We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sink in room and little counter space was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I loved the location of this place. It is just on the west side of downtown. It was easy to walk into town for dinner. Our room, Aspen, was in the main building. We had a small balcony with a view of the river. The room was quite large, and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, and the sink was in the room not the bathroom. We hated that. The other problem with the sink was that the countertop was so small, all our toiletries kept falling on the floor. I finally used a coffee mug for our toothbrushes and toothpaste. There was not enough horizontal space for us to put things on. The closet is a make shift space under an eave with no door. That was weird. They have loads of DVDs in the office that you can check out for free to play in your room. All rooms have a player. We ate the breakfast one morning. It was typical fair from the Sysco truck: yogurt, cereal, bananas, bagels, bread, pastry, coffee and juice. It just didn't appeal to me. Would I stay here again? Maybe, maybe not. It was clean and everyone in the office was super friendly, but it is hard to get over the sink situation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank friendofmitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We have four major room types. Our Value rooms, Standard OFF river rooms, River rooms and our King river condos. The room you selected is one of three rooms located above the main office. These rooms are called our VALUE rooms. They are lower priced than our other rooms because of their location and design. All three value rooms located above the office are each unique, but all have vanities are outside the bathroom. Next time your planning a trip to Estes Park we would love to show you one of our Regular rooms both on and off the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

It seems that the lodge has gone through a lot of renovation in the past couple years. Here's the good and the bad:

Good:
- great bed
- quiet
- clean
- great continental breakfast (it was continental for sure, but still really good)

Bad:
- Shower felt a bit outdated, the head was really low.

Really, that was the only bad thing about it. They also had really well kept up and clean:
- Horseshoes
- cornhole
- pool
- rather large kids area

If you're looking for a place that could be home base for you or your family to be at RMNP or just in Estes, this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks for the great review.
We have made lots of improvements.
Please come stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For our 4th stay, we had a wonderful river room. King Bed, big room, sparkling clean---we always come back to Murphy's River Lodge! Estes is just a short drive from home so we have many opportunities to spend a couple of nights there. We found Murphy's a few years ago and love it--and their staff--and Greeter Rudy, too! Easy walk to downtown-no need to find a parking spot. Very close to Rocky Mountain Park. We saw a herd of elk just across the road this last visit! Quiet, peaceful and wonderful people!

Room Tip: We love rooms by the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmax1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It so great to have back for a 4th time.
We are lucky to have such a great staff.
Please come back and enjoy the River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

For the price, you will not be able to find a better hotel so close to downtown. We were able to walk everywhere. The view is amazing - the river is nearby (although it flooded when we were there). We will difinitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If possible, book a room on the second floor. Otherwise, you will hear people above you moving in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_nb171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are so happy you like your time at the River Lodge.
Being close to downtown is definitely a plus. The river may have
been high from the mountain snow melting.
We hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My sweetie and I had an absolutely wonderful 5 day vacation and Murphy's River Lodge was such a freindly and inviting place to stay as we enjoyed the area's attractions. From there it was very easy to get to downtown Estes Park and just a short drive to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. The staff at the lodge were exceptional in every way. Friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Please stay here! You won't be dissapointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SlappyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Wow we are extremely happy you had a great
vacation at our lodge. Thanks for telling everyone to
stay at our lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I found this hotel to be clean and pleasant. The managers and staff were very accommodating and friendly. It is nicely furnished without the silly moose and bear "decor" you tend to find at other area establishments. My only recommendation--get a room on the second floor if you don't mind the walk up. We had a first floor room. When the folks on the second floor kept moving their chairs on the balcony, it was quite noisy. No one at fault here, just how the place was built years ago. But the sound was a bit annoying after a while. Other than that, great place to stay.

Room Tip: Second floor to avoid noisy walking and balcony sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Macbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We also like the fact you had a problem and it was solved
by a move to another room. The river rooms are great.
We love to hear our staff treated you so good they are
great people.
Come stay again at our River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the moment we checked in until we departed the property, anything we needed was provided for us quickly and with a smile. Very clean and orderly room with great king sized bed, great menu @ Continental Breakfast, and very clean swimming pool and hot tub. Even a complimentary picture at the end of our stay to commemorate our anniversary. Stephanie at the front desk was very accommodating. We will go back! Thank you staff!

Room Tip: Great King Bed sleeping arrangement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are glad you had a wonderful stay.
Doug does keep our pool clean, clean, clean.
We are happy you felt so comfortable at our River Lodge.
Our staff is great and we do see them smiling a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing