in early June, beautiful place! Service is great, very nice owners, great view of the river, quiet location, muffins in morning were out of this world good! The cabin we stayed at was very spacious and very clean, had a wonderful kitchen and all the amenities. Easy access to Estes park and Rocky Mountain National Park. They had free DVD movies to checkout. Right outside our window was a hummingbird feeder and it had humming birds flying around it all day. A great place to get away from it all, with helpful and friendly owners. Would go back given the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hello to my Oklahoma friends! Thanks for taking the time to share your review of our place. Hope your trip back was uneventful and will look forward to your next visit:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We've just returned from our fourth wonderful Memorial Day holiday at the River Spruce. Wendye and Shelley are like family now - they greet us with hugs and "how've you been?" The cabins are cozy and we always feel right at home.

There's nothing better than waking up in the morning to fresh-baked pastries (the pecan was wonderful!) and ending the day with a cozy fire by the roaring river.

And, dinner cooked on the grill and enjoyed on the picnic table - also by the river - makes the best food taste even better.

As far as we're concerned, Wendye and Shelley have the corner on the best place in Estes Park. We'll be back in 2013 for year 5!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are delightful - it just depends on whether or not you want a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
You guys are the best! We always enjoy having you guys and look forward to see you all again and giving your mom a hard time:) Or is it that she gives us a hard time, I think it goes both ways. Memorial Day 2013 will be here before you know it.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We took a chance and called River Spruce to see if they had a room on 5/4; and they did! We arrived and was escorted to the Thunderbird which was beautiful, clean (and I mean clean) with a beautiful view of the river!

The cabin was warm, charming, clean and well kept - what a dream! We started our vacation here and it was a great send off for the rest of the week.

And the greatest part - in the morning a knock on the door with a basket of "warm coffee cake"..yum!

We're planning on making this a yearly excursion!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hey there CO friends! Thanks for the kind words and using the word "clean" so many times in the review:) Above all, that's what we like to hear the most and second, how great the cake is:) Please come back this spring and let us try some new recipes on you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Property: River Spruce
Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Spruce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Spruce Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing