We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It felt like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It felt like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went here using a Living Social deal (and upgraded our deal to include a river view room and Jacuzzi tub). I was very pleased that we did receive a crappy room because we were using a coupon. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable; upon request they gave restaurant suggestions, etc. Our stay included a bottle of wine, coupons in the room for local attractions, a framed picture of us in their HUGE chair, and access to their DVD collection in the lobby. The free breakfast was your normal continental breakfast with cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, eggs, etc. Our bed was comfortable, linens were soft, the room was clean, and hot water came quickly (a huge plus for a mountain hotel). The only downside was the amount of noise we were able to hear from above. We were in room 210. My suggestion would be to stay on the top floor! We heard those above us: walking, the floor creaking, their thumping, etc. It was not enough to truly bother us, but worth noting.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to upgrade your room to the King River Jacuzzi room. It is one of our more popular rooms. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfasts and our wide variety of FREE DVDs to watch. Our Lodge was just renovated in 2011 with all new beds, linens and decor. Sorry, that you experienced a loud guest above you during your stay. We look forward to you returning to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    246
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
389
518
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed over New Years and was happy we could walk downtown; the staff was very helpful getting us pointers on the best things to do in Estes Park as well. Rooms were spacious, clean, and up to date. Proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park was also a big perk as we went snowshoeing the next day.

Only issue issue we had was that the pool/hot tub close at 9pm and we would have liked to have a soak after dinner.

Overall we were all very impressed and would be likely to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDale49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I am glad you were able to spend your New Years in beautiful Estes Park. I am happy the staff was able to provide helpful information on the best activities in town. Snow shoeing is a great way to spend a day in Estes Park, I am glad you had a chance to enjoy that. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here the Monday after Christmas after getting a Groupon gift for the motel. The girl in the office was very friendly and checked us in quickly. Our room was fairly large and comfortable. I did find some loose change on the floor by the bed indicating they didn't vacuum it as well as they should have, but otherwise it was very clean. The only real negative about the room was the lack of sound-proofing. There was quite a bit of noise from the room above and since our room was located right next to the stairs, you could hear everyone going up and down.

The fridge and microwave were a great touch, as were the European type soap and shampoo dispensers, rather than the tiny bars you use a few times and get thrown away. The bed was very comfortable and had very nice bedding and pillows.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the breakfast room. It was standard fare, but well-stocked and quality food. The breakfast room was upstairs and the views of the river and mountains were great.

As a final touch, when we checked out they took our picture in the giant rocking chair they have outside and gave the photo AND a very nice frame to us! This is a very friendly, comfortable place and has a great location just a couple of blocks from the shops. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs away and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I will be looking into your concerns. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. We like our soap and shampoo dispensers, it is part of our lodge going green. All of our rooms have compact fridge, microwave and coffee makers. We want to give our guest every convenience we can. We also agree that the FREE framed picture in our BIG Murphy's chair is a great way for guest to remember their vacation/stay with us. We look forward to your return visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Last minute stay, drove 3 hours to be here, GM treated us right along with the front desk person. Nice renovated room, just as described they did us a solid here, cam with our little dog and no issues. Worth the time and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: King with a deck near the river works
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madbeacher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I am glad you stayed with us on your last minute trip. I am happy you were able to bring your little dog along on your trip. We have several pet friendly units and want people that have furry family members to feel welcome. We hope you return soon and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday nights after Thanksgiving this year. The town lights up and Friday night we witnessed the annual Christmas Parade of Lights. The town was bustling and the shopping and dining in town was great. The Lodge is clean, comfortable and in walking distance to downtown. That was the main reason we chose Murphy's was for its closeness to down town, about a 4 minute walk. We stayed in an upstairs unit with King bed and fireplace and a nice view. The room was large and comfortable. Check in was painless as the front desk person was very nice. If we don't stay in a cabin in the woods next visit to Estes Park, we will definitely stay at Murphy's. Did I mention location?!! If you plan on doing time in town, Murphy's is a must. Once there, we never drove our car again except for dinner at The Twin Owl Restaurant which we highly recommend as well. Great dining experience.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Kevin,
Thank you for the review! Winter in Estes Park is beautiful. I also loved the annual Christmas Parade of Lights. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

All the comforts of home, elk off your back patio, it was great! We had a wonderful time here and the owners were spectacular. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Beautiful location as well. We love Estes Park and this location is convenient and close to everything,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badjes711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you got a chance to see the elk down by the river. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I absolutely love this resort! Walking distance to downtown, beautiful landscapes, and wildlife all around. Rooms are very clean and well cared for, as is the whole property in general. The staff was amazing and went out of their way to help in anyway they could. The amenities were great and their breakfast had a large variety to choose from. I did not have issues with headlights in windows or noise from other rooms or construction as other reviews have mentioned. We will be making this the place to go for our yearly trips to Estes Park!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Cassandra,
Thank you for your Review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing