We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean! Very happy with our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a comfortable and clean place for my sisters bachelorette party! The rooms were very spacious with super comfortable beds. We were greeted by a very polite staff who knew all the good places to visit in Estes. We had a very quick checkout and enjoyed a delicious continental breakfast. Thank you Murphy's River Lodge for a great experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Chloe,
Thank you for your review! I am so happy that you girls had a great party and stay with us. We look forward to your return visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went up to Estes for my bachelorette party and stayed at Murphy's River Lodge. It was close to to town (close enough for us to just walk into town), very clean, comfortable beds, extremely friendly staff and a great free continental breakfast. I left a pair of my boots in my room and the staff contacted us right away to let me know and said they would ship them back to me-awesome of them. I would highly recommend this hotel and lodge to anyone staying in Estes Park!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Sophia,
Thank you for your review! Congratulations again from Murphy's River Lodge. I am happy your party and stay with us was a success. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast the next morning after your party. We looking forward to you returning and staying with us again. Glad you got your boots back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a great place to stay to celebrate my friends bachelorette party. We had many people who traveled with us and we were put in a room that slept six people. It was great to have all of us in the room. Wasn't hard to travel there on 119 through Boulder either.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sillygirl265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review! I am so glad all of the girls had a great time during your stay. Now that Hwy 36 is open, we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

we come to Estes Park every year and stayed at the Wilderness Lodge which Murphy's used to be. unfortunately the former owners let the place go so badly we quit staying there. we were thrilled when this lovely place with a fantastic location was purchased and remodeled. they did a wonderful job and it is now our favorite place again. we had so much difficulty with our trip this year with the flood and the gov't shutdown but we were determined to go to Estes Park and with the very helpful staff at Murphy's we made it. can't wait to come back next year minus all the drama. the rooms are very comfortable and the pool is a great bonus. the staff is wonderful. can't say enough good things about Murphy's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank namaskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review! I am so glad with the flood and shut down of the National Park, you still came to visit Estes Park. We are happy to hear we are now your favorite place to stay in Estes park. We look forward to having you stay with us next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We planned to go to Estes Park from Colorado Springs, then the Fed Gov't shutdown caused us to change our plans, then the Governor Of Colorado paid to reopen Rocky Mtn Natl Park so we changed plans again and decided to go to Estes Park. We pulled into town without reservations and made a sweep thru town and looked at possible accommodations and settled on Murphy's River Lodge. We were drawn by the rustic charm and it was obviously a well kept property. We weren't disappointed - the staff was friendly, helpful and certainly appreciative of our business. The whole area has been just about devastated this summer and fall between the disastrous flood in August and the government shutdown in October. We loved our room. We had a single queen room that was almost large enough to qualify as a mini-suite. Just outside our door we had a beautiful view of the mountains and we could hear the nearby stream - the setting couldn't have been better. The room was immaculate, several pillows, very clean - they obviously pay a lot of attention to details.
Although we didn't use it, the pool area was very clean and well maintained. They provide a nice continental breakfast that normally runs from 7:00 to 10:00 but while we were there they were opening at 5:30 because they had several disaster relief workers staying there that got going early. We stayed two nights and would have stayed more but weren't able to get to Granby as the didn't get Trail Ridge open so kind got "shopped out in Estes Park and decided to head for home - but we will return! We loved Estes Park, we loved what we saw of Rocky Mountain National Park and we WILL return to Murphy's River Lodge again.
If you're traveling to Colorado, make the extra effort and go to Estes Park, the scenery is spectacular, the merchants desperately need your support and if you need a place to stay check out Murphy's River Landing, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: They all looked good from what we could tell from rooms to suites and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your review! Estes Park has really worked hard after the flood to get up and running. The park closing was another blow to the town on top of the flood. I am very glad you were able to come visit us and enjoy Estes Park and the Rocky Mountain National Park. Our complimentary continental breakfast is a great way to start your day and we are accommodating our guest that are working hard in the area to get roads open again with opening breakfast earlier so they can also enjoy it. We look forward to you returning to Estes Park and staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights soon after they reopened after the floods that impacted that area and they were all very nice and the rooms were very clean. Meredith at the front desk was great and she helped us figure out a great hike and even printed out information on the rock structure that is close by. We would highly recommend this place!

The breakfast was nice (they even had almond milk) and the pool and hot tub was just perfect after our hike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Beth,
Thank you for your Review! I am glad you were able to visit Estes Park and stay with us. I am also glad Meredith was able to help figure out a great hike for you to enjoy. She does a great job here at Murphy's River Lodge and loves to hike herself around the area. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, indoor heated pool and hot tub. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Much to our surprise after a day drive of "Aspen Leaf" & Fall Color" driving, we arrived at Murphy's River Lodge after our 3rd and last stop! Located within walking distance of Estes Park main street & back. Our room located on the creek, was great & comfortable. We both enjoyed the well taken care of swimming pool & hot tub...Twice! There free selections of video's from the "abyss - Zombyland" was real cool. Oops!..Forgot the Continental Breakfast...Perfect! Next time...Were Here..Brian & Debra

Room Tip: corner room under the stairs of the Continental breakfast room is cool and close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Brian & Debra,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to visit Estes Park in the Fall. The sites are amazing this time of year. I am also glad you were able to stay with us and enjoyed a River room along with our complimentary continental breakfast, FREE movie rentals, indoor heated pool and hot tub. We look forward to coming back and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing