We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a remarkable vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We were on a very short vaction of areas west of Denver. Our first stop was Murphy's River Lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room - a King Room overlooking the River - was really wonderful. Then there was MAGIC. We had been in the room for less than 20 minutes and we heard people saying "there are two of them". I went out onto our balcony, which looked over the river, and there were two male elk with full rack of antlers. What a sight! They stayed for over 1/2 hour - just across the river [actually more a creek] less than 30 feet from us.

Now to the lodge. It is a wonderful place with a great pool and hot tub. The rooms are not "ultra modern" - actually they fit right in with the natural decor of Estes Park - they are spacious, have the amenities needed and are very clean. One suggestion - please reserve a room overlooking the river. It is not a "big" river, but the outlook is wonderful, especially after a day of sightseeing.

The breakfast has everything needed.

Please note - there are NO phones in the room - a great plus for us, as we were on a vacation away from it all. The TV reception is more than adequate, although I only glanced at what was available - the scenery from our balcony was far superior than any TV.

I think this is a wonderful place to stay. Hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is worth any additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MusikAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I can't say enough about Murphys River Lodge in Estes Park Co. Great location, Clean rooms, and friendly staff. 4 miles tto Rocky Mt. National Park. Across the street horse back riding . Do ride it is fabulous. Also a short walk into town for shopping and dinner, no worries about parking the car. And the beds are new and fabulous this was very important for me after a day of hiking. Would stay here again. Oh the fitness center is the great outdoors!!!!

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Murphy's River Lodge is a very nice double decker hotel that has some rooms that allow pets. We took our border collie and there's a nice dog area for them. Our room overlooked the river on the second level and while the stairs were not comfortable for our older dog, they weren't bad. We had an end room with a balcony which was nice in the mornings but got direct sun in the afternoon. The room itself was very nice other than the shower dispensers for conditioning shampoo and body wash and a soap dispenser near the sink rather than individual sizes. The bed was firm but comfortable and the pillows were very nice. There are movies in the office if you get bored. It's within walking distance to most attractions since parking is minimal. The downtown part of Estes Park is very dog friendly with many businesses having water dishes outside or inside and dog treats. Many restaurants allow dogs on the patio but we chose not to take ours with us when we went out to eat. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave, a coffee pot and fireplace. Very cozy. The breakfast was cold with mini bagels, cereal, some fruit, coffee, juice and milk, small containers of yogurt and pastries. The pool looked nice but was swamped with children in the pool and hot tub with no room for adults. The office personnel are helpful with questions regarding the activities or attractions. Pricey on a good day but a nice place with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette if you're staying more than one night and definitely ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our first time at Murphy's. We enjoyed it. Great location. Flowing creek outside our door was beautiful. Quick walk to down town. Staff was pleasant. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was standard continental...nothing special. The rooms were a bit pricey, but I guess that is Estes Park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fredthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our family with 2 young kids plus my wife's parents all stayed at Murphy's River Lodge on our first visit to RMNP and Estes Park. You cannot go wrong with this property! The owner is relatively new and has done a fantastic job making improvements in just about a year's time: new carpet, new paint, new countertops in bathrooms and great landscaping that is manicured and well cared for. The stone paths were sturdy and stable for our young kids. The grass is watered great for playing. The pool and hot tub are in great shape and the bathroom in the pool house is very clean complete with a nice sink/cabinet. Beds are VERY clean. We have taken to checking for bed bugs before we settle into any property (never had any issues but my wife is really spooked at prospect!). What a delight to find the mattress covers installed that are intended to prevent bed bugs from hitting the mattress (completely covers mattress with zipper -- not just the mattress pad). The sheets were crisp with fluffy pillows and soft towels and plenty of them. The FREE breakfast was terrific with coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries, bread, hard boiled eggs, dry cereal, oatmeal -- on and on the choices went. A real plus for families on a budget and completely kid-friendly. The manager was awesome: our youngest got sick and when we inquired about a 1/2 day rate to extend the stay while letting the sick kid sleep, Loretta insisted we just use the room for the day and take our time...at no cost! That was a generous choice of hers and meant a great deal to our family. The staff is very friendly and open to early check-ins provided the rooms were available. We'd originally booked a King and 2 queens, and b/c we wanted adjoining rooms, the staff worked with us (at early check-in) and we got two terrific rooms with great amenities that weren't even what we'd originally booked. Very flexible management that is very interested in guests having a great time away from home that is stress free and filled with fun. THANK YOU MURPHY'S RIVER LODGE. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on river allow for nice running river sound. We did not have river view but had very quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our first time staying at Murphy's River Lodge, but certainly not our last. We have stayed at a variety of places in Estes Park and none are as nice, nor have the friendly staff that Murphy's had. Everything from check-in to breakfast to the hot tub and room - exceptionally clean and like new. It's a real advantage to be within walking distance of town, too, to avoid all that traffic! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the river for the quiet, pieceful sound of water and fishing right outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hello again Murphys you have outdone yourself , The room was comfortable, spacious, very clean and affordable . This was our fourth time staying here . Never go anywhere else .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjscrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing