We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I went on a last minute trip to Estes and came across Murphy's River Lodge while driving through town. It ended up being one of the most peaceful and beatiful places we've been. While sitting on the back patio putting our feet in the creek we were listening to the sounds of humming birds and other wildlife in the area. The wildflowers were in bloom everywhere making this a spectacular spot to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We found the plethora of lodging options in Estes Park overwhelming. We used tripadvisor to help us narrow down our choices and selected Murphy's River Lodge based on the positive reviews from other members. We chose Murphy's because it was walking distance to downtown. We only walked in to town once. Other times we drove and did not have a problem finding somewhere to park, but we were not there during a weekend, and I could see parking being a bigger issue at that time. We also chose Murphy's because of the continental breakfast, which was very good. Lots of choices--fruit, grain, protein, fat--food pyramid was well represented. Even my 8 year old found lots of things she wanted for breakfast! We also liked the indoor pool, which my kids enjoyed quite a bit. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. (I have a "princess and the pea" complex, and I was comfortable so....) I had an issue with the air conditioner making too much noise which the management looked into quickly. They gave me the clear impression that customer satisfaction was a high priority for them. They also encourage their customers to post on tripadvisor, which, as a user of this site, says a lot to me about their commitment to service!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very nice motel. Bedroom and bathroom were nicely updated, with HD TV and standard amenities. Nice continental breakfast in common room. Easy walking down Elkhorn Avenue to the center of Estes Park. There appeared to be Adirondack chairs by the small stream that winds through Estes Park, though I did not take advantage of them.

Room Tip: Did not try the river room, on the stream that runs through Estes Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for our second trip to Estes Park with our adult daughter. The grounds were well maintained and I loved all the hummingbird feeders. They had an indoor pool and hot tub also. The river that runs along the back of the lodge was wonderful and relaxing. We booked fairly late and were able to get a room with 2 queen beds that were extremely comfortable. The room was air conditioned and also had a refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. A continental breakfast was served in the morning and had a wide variety to choose from. Next time we'll book earlier and make sure to get a room on the river! Staff was very accommodating and friendly and more than helpful with suggestions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrowhdgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently enjoyed our 4 night stay at Murphy's River Lodge. The staff was very helpful and always friendly. They provided a nice breakfast and even allowed us to borrow movies for free. The facilities looked like they were recently remodeled. The hotel nicely looked a short walking distance from the downtown tourist shops. We would recommend this establish to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great stay in August 2012. Location is one block from the 'main' road, so easy to walk to restaurants/shops but quiet, never an issue of noise since a block removed.

Clean rooms. Comfy beds. Rooms were fine, nothing fancy but this is not a 'fancy' hotel and is not trying to be. Fridge in the room is helpful. The hot tub and pool after a day of hiking in RMNP was key. The breakfast was continental and just what we wanted, though some people might want to go out for pancakes/eggs etc we do not need that.

Staff helpful and friendly.

Would stay here again when we return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikingfamilyphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for our June 2012 wedding. The staff was amazing. We took over atleast half of the lodge. We felt welcome as soon as we checked in. Our kids loved the pool! We loved making a fire in the firepit outside of our room. We would sit and visit with family we haven't seen in so many years. Being the bride I needed my family and friends to be happy and enjoy their time in Colorado. Everyone did! Short walk to town. We used the breakfast room for a small reception after our wedding in Rocky Mountain National Park. Perfect weather and a perfect view of the river from our back deck. You can't get any closer to the river:) We just really had a great time Bruce and Loretta helped to make it amazing!!

Room Tip: Definalty choose a Lower Condo if you are looking for a view and right off your room access to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
830 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing