We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My mom, aunt, daughter, and I spent a night here in June. We had a room without a view and it was still great. Updated and lots of room. Would definitely recommend it and would have loved to be able to spend more time here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    254
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
399
534
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Murphy's River Lodge for 2 nights, and wish we could have stayed longer! We stayed in the Aspen room (which was pretty large for a hotel room). The bed was very comfortable, with lots of cushy pillows. They supply the rooms with shampoo, shower gel, and other items which was nice since we forgot to pack ours. I loved that we had a balcony with a table and chairs that we could sit & drink coffee at in the mornings. The property was nice and quiet, and very peaceful - especially with the river running through the back. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was better than any I have experienced. We didn't have a chance to use the pool or hot tub but they both looked very clean. Murphy's River Lodge was also very close to the shops & RMNP. All in all, we really enjoyed our time here and will return next time we're in Estes Park!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights to explore RMNP. I loved having the little balcony over the river, although they got much-needed rain during our stay and so we didn't get to use it. The sound and sight of the stream were wonderful. I loved having the microwave and refrigerator in our room. The property seems to be aging, but still pleasant. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and WiFi. The site was fairly quiet.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aboutwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel was awsome!! Had a beatiful view of the river!! So cool plan to stay there again when I travel to Estes park!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vato31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventabren, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a room in the 2nd floor. It was perfect. The room was very clean, beds very confortable. I don't agree with other reviews regarding the breakfast. For me it was average. My kids enjoyed the pool while we enjoyed the chairs in front of the river. It's very quiet. Walking distance from downtown and very close to the entrance of the Rocky National Park. Good choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a room with a view of the river, we were on the 2nd floor and had a balcony with 'a table for 2' and a relaxing Adirondack chair. The room had a fridge, and a lovely bottle of wine. The bed was a little soft (for me) but then my spouse likes soft beds. The room was quiet, we could hear the river, and the birds....it was lovely.
Breakfast had a good variety of food; cereal, danishes, fruit, coffee, milk, juice, muffins, boiled eggs, peanut butter (with apples...yum!). The staff was wonderful, there were movies in the lobby, games and books in the breakfast area, and grills outside if you wanted to cook a meal. We enjoyed our stay. The hot tub was wonderful after a day of walking and shopping...nice treat for families & couples. Everything was within easy walking distance.
The BBQ at the restaurant a block into town, didn't have their award winning breakfast, but the BBQ was terrible and the salad bar was....wilted. But then that would be off topic. Really liked Murphy's River Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I always get a little nervous staying at places that are not part of a chain because you never know what you're going to get. I was very pleased with Murphy's River Lodge, the room, the pool, the breakfast, the staff, and the location are all just as they are advertised. The room was large, clean, and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool was actually warm and was 9ft at the deep end which you don't find much anymore.

I think the best thing about this lodge is the location. Right near the great downtown shops, close to the park entrance, and best of all the river runs right along the property. One of the other guests saw an elk directly across the river on our last night there. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone going to RMNP!

Room Tip: There is no hallway to the pool so you'll have to plan on scurrying quickly to and from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTopcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing