We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot in Estes Park”
Review of River Spruce

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at River Spruce. Our cabin (Rainbow) was well equipped and very clean. The surroundings are beautiful and the way the cabins are set by the river gives it a feeling of being in the woods, even though it is just off a road. We enjoyed the hot tub and the great muffins that were delivered each morning. Wendye and Shelly are excellent hosts and the property reflects how much they care about their guests' experience, it is very well kept and taken care of. The locations is great, a 5 minute drive in to town, about 5 to the entrance to RMNP.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for deeming us as a "wonderful spot":) We take pride in the property and am so glad you noticed. We're glad you found the stay relaxing and hope to see you again on your next visit to Estes Park. It's always nice for us to enjoy the guests too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The property itself is magical. The cabins are private, clean, roomy and every detail is attended to. The owners are what make this place truly a paradise.

I've never stayed somewhere where the customer is this much of a king. The fresh, hot baked goods delivered most mornings was something we really looked forward to. The private hot tub, fire pit and sitting area was used every day we were there!

Room Tip: As a non-smoker the ONLY thing I could possibly find to complain about is that we had smokers on bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words! We are so glad you felt pampered because that's what we intend. You are a guest here, just like if you were a guest in our home. Actually, you are a guest in our home in a way:). Please come stay with us again if you find yourself out this way. It's always nice to have such pleasant guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a great place to stay. We were their for 3 nights mid June and were treated great. Quite and private. The private hot tubes are awesome after a long day of hiking. I cant imaging any place better, plus you cant beat the price. FYI the breakfast muffins are the best.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with a hot tub, they overlook the river outside your cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the great review. We work hard to make your trip a lasting memory and we always appreciate the kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First, let me start by saying that I found the River Spruce and made my decision to stay based on the wonderful reviews here. I chose the Tom Tom because of the patio right on the water and we were not disappointed. Probably the most private cabin on the property. First of all, many places claim to be waterfront and upon arrival you may likely find yourself across the street but not River Spruce. Almost every cabin opens to the Big Thompson River and it was flowing heartily on our visit.

Wendy, one of the owners, called me on my arrival date to check on our arrival time and to give a better driving route due to road work. Top notch. Wendy was wonderful and friendly during our
stay and like other reviews here, her baked goodies were so delicious. It is obvious that this place means everything to her.

I was most impressed with the overall condition of the property. Very immaculately maintained. I have stayed in many rented cabins and this one was immaculate inside and out. Seriously. No chipped paint, overgrown bushes, cobwebs ect. Even the pull out couch in this cabin was comfy. The little touches were nice, especially the very busy hummingbird feeder outside the window. I swear those little guys don't make nearly the noise at my house as they did here. We did get some mule deer visitors across the river, but no bears- which I know is a good thing but we would have loved to have seen them.

The location is excellent, particularly for visiting the Rocky Mountain National Park. The entrance is only a few minutes away. Estes Park itself is very nice, and I found that the local winery and brewery both produced very good products. I definitely plan on returning to Estes Park, and when I do I will be staying at River Spruce again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you got to see the busy hummingbird season and visit our local brews:) They are talking about adding a couple more local breweries and a distillery to Estes Park so there'll be plenty of new places to visit when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a wonderful time in a beautiful setting; we plan to return to the tranquil River Spruce again and again. The pleasure we shared from listening to the river rushing downstream, the humming birds zipping past and the songs sung by other birds perched high in the branches of the many trees provided the escape for which we were searching. We'd highly recommend River Spruce for their clean, cozy cabins; where thoughtful consideration to our every need during our stay was covered by Shelley, Wendye and friends. We are grateful for their efforts to create a slice of heaven-on-earth!!!

Room Tip: The Windwalker cabin was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneWMichaelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

You guys are great, thank you! We work hard during the day and when we get reviews like this, it makes it all worthwhile:) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Loved the stay at River Spruce. From the moment we checked in until we left 2 days later we were treated great. We were treated like we were family, well maybe better than family. The second day it snowed and it was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub and watch the snow fall and hear the sounds of the Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Tom Tom and it had everything you would need. Book early if you want to stay in this cabin as it fills up fast. This cabin has 2 beds, a private hot tub, and a deck next to the river. These cabins are close to town and the entrance to the park. If you have any questions on where to eat or what to do the staff is very helpful and gives you great advice. The homemade morning treats that come to your cabin in the picnic basket are to die for. We had a banana chocolate chip cake/bread and it was better than anything you could buy (cause it’s homemade and made with love).

Will be coming back to this place again and will be telling others to make sure they visit this place. This place deserves more than 5 stars, because of the service they provide.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the Tom Tom. This cabin is next to the river with a hot tub and at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

It's so nice to hear our guests say they felt like family because that's how we feel about our guests:) We love sharing our property and the wonderful wildlife that roams free here in Estes Park. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here earlier this May and we had an amazing time. Estes Park is a beautiful location and our cabin at River Spruce was perfect for our time in Estes. The hot tub was great for unwinding after our days hiking in the beautiful mountains Colorado has to offer, and we certainly took advantage of the movies as well!

The owners Wendye and Shelley were incredibly nice, helpful and accommodating. I wish we never had to leave Colorado! Hope to be back soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Checkout The Rock for food and drinks, live music too! And don't forget Smokin' Dave's B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for the great review Stephen. You gave tips on all our favorite places to eat here in Estes Park so you're almost a local:) Hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#5 of 78 in Estes Park
271 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#23 of 78 in Estes Park
237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Spruce Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing