We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Anniversary!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Anniversary!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is an awesome place to stay in Estes. Very clean. Wonderful staff. We got to see elk walk right up into the property!! It was amazing. We will be back soon! The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious.

Room Tip: Reserve the condos with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
April,
Thank you for your review! I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come back again next year for your Anniversary! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    247
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
389
519
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights. We had a very nice room, it was clean. The continental breakfast was great and we enjoyed the indoor pool/hot tub. They also have a large selection of DVDs that can be checked out during the stay. We will come again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isuweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Matt,
Thank you for your review! We enjoyed having you stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the Breakfast, indoor heated pool/hot tub and the FREE DVDs. Thank you for the compliment on our clean rooms, we have an amazing housekeeping staff. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our experience at Murphy's River Lodge was Great. We had checked into another hotel and left a hour in there. We went to the Murphy's River Lodge, not only was the staff and Guest Services awesome, kind and friendly, the rooms were very clean, The beds were comfortable and even had live music . I stay at a lot of Hotels & Lodges and it felt like home here. If you're in Estes Park, I recommend staying here. Thank You!

Green Features: All Products used in my room were Eco friendly products and they had a good recycle bins to keep animals safe.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Mandi,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We want all our guest to feel at home. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy the Free music we had up in the community room Feb 14th & 15th. Cowboy Rodg and Woody did a great job!! We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We received this weekend get away from our son David and his wonderful girlfriend Katelyn for Christmas. It was a much needed escape. We were greeted by a warm and friendly staff, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room as well as the entire property was clean comfortable and well kept. We will recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to get away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Craig and Darlene,
Thank you for your review! That was awesome for David and Katelyn to give you both a much needed getaway for Christmas. Your son must of knew it was time to get Mom and Dad to relax and have some down time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in this very comfortable, but not fancy hotel. The room was clean and roomy, complimentary breakfast was nice, and the location was close to town with shopping and activities. We were given coupons to a couple of local places. It was very relaxing with a mountain winter feel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Cathy,
Thank you for your review! Thank you for stay with us during your trip to Estes Park.
With our location being only 3 blocks from downtown, it is great for walking to all the shops and restaurants in town.
I love the way you described your stay "very relaxing with a mountain winter feel!"
We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to get out of the city for a weekend and decided to make a trip Estes Park as our getaway. When we arrived at Murphy's River Lodge we were welcomed with a warm greeting from the staff - who continued to be very friendly and accommodating our entire stay. Our room was very cozy with the fireplace and little balcony, overlooking the river, where we were able to enjoy our morning coffee in the beautiful surroundings. We were very close to Rocky Mountain National Park where we went snow shoeing, then finished the day with a quick walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner. This charming hotel was the perfect place for our weekend trip to Estes. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Ashley,
Thank you for your review! I am so glad you chose Estes Park and Murphy's River Lodge as your destination for your weekend getaway. The Rocky Mountain Park offers some beautiful spots to snowshoe, I am glad you had the chance to enjoy that during your getaway. Our King river with fireplace is a great room to relax by a fireplace after a day of snowshoeing. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was a great getaway spot for my three young boys and me. We had never been to Estes Park which was great and we were pleased with the the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms at the Lodge. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a quiet spot to rest and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Phillip,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you and your sons enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to be able to get away and relax and make memories. The picture of them in our BIG Murphy's rocking chair is a great way to remember your visit to Estes Park. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing