We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN ESTES PARK!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN ESTES PARK!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The location of this lodge was just perfect - very close to downtown Estes Park and right on the river. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean - a home away from home. They have a very nice pool and a great area to enjoy the Continental breakfast they offer. There are barbeque grills and picnic tables - everything to make you feel at home. There's so much to do in the area and it was nice to have a great place to go back to at the end of the day. I would definitely recommend Murphy's River Lodge to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    250
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
392
526
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The proximity to the Rocky Mountain National Park and to downtown Estes Park via a walking path makes the Lodge the perfect location to enjoy everything in this area. Loretta and Bruce were wonderful hosts. Our riverview condo was extrememely comfortable and very well appointed, right down to a full length mirror on the bathroom door. Sitting on the porch with the river rushing by after a day of hiking in the mountains was a memorable experience. One of our walks downtown yielded an impressive view of a herd of elk right near the Visitors Center. Hopefully, we will return and spend more than the three nights that we did this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjdnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed there on a hiking trip to Estes and were very impressed by the classiness of this lodge. First of all, it's right on a trout stream. All of the furnishings from the bath, the bed, to the pictures on the walls are first rate. it reminded me of the Jerome in Aspen. Walking distance to downtown, very friendly and helpful staff, and our own personal outdoor space with a deck and outdoor cooking.. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We took advantage of the Living Social deal offered recently and we couldn't be happier! Loretta checked us in and had great recommendations for restaurants. She was so personable and knowledgable about the area. We walked everywhere and particularly enjoyed the river trail. The views and proximity to the National Park make this a wonderful, convenient place to stay. The rooms with the fireplaces are fantastic (and worth the $20 upcharge for you Living Social users!) The breakfast room was clean and well-stocked with your usual breakfast fare, but all I need is a yogurt and piece of fruit to be happy. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went up to Murphy’s River Lodge to get out of the city for a couple of days and what a great choice. The Lodge sits right on the river and most of the rooms back up to the river. They also have decks that over look it and what a great place to sit and enjoy a couple of glasses of wine and listen to the river bubble. The staff was so friendly my son lost his favorite blanket well we were there and they found it and mailed it back to use. The pool was great and the continental breakfast was excellent, defiantly more than just your standard continental breakfast. The room was very clean and nice with beautiful pictures of local wildlife. The rooms also have fireplaces in them. All and all it was a great time and a great place and we will defiantly be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwright84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetek
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week at Murphys and it was awesome. The management and staff were allways warm and pleasant waiting to assist in any way to help make our stay special. We spent time to see the local sites including the Rocky mountian national park, downtown shops and restaurants. The room was very clean with everything we needed. We especially enjoyed the comfortable king size bed with plenty of pillows. From relaxing and taking in the great view to hiking and taking walks uptown there was plenty of things to do. We had a great time and can't wait to get back.

Ray & Jo

Room Tip: The river front ground level rooms are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay and experience at Murphy's River Lodge and in Estes Park. The room was clean and quaint with everything we needed. The fireplace added cozy charm on the cool evenings and we enjoyed watching elk graze from our balcony. The breakfast room had plenty of choices for breakfast and morning drinks (hot and cold). NIce pool and hot tub area. The staff was so welcoming and very informative on places to eat and fun things to do. The Rocky Mountain National park is very close and a beautiful place to visit and hike. Thanks Murphy's Lodge for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing