We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just an ordinary motel, no better than a Motel 6. Minimal privacy, headlights in window, noisy, lots of traffic and condo development.
Many better choices nearby. Hot tub broken, lukeworm swimming pool wasteful use of space and energy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdog377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I knew you were disappointed with our policy when you asked for an early departure. However, at the time you asked about our policy you did not express to me that you were disappointed with any of your accommodations. You never voiced any of the concerns you listed here during your stay.
I am not sure with the location of your room 107,how you could hear the traffic. that room is located in the building furthest from the road. You stayed with us three days and during our slow season we try to spread our guest rooms out. Other than your last night having one room occupied next to you. all the rooms around you were unoccupied most of your stay.
Our pool is monitored daily and is kept at 86 degrees, it is one of our guest's favorite amenities and one of the few indoor heated pools in Estes Park. Unfortunately the motor went out in the hot tub during your stay. We ordered one right away and it will be installed as soon as the dealer can get it here.
The Condo development on the other side of the river is not currently under construction and is unoccupied, so no noise comes from there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    266
    74
    19
    5
See reviews for
415
548
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a great place to stay. I was in town for business and the staff was more than accommodating to me and my co-workers. The place is in great shape and the staff has done well in regards to all the flooding in the area. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor near the river. Had a nice small back porch where you could walk out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPW-406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review! It was great having you and your co-workers stay with us while you were in town on business. I am glad we could make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to you being able to come back and visit us. The next trip I hope will be for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This place is great! Walking distance to downtown Estes. My boyfriend and I loved the room. Stayed in room 210. It was perfect- Fireplace, sofa, private balcony, comfy bed. Loved it! Staff is really friendly, you can tell they will go far out of the way to accommodate you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Suzanne,
Thank you for the review! You picked a great room to stay in. 210 is different from all our other rooms. With it being tucked in the corner of our property and having a balcony over the river. This is our only room that is not a condo that we have a fireplace in. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here last May for about 4 days. Had a condo unit and it was fantastic. The elk came right up to the deck and were superb. Great accommodations, the hot tub was glorious and the continental breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Downstairs, first condo across from office, river right behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Carolyn,
Thank you for your Review! Our King River Condos are very popular and a great room to sit out on the deck and see the Elk. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon their. We chose the garden tub room at Murphy's River Lodge. The room was so clean and the staff was friendly and thoroughly helpful. We had a private deck right on Fall River. We were a little concerned with staying in Estes Park after all the flooding but the lodge and town did a EXCELLENT JOB on cleaning up.

We will be back!!!

We would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone visiting Estes Park!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Don,
Thank you for your review! Congratulation on your wedding! Your choice in room was perfect for your stay. Our garden tub room is a very romantic room and is tucked away in the corner of our property. We are hoping you will spend your anniversaries with us. I agree, the town did an excellent job in cleaning up after the flood. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I am a local here in Estes and decided to take my boyfriend out to do something different for his birthday. We chose the garden tub room at Murphy's River Lodge to get out of the house and had a blast! The room was so clean and the staff was friendly and thoroughly helpful. There is a huge wall of movies you can borrow for free, as all rooms have a DVD player. We had a private deck right on Fall River. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Estes Park. Having never stayed at any other places since we are local, I chose this place because it was walking distance into town and could walk to all the town shops and bars. I wish I had known about this place earlier so I could recommend it to visiting family and friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarletBegonia000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review! I think it is great when people from the area stay with us! The garden tub room is one of my favorite rooms. It is a very romantic room with the personal garden tub for two. I hope your boyfriend enjoyed his Birthday and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked 2 rooms at Murphy's after reading other reviews.
I'm really good at searching for the best places when planning a vacation but guilty in that I never leave reviews - this is my first one.
We were a little concerned with staying in Estes Park after all the flooding but the hotel assured us all was OK at Murphy's - which was correct. We couldn't drive in the most direct way from Denver Airport but Annette emailed us alternate directions.
Our stay was lovely. The front desk welcome was great and the fact that they are Packers fans made my hubby happy :)
We didn't have time to use the pool or hot tub but it looked most welcoming.
The beds and sheets were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless.
It shows they take pride in their establishment.
If we ever go back we'll stay there for sure!
Thanks for a great stay. Don't forget to get your photo taken in the BIG chair.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor river view room which was a real treat - the next morning we had the ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJPAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are honored to be your very first review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that I could help give you directions to Estes Park with most roads under construction. you made a great choice to stay in one of our river rooms and had a chance to see the elk by the river. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon. GO PACK GO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,444 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing