We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Plan To Return...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Spruce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
“A Plan To Return...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a wonderful time in a beautiful setting; we plan to return to the tranquil River Spruce again and again. The pleasure we shared from listening to the river rushing downstream, the humming birds zipping past and the songs sung by other birds perched high in the branches of the many trees provided the escape for which we were searching. We'd highly recommend River Spruce for their clean, cozy cabins; where thoughtful consideration to our every need during our stay was covered by Shelley, Wendye and friends. We are grateful for their efforts to create a slice of heaven-on-earth!!!

Room Tip: The Windwalker cabin was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWMichaelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
You guys are great, thank you! We work hard during the day and when we get reviews like this, it makes it all worthwhile:) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Loved the stay at River Spruce. From the moment we checked in until we left 2 days later we were treated great. We were treated like we were family, well maybe better than family. The second day it snowed and it was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub and watch the snow fall and hear the sounds of the Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Tom Tom and it had everything you would need. Book early if you want to stay in this cabin as it fills up fast. This cabin has 2 beds, a private hot tub, and a deck next to the river. These cabins are close to town and the entrance to the park. If you have any questions on where to eat or what to do the staff is very helpful and gives you great advice. The homemade morning treats that come to your cabin in the picnic basket are to die for. We had a banana chocolate chip cake/bread and it was better than anything you could buy (cause it’s homemade and made with love).

Will be coming back to this place again and will be telling others to make sure they visit this place. This place deserves more than 5 stars, because of the service they provide.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the Tom Tom. This cabin is next to the river with a hot tub and at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
It's so nice to hear our guests say they felt like family because that's how we feel about our guests:) We love sharing our property and the wonderful wildlife that roams free here in Estes Park. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here earlier this May and we had an amazing time. Estes Park is a beautiful location and our cabin at River Spruce was perfect for our time in Estes. The hot tub was great for unwinding after our days hiking in the beautiful mountains Colorado has to offer, and we certainly took advantage of the movies as well!

The owners Wendye and Shelley were incredibly nice, helpful and accommodating. I wish we never had to leave Colorado! Hope to be back soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Checkout The Rock for food and drinks, live music too! And don't forget Smokin' Dave's B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the great review Stephen. You gave tips on all our favorite places to eat here in Estes Park so you're almost a local:) Hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved our week long stay at River Spruce. The location right on the Big Thompson River is like heaven on earth, the sound of the river and the atmosphere are so relaxing. The ladies who own the retreat are very wholesome and down to earth, always there if you need anything or just for a nice chat, they make you feel like family and the home made muffins and breads delivered every morning are a very special touch. We will definitely return every time we visit Estes Park and will recommend this vacation getaway to everyone we know traveling to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed a few days in the Tom tom cabin. It was clean an comfortable! Awesome customer service! And the baked goods made the mornings feel even more special. Felt like visiting Family!! We will for sure come back and are telling friends and family to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaurtjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved my stay at River Spruce. I would highly recommend this location for a relaxing weekend getaway. The sound of the river running and the comfort of the hot tub was awesome. The owners were very nice. The fresh baked breakfast treat really gave it the extra special touch of genuinely great customer service. Love it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Everything was amazing... just not the most comfy beds so that made it hard to get a good nights sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place has it all! Most cabins have a private hot tub outside the front door as well as a firepit. They even thought of gas grills to make cooking easy. All the details are thought of inside and out. This was our second stay and it just keeps getting better. We stayed in a one bedroom (rainbow) in 2013 and this year we stayed in a two bedroom (windwalker) and both were excellent. Very close to the Rocky Mountain National Park and the town. The river is right outside your door and is very relaxing to listen to all day and night. No matter what reason for your stay, you will enjoy it here!

Room Tip: Paying a little more for the 2 bedroom gets you more wiggle room inside the kitchen and den.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#12 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Property: River Spruce
Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Spruce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Spruce Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing