We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
MI
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We booked 3 wks. in advance w/Expedia and called to speak with the manager( Loretta) to ask a few questions and decided we wanted to stay another day. After spending 5 nights only to find everything great from the lodge, the location to town(walking distance) and how close to RMNP(3mi) we asked if it was possible for one more night. We lucked out and got it. All the hotels are booked because of the ELK FEST.
The lodge has very nice, clean updated rooms. We actually had a condo(2nd floor) with a micro and small refrigerator. There are others with kitchens if you choose to cook. The bed was a king size and the mattress very comfortable w/good pillows too. It has a fireplace, a lazy boy chair to relax and watch football games on a flat screen tv. Not to mention very QUIET
The room is spacious and has a pull out couch, if needed. The bathroom has a vanity, a blow dryer, and a great shower/bath tub with HOT water. Coffee maker too.
As far as the continental breakfast....it is the same as other hotels and has everything from cereal to bagels and danish. The manager is Bruce and he is there every morning to greet you and answer any questions that you may have. He is very friendly and you can tell he likes being at Murphy's. His wife Loretta manages the office and makes you feel special and will go out of her way to help you. They both make you feel at home. Thanks to them they made our stay at Estes Park one we will always treasure.
P.S. They can tell you about all the good restaurants in town also. We can highly recommend The Wild Rose. Superb food and service. Excellent steaks and fish.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room right on Fall River and could enjoy the sounds of the river with the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    256
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
405
536
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We did not book weeks ahead and called day of to see if a room was available. Manager was more than accommodating. She gave us a choice of a much nicer room -more than what we expected due to some unexpected bookings. Don't count on that for your stay - but it could happen- it did to us! Room was right by the Big Thomson River and the sound of the water at night was great. My older son came done with Altitude sickness - managers were very helpful in describing what it is - and our options. He was back up and functioning in less than 12 hours. Second son also came down with altitude sickness - though by that time we knew what it was. Room was nice. It was a updated room and very comfortable night’s sleep. There was a big king bed for us and the kids slept on a sofa sleeper - which had a pretty nice mattress on it (not your standard sofa mattress). Saw a fox out the window in the evening - and heard Elk as well as saw them in town. Location is close to town and close to Rocky Mountain National Park so it is an ideal location for any family looking to enjoy either shopping or the Rocky Mountain National. Breakfast did not include hot food (saw previous review where the manager says they do not have a license for that so that was understandable). The available breakfast items were fine. They included: cereals, bagels, yogurt, fruit, danishes, toast and oatmeal. Choice of: coffee, tea, apple or orange juice, and milk. Not considering the high altitude sickness , a great stay - and pleasant accommodation’s. Thanks so much for having us.

Room Tip: Rooms by the River were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander and London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The bedroom was fine and comfortable. The bed was actually comfy. The bathroom was good with excellent water pressure. The let down was an absolutley absymal breakfast (included in the room rate). Conisting of, in the main, bagels wrapped in plastic & prepacked cereals. Coffee, vending machine juice, tea & toast were available & I recall seeing bananas. The breakfast room was featureless with tables scattered about the room. It was more akin to a motorway stop. The plates were just paper and the cutlery plastic with a couple of garbage bins to use for disposal of same. Noise could be heard from the upstairs bedroom and the one along side ours. The hotel charges would seem to be based on its proximity to Estes Park town which is just a short walk away. For what was available it was over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
I do not believe that you know what a continental breakfast actually is. The definition of continental breakfast is coffee and a roll. We provide for free coffee,danish rolls,2 kinds of bagels,yogert,4 choices of cereral,apple and orange juice,tea,toast and fruit every morning.
If you want a personalised breakfast you need to go to one of our local restaurants. State law prohibits us from making omelets and other prepared meals.
Regarding our Community Room -- We have nothing but compliments about the layout and many people enjoys eating out on our wrap around deck that views the Fall River. Bruce does a awesome job and most people use this area as a way to meet other guests in a relaxed setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here twice--once for my fiancee's birthday party and a second time for our wedding.

The hotel is FANTASTIC, and the service is incredible. They knew me on a first-name basis and remembered me the second time I came through the door.

The hotel is delightfully rustic but maintains all modern amenities. The bridal suite was positioned along the river as the name suggests, and there is nothing more peaceful than hearing the sound of the gurgling river as you fall asleep next to your new bride. What a beautiful way to start our marriage, and I can't think of a better place.

The continental breakfast is the best I've seen at any hotel. Fresh fruits, plenty of room, an attendant to greet you and keep the place clean, excellent coffee, and a flat screen TV.

The pool and hot tub are well maintained, and the grounds are always clean.

We will make this our definite hotel of choice every time we visit Estes Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The river sound was great and enjoyable to watch from the super small patio we had upstairs. Other family members stayed downstairs and not on the river side, it was smaller but both were clean and great staff. Everyone was helpful. It is so close to town or walk down the road about 1 block or so and catch the tourist shuttle(in the summer). Close to Rocky Mtn. Nat'l Park back entrance and some rooms give more view of the mountains than others. The indoor pool was nice and clean too. The only reason it did not get 5 stars is the continental breakfast for all 3 mornings was the least amount of selection from sweet rolls, to the juices and lack of choice for fruit. Evidently their continental breakfast can be very extreme (potluck) because you would not rave about our cont. breakfast. We have stayed at lots of places and that was in the beginning of a 3 week trip and all other cont. breakfast had much more choices and offerings than Murphys. Also, the room below us had occupants who slammed the door quite a bit and it sounded like it was right in our room rather than under us. THeir price is consistent for being on the river and for what you get .

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room if you want to hear and see it, also ask for a mtn. view room as not all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I had only planned on staying two nights at Murphy's River Lodge then moving on to other locations in Colorado. I liked the lodge so much that I upgraded from a standard room to a river front room and stayed three more days before flying home. The second room deck was only eight feet from the Fall River (Yes, I actually stepped it off) and overlooked the mountains. The rooms were very clean and recently upgraded with new beds, appliances, carpeting etc. The managers Bruce and Loretta were very friendly and accommodating as was the rest of the staff. The lodge is only a short walk to town and is in a quiet area.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Spent 2 nights at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park and although the staff was very nice and very helpful and the new pillow top beds were very comfortable, this facility needs major repair and renovation. Although the room was clean, the paint work in the room looked as if it was done by someone who had never painted before. As an example, the brass bathroom door knob had been painted white and there was not a bit of caulk anywhere to seal a seam or crack. Also, the parking lot area needed a good sweep down and sprucing up.

On the up side, there was was a crew that looked like they were working on one of the rooms, so there is possibly hope for the future of this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing