We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Honeymoon”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and were very pleased with Murphy's River Lodge. The customer service was absolutely fantastic, to checking in, to eating at the continental breakfast. The rooms are quite spacious with a king size bed, couch, TV, fireplace full bathroom and a fantastic view of the river. It felt very close to home when staying at Murphy's River Lodge.

The few disappointments was the bed was a little hard to sleep on and the maids forgot to take out our trash on one of the days.

Overall it was a fantastic stay and would recommend Murphy's River Lodge in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend the condos on the river. A lower condo has a full kitchen and walkout to the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    250
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
392
526
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This place was really cool. Location is awesome and the staff were incredibly helpful. I've stayed in a couple places up in Estes and have to say this by far was my favorite. Definetly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I were really looking forward to staying at Murphy's River Lodge given all the great reviews we saw. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We didn't get a room on the river and instead had one on the side of the motel (I would define it more as a motel than lodge btw) and there was there was only one small window and it faced the alley where all the dumpsters were. We could hear the river which was nice but no view as advertised.

Overall, the room was very clean and spacious...you can tell they've made some nice improvements. Our biggest complaint though was that the walls are paper thin...you can hear everything at this place from people walking to their room, to your neighbor's talking, their tv, and other "late night activities" I'm afraid. I didn't sleep well here at all.

You get a nice room for the price (probably even nicer if your room's on the river) and good location but just beware the walls are not thick...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cdorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Hey - this is Estes Park. You shouldn't be sitting in your hotel room, there is too much to see outside. But when you do go back to your room, Murphy's River Lodge does a good job of feeling like home - but probably with a better view.

I'm not sure if all the rooms are the same, but mine had a complete kitchen, a fireplace, and lots of room to stretch out. The back patio facing the stream makes for the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the AM.

The service was also prompt and friendly. I had one small issue with my room and it was resolved immediately and without question.

The location is a long walk or short drive to the central shopping, restaurant area. And of course Rocky Mountain National Park is just a couple miles down the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My room was very large with a king bed and a balcony over the river. Very nice to hear the rushing water at night. Made for a pleasant sleeping experience as did the comfortable bed with the cozy, clean linens and pillows! The room had a fireplace and a flat screen TV along with a microwave and a large fridge that even had a freezer compartment.

As other reviewers have noted, the bathroom was small, but it was fine for me. The whole place did have a bit of a "rustic" feel, which again was fine and expected. As I said, the bed linens were clean and comfy and also the towels were soft!

My only issue during my stay was with the housekeeping. I was under the impression that there would be no maid service unless requested by hanging the card on the door. However, I came back to my room at the end of the day to find that it had been serviced without my request. It wasn't a huge problem, but I had left some things out around the room (computer, electronics, food, shopping bags) that I would have put away had I known someone was coming in. It was a little unnerving, especially since on my receipt they made a point of saying "We don't come in unless invited" when describing the housekeeping policy.

Still, I really liked the place and would definitely return! It's very convenient to both town and Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Know what you're getting! If you want a river view room, be sure to request it. Don't take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 596Smokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I've stayed at several lodges/hotels in Estes Park and Murphy's Lodge is the nicest one to date. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The beds and linens were so comfortable. Couple that with the sounds of the river flowing outside your patio will make you never want to leave. The staff is exceptional...very welcoming and accomodating! All in all a great experinece that I highly recommend. I look forward to going back this winter!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bend, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Great location, you can walk down town in minutes. My room was very clean, I slept like a baby on a fabulous bed, room has a microwave, refregerator, coffee maker TV. I loved sitting on the cozy deck listening to the rushing river and star gazing very tranquile. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Their is a pool, hot tub and a community room ware we enjoyed a tasty continental breakfast. I can't waite to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing