We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel was awsome!! Had a beatiful view of the river!! So cool plan to stay there again when I travel to Estes park!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vato31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a room in the 2nd floor. It was perfect. The room was very clean, beds very confortable. I don't agree with other reviews regarding the breakfast. For me it was average. My kids enjoyed the pool while we enjoyed the chairs in front of the river. It's very quiet. Walking distance from downtown and very close to the entrance of the Rocky National Park. Good choice for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a room with a view of the river, we were on the 2nd floor and had a balcony with 'a table for 2' and a relaxing Adirondack chair. The room had a fridge, and a lovely bottle of wine. The bed was a little soft (for me) but then my spouse likes soft beds. The room was quiet, we could hear the river, and the birds....it was lovely.
Breakfast had a good variety of food; cereal, danishes, fruit, coffee, milk, juice, muffins, boiled eggs, peanut butter (with apples...yum!). The staff was wonderful, there were movies in the lobby, games and books in the breakfast area, and grills outside if you wanted to cook a meal. We enjoyed our stay. The hot tub was wonderful after a day of walking and shopping...nice treat for families & couples. Everything was within easy walking distance.
The BBQ at the restaurant a block into town, didn't have their award winning breakfast, but the BBQ was terrible and the salad bar was....wilted. But then that would be off topic. Really liked Murphy's River Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I always get a little nervous staying at places that are not part of a chain because you never know what you're going to get. I was very pleased with Murphy's River Lodge, the room, the pool, the breakfast, the staff, and the location are all just as they are advertised. The room was large, clean, and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool was actually warm and was 9ft at the deep end which you don't find much anymore.

I think the best thing about this lodge is the location. Right near the great downtown shops, close to the park entrance, and best of all the river runs right along the property. One of the other guests saw an elk directly across the river on our last night there. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone going to RMNP!

Room Tip: There is no hallway to the pool so you'll have to plan on scurrying quickly to and from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTopcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We recently had a family reunion at Murphy's. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Mine was on the river, and a lovely setting. The kitchenette was an added plus. The community room was perfect for gathering the family for a "welcome hour" as well as a catered dinner. The location was great with lots for everyone to do as well as easy access for a restaurant dinner one night of the reunion. There were 50 people, and everyone enjoyed themselves a lot. Everything at Murphy's exceeded my expectations. I am planning to go back in the fall for a "get-away" weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay for 2 days; clean, comfortable beds. The sheets were starched but lots of pillows.. The staff was great; friendly and smiles on each person who worked at Murphy's.
Indoor pool/hot tub...breakfast room beautiful.
Thanks...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiteflyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed here after a long day in Yellowstone. The seating area looking down on the Yellowstone river was the perfect place to eat a sandwich and just enjoy the view. The rooms aren't large, but they have everything you need, hot water, comfy bed, fridge. Great hostess will answer any questions you have. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookreader2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing