We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Estes Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Estes Park”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Murphy's River Lodge is a great place to stay! We liked the fact that it was a short walk to the main street where all the shops and restaurants are located, we didn't have to fight traffic. The rooms are very clean and the beds are great. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river are great, each has a private peaceful balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    253
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
397
534
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great place for a family Outing!

We met for a family reunion and had a wonderful time!

This is a very family friendly place. The staff was exceptional. No matter what we requested, they followed up promptly and courteously. In the community room there were games and books to entertain the kids at night, as well as a nice pool and hot tub.

This is a rustic lodge with lovely views of the mountains. The rooms were large, comfortable and attractive. We sat on our balcony and watched the river flowing by, just a few feet from our room. At night we opened the windows and let the music of the running water lull us to sleep.

The Continental Breakfast was outstanding for this type of fare: hot and cold drinks, juices, cereals, bagels, delicious pastries, toast, yogurt and fresh fruit.

The location is excellent- just at the top of Estes’s main street. We were able to walk all around town, no fighting the traffic which can be crazy in Estes.

I recommend this place highly. We’re already planning next year’s reunion at Murphy’s River Lodge.

Room Tip: We liked the north side rooms so we could be by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very close to town, within walking distance. Reasonable price. Clean. Comfortable new mattress. Nice deck beside rushing river, deck and or porch had 2 chairs & a table. Windows opened & could enjoy sound of rushing river. Wonderful.
Had nice indoor heated pool & Hot tub, vending machines very handy and plenty of ice.
Had window a.c. unit if needed & microwave & refrigerator & coffee-maker. Was older property but was renovated, clean. Management was on property and very friendly & helpful.
Would have been nice to have a couch or recliner in room. We were in room 107, it was quiet and away from highway. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRetired49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was my first stay at Murphys River Lodge and I must say that I will stay here anytime I come to Estes. I came for one night for a getaway/ refresher and thats exactly what I got. It itsnt right in the thick of town and was very peaceful and quiet.Its about a five minute walk from downtown, which was nice so we didn't have to battle trying to find a parking spot. We arrived and felt so welcomed by the staff. The river runs right by the lodge and it was so peaceful. Loretta is very personable,accommodating, and made me feel right at home. The room/bathroom was very clean and the bed was super comfy. Had such a great time. Great location, very well maintained property and will definitely be coming back! Thank you for making our stay pleasurable!

Room Tip: The rooms on the river are just incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kianas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We booked 3 wks. in advance w/Expedia and called to speak with the manager( Loretta) to ask a few questions and decided we wanted to stay another day. After spending 5 nights only to find everything great from the lodge, the location to town(walking distance) and how close to RMNP(3mi) we asked if it was possible for one more night. We lucked out and got it. All the hotels are booked because of the ELK FEST.
The lodge has very nice, clean updated rooms. We actually had a condo(2nd floor) with a micro and small refrigerator. There are others with kitchens if you choose to cook. The bed was a king size and the mattress very comfortable w/good pillows too. It has a fireplace, a lazy boy chair to relax and watch football games on a flat screen tv. Not to mention very QUIET
The room is spacious and has a pull out couch, if needed. The bathroom has a vanity, a blow dryer, and a great shower/bath tub with HOT water. Coffee maker too.
As far as the continental breakfast....it is the same as other hotels and has everything from cereal to bagels and danish. The manager is Bruce and he is there every morning to greet you and answer any questions that you may have. He is very friendly and you can tell he likes being at Murphy's. His wife Loretta manages the office and makes you feel special and will go out of her way to help you. They both make you feel at home. Thanks to them they made our stay at Estes Park one we will always treasure.
P.S. They can tell you about all the good restaurants in town also. We can highly recommend The Wild Rose. Superb food and service. Excellent steaks and fish.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room right on Fall River and could enjoy the sounds of the river with the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishonMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We did not book weeks ahead and called day of to see if a room was available. Manager was more than accommodating. She gave us a choice of a much nicer room -more than what we expected due to some unexpected bookings. Don't count on that for your stay - but it could happen- it did to us! Room was right by the Big Thomson River and the sound of the water at night was great. My older son came done with Altitude sickness - managers were very helpful in describing what it is - and our options. He was back up and functioning in less than 12 hours. Second son also came down with altitude sickness - though by that time we knew what it was. Room was nice. It was a updated room and very comfortable night’s sleep. There was a big king bed for us and the kids slept on a sofa sleeper - which had a pretty nice mattress on it (not your standard sofa mattress). Saw a fox out the window in the evening - and heard Elk as well as saw them in town. Location is close to town and close to Rocky Mountain National Park so it is an ideal location for any family looking to enjoy either shopping or the Rocky Mountain National. Breakfast did not include hot food (saw previous review where the manager says they do not have a license for that so that was understandable). The available breakfast items were fine. They included: cereals, bagels, yogurt, fruit, danishes, toast and oatmeal. Choice of: coffee, tea, apple or orange juice, and milk. Not considering the high altitude sickness , a great stay - and pleasant accommodation’s. Thanks so much for having us.

Room Tip: Rooms by the River were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander and London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The bedroom was fine and comfortable. The bed was actually comfy. The bathroom was good with excellent water pressure. The let down was an absolutley absymal breakfast (included in the room rate). Conisting of, in the main, bagels wrapped in plastic & prepacked cereals. Coffee, vending machine juice, tea & toast were available & I recall seeing bananas. The breakfast room was featureless with tables scattered about the room. It was more akin to a motorway stop. The plates were just paper and the cutlery plastic with a couple of garbage bins to use for disposal of same. Noise could be heard from the upstairs bedroom and the one along side ours. The hotel charges would seem to be based on its proximity to Estes Park town which is just a short walk away. For what was available it was over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
I do not believe that you know what a continental breakfast actually is. The definition of continental breakfast is coffee and a roll. We provide for free coffee,danish rolls,2 kinds of bagels,yogert,4 choices of cereral,apple and orange juice,tea,toast and fruit every morning.
If you want a personalised breakfast you need to go to one of our local restaurants. State law prohibits us from making omelets and other prepared meals.
Regarding our Community Room -- We have nothing but compliments about the layout and many people enjoys eating out on our wrap around deck that views the Fall River. Bruce does a awesome job and most people use this area as a way to meet other guests in a relaxed setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing