We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craig and Darlene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We received this weekend get away from our son David and his wonderful girlfriend Katelyn for Christmas. It was a much needed escape. We were greeted by a warm and friendly staff, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room as well as the entire property was clean comfortable and well kept. We will recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to get away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Craig and Darlene,
Thank you for your review! That was awesome for David and Katelyn to give you both a much needed getaway for Christmas. Your son must of knew it was time to get Mom and Dad to relax and have some down time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in this very comfortable, but not fancy hotel. The room was clean and roomy, complimentary breakfast was nice, and the location was close to town with shopping and activities. We were given coupons to a couple of local places. It was very relaxing with a mountain winter feel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Cathy,
Thank you for your review! Thank you for stay with us during your trip to Estes Park.
With our location being only 3 blocks from downtown, it is great for walking to all the shops and restaurants in town.
I love the way you described your stay "very relaxing with a mountain winter feel!"
We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to get out of the city for a weekend and decided to make a trip Estes Park as our getaway. When we arrived at Murphy's River Lodge we were welcomed with a warm greeting from the staff - who continued to be very friendly and accommodating our entire stay. Our room was very cozy with the fireplace and little balcony, overlooking the river, where we were able to enjoy our morning coffee in the beautiful surroundings. We were very close to Rocky Mountain National Park where we went snow shoeing, then finished the day with a quick walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner. This charming hotel was the perfect place for our weekend trip to Estes. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Ashley,
Thank you for your review! I am so glad you chose Estes Park and Murphy's River Lodge as your destination for your weekend getaway. The Rocky Mountain Park offers some beautiful spots to snowshoe, I am glad you had the chance to enjoy that during your getaway. Our King river with fireplace is a great room to relax by a fireplace after a day of snowshoeing. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was a great getaway spot for my three young boys and me. We had never been to Estes Park which was great and we were pleased with the the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms at the Lodge. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a quiet spot to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Phillip,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you and your sons enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to be able to get away and relax and make memories. The picture of them in our BIG Murphy's rocking chair is a great way to remember your visit to Estes Park. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I visited for a late new years gift to each other, as a fun weekend get away. Murphy's River lodge was a fantastic choice! The staff was very helpful in pointing us to the Estes Park Brewery for dinner once we checked in, as well as other places we should check out over our stay. Our room was great, and we had a very pretty view in the mornings with the fresh snow everywhere. Our one regret was the weather, because it snowed so much Friday night through Saturday night, we were a little nervous to go too far away from the lodge, but since we went with one of the upper condos, it was spacious enough that we didn't mind staying in and watching a movie.

Room Tip: Tell them why you are there when you do your reservations. If you are going to spend time in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Michelle,
Thank you for your review! We did have a lot of snow during your stay in Estes Park. I am glad you enjoyed our FREE DVD selection to help you relax in your room. The condo you chose during your stay is one of our most spacious rooms. The fireplace and sofa and recliner give a nice cozy place to watch movies on a snowy day. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again. Hopefully during your next visit we will have beautiful weather for you to go out and see all the great places and shops Estes Park has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Upon checking in, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist, and later the manager. Both were very accommodating and very pleasant.

We were charged extra for the river view. However, all we could see from the small bedroom window was the unfinished construction!

Our room did not smell fresh, but that could be due to the age. The bathroom was the smallest we have ever seen with a baby size bath tub. The shower head had such a restriction that the flow was almost non existent, so we ended up taking it off in order to be able to wash ourselves.

The two chairs and the extremely small round table were not even functional. We could hardly put our laptop on the small table. The room had a desk and a chair, but it was in a closet-like room which was dark and depressing looking, so we did not use it.

There was a vent fan above the desk. The metal flapper inside the vent fan kept making loud sounds each time there was a wind, which woke us up during the night. The problem can be easily remedied by replacing it with a newer fan.

The flat TV was glued to the tall dresser, so you could not watch TV while sitting on the chairs. We ended up moving the dresser so we could watch the TV. As inexpensive the flat TVs are, it is puzzling why they saw the need to glue the TV to the dresser!

Overall, the place looked old with old furniture, small bathroom which could hardly fit one person, and not much view to talk about,

You get complementary breakfast. But if you eat healthy and not into bagels, donuts and sugar loaded yogurt, you may want to eat somewhere else, as we did. But don't go to the restaurant next door.

\With all the competition around, they should spend some money upgrading these units.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 685BruceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Bruce,
Thank you for the compliment on our friendly staff. I have read your review and I wish you would of addressed your concerns during your stay with us. We always want to make our guests feel at home and make sure they are happy during their stay. I can not fix the items you mentioned to help you enjoy your stay after your departure. I would of rather went over them together instead of having to reply and address them after you left.
You purchased a Denver Daily Deal voucher for a two night stay in one of our standard off river rooms. You chose to upgrade to a larger room on the river that was not included in the Denver Daily Deal special, which was an OPTIONAL upgrade that you are referring to as having to pay extra for. The abandoned development property that is across the river is not owned by us and therefore is out of our control.
All our bath tubs are standard size tubs. I have sent maintenance this morning to check the shower in the room you stayed in on 01/08 & 01/09 because we have had over a dozen other guests stay in that room sense your departure and no one has mentioned a problem with the shower head which could be changed if needed in a matter of minutes. Maintenance did not find the problem you spoke about. The cold air return vent above the desk does not have a fan that runs in it. I have them dusting inside the vent for anything that might have been blowing in the vent.
The two chairs with slide out ottoman and matching cocktail table, I agree are not big enough to use as a work station. That is why we have a desk and chair in every room. The desk sit in a built in space to allow more floor space in the room and has a table lamp on it. We also have extra lamps available if we know that a guest would like more light.
Our TVs have brackets that are screwed to the dresser. This is a safety measure, and are installed so that if a guest would bump into the dresser, the TV could not fall on them or small children.
Our complimentary Continental breakfast does provide the traditional sweet rolls, muffins, bagels and cold cereal for those who want something sweet with their morning coffee. All items do falls under the definition of a Continental breakfast (A light breakfast consisting usually of coffee or tea and a roll, pastry, or other baked good)
We also offer other breakfast items that are not on a traditional continental Breakfast which include hard boiled eggs for protein, light yogurt, bananas, oranges, oatmeal, sugar free hot chocolate as well as regular hot chocolate, 6 varieties of teas, unsweetened cereal, white and wheat english muffins, White and Wheat bread, fat free milk and soy milk for those that can not have dairy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Everyone at Murphy's was SO friendly and very accommodating! I LOVED how they take your picture in the big rocking chair, and then immediately present it to you in a frame. The place looked kind of old/run down, but our room was recently renovated and very spacious. Plus, both the pool and hot tub were very clean and inviting. And the continental breakfast was better than most with a wide variety of food, and an attendant there at all times. Will definitely go back and recommend to others!

Room Tip: We didn't stay by the river, and I'm glad we didn't pay extra to do this because it stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheebadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your review! We love taking our guests picture in our BIG chair and framing it FREE for our guest to remember their stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed that!
Our Owner has chosen to keep the look of the outside of Murphy's River Lodge to fit the mountain setting we are located in. With the Rocky Mountain National Park being only 3 1/2 miles away we are located at the base of the Rocky's beautiful mountain playground.
We have a lot of guests enjoy the river bank, our grills and fire pit area in the summer. When weather permits , we will redo our landscape and fix our picnic area that was affected by the flood.
Thank you for the compliment on our pool and our complimentary continental breakfast. The pool is monitored, cleaned and maintained daily to provide relaxing 86 degree enjoyment in any weather. Our Complimentary Continental breakfast provide a wide variety of items to hopefully fit everyone's needs. Guests that want something sweet in the morning with their coffee, we offer a variety of sweet rolls, muffins, breads and six cold cereals that are served with a traditional continental breakfast .
We have extended ours Breakfast to include items such as hard boiled eggs, bananas, oranges, different flavored oatmeal, yogurt, fat free milk, 2% milk are available as well as soy milk .
Our breakfast attendant Pam is great, she keeps everything fully stocked for each guest and is there if a guest is in need of help with their breakfast.
We look forward to you returning and stay again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing