We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fuquay-Varina, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of four loved staying at Murphy's for three nights on our Southwest US vacation. The room was clean, comfy and plenty roomy. Great location to the entrance to RMNP, while easy walking distance to Estes Park. The staff was very nice and we felt valued. The breakfast room is very homey and well maintained. A great touch is the DVD collection from which you can check out movies for free and the framed picture on the "big chair".

Only gripes are having to lug our bags upstairs and the view of the back of a business and its dumpster. The garbage truck came and banged us awake on one of our three mornings. I'd give 5 stars except for this. Try and get a room that overlooks the stream or at least on the left side (as you face the office) and you're golden.

Room Tip: Get a room on the stream for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It sounds like you had a great vacation in Estes Park. It also sounds like you loved staying at Murphy's River Lodge. We always encourage people to be thoughtful about the the rooms they choose when staying at our lodge. The rooms by the river are generally the ones people really want. To get these rooms you have to pay a little more and also plan ahead because the rooms are booked quickly. We encourage people to ask for help from our staff if getting luggage to the second level is an issue. We are blessed with a staff that is people oriented and they are always willing to help. We will be calling the trash company to let them know about your issue with their pick up time. It could very well be the other businesses trash service but we will definitely take care of this issue. We would encourage anyone and everyone to let our staff know about any issues like this. That's how things get resolved. Our staff as well as us the owners want people to be happy, happy, happy. We want everyones vacation to be full of awesome memories.
We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    255
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
401
534
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Murphy's Resort last year and wanted to stay there again, this year, but they were all booked up for our needs. They suggested their "sister" resort and we were able to get the room we needed. Just like Murphy's Resort, the rooms were very clean and easily accessible. We rented a condo room with the full kitchen. We have 4 kids, so we did bring up a blow up mattress for two to share. The room had a king bed, and a pull out sofa sleeper. It was perfect for us. The room backed up to the river and we loved the sound of the running water. We saw Elk on the bank. The continental breakfast is the same as the other resort, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries, coffee, juice and cereal. The lady that kept the breakfast stocked was very nice. Check in was a breeze and they did get our room ready for our early arrival which was very nice and unexpected. The resort manager, Annette was fun and very likeable. She remembers her guests. The desk gal, Stephanie A.k.a Bethany and any other rhyming name, was always resourceful with recommendations. Well done, Murphy's River lodge. Highly recommend. By the way, they have evening bonfires, on site gas grills and an indoor swimming pool for your enjoyment. You also have the option to visit the amenities of Murphy's Resort across town, to use their outdoor swimming pool, ladder golf, horseshoes, playground, volleyball, tether ball and the such. Fantastic resorts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. Annette is a wonderful manager. We have a great staff
and they give extra efforts to make our guests happy. It sounds like Stephanie was fun to be around. It's great everything fell together for your family. Your experience is important to us and we are happy had a great vacation and fabulous memories. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Thank you Murphy's Lodge Estes Park, CO. Your staff and management made us feel so welcome. You made a reunion with friends so memorable. The room by the river was so pleasant. You had everything we could ask for adult and kid friendly. Perfect location to downtown! The sweet woman who took care of the continental breakfast made our morning! Very pleasant and recommended great places to visit during our stay. We look forward to our next visit and will recommend your facilities to everyone we know visiting your area. Thank you all so much!!! We also enjoy looking at the picture you took of us in the extra large rocking chair... (thanks for providing the frame).

Room Tip: River Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esco261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are glad you discovered Estes Park and especially Murphy's River Lodge. It's a wonderful place to stay to enjoy life, family and friends.
It sounds like our staff helped you enjoy your reunion. Our staff wants to watch and hear about
your vacation unfolding. We are so happy Pam started your day out in such a positive way.
We love to hear our Lodge helped you create wonderful lasting memories.
We hope you stay again, and Thanks one more time for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed with our family of four in the family suite. If you are looking for a river view, this isn't the room for you as it looks out over the road. We are rarely in our room when we travel so this wasn't a concern for us. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. There was a queen sofa sleeper, bunk beds, a king bed, small refrigerator as well as a dinette table for four. The continental breakfast was a nice perk as well. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room if this is important for you and the 2nd floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbfamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We want each part of your vacation experience to be positive. Our staff works very hard at keeping things clean and making the guests stay be smooth and fun. They are very friendly and love the work they do. We are truly blessed having them work for us. Because we know there of multiple needs for people on vacation we have created various types of rooms. For those who want to stay in a bigger room to perhaps play board games at the dinette table,that would be the room you stayed in. There are more beds available in that room so everyone can have their own sleeping space. For some that's important, for others they would rather be by the river or even choose a lower condo so they can cook a meal on our full sized stove. There are so many variations and locations of rooms it is important to ask. We want everyone to have the perfect room match. We are glad you stayed at the Lodge and Thank You so much for the review. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The family and I stayed for three nights. I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It had a mini fridge and freezer and a microwave. Room was clean and ample room for all our suitcases. The bathroom was small but worked out fine.
Daughter loved the pool especially the 9 ft deep area. I even liked it especially since eyes didn't burn from chemicals the minute you walked into the pool area.
There are grills to use and a firepit. The office does have matches and grill utensils such as tongs and turner for your use. They also have dvds that you can checkout which was nice.
Location was great. Walk to all downtown shops and 5 minutes to the Fall River RMNP entrance.
The breakfast offerings I was very happy with. Great selection and not at all what I was expecting which was subpar food and little of it. Daughter loved the cinnamon danishes. They had yogurt, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, bread, English muffins, pastries, fruit, cereal, oj and milk and coffee of course. Bring your own water though which you should have plenty of anyway being in the elevation.
Last thing, I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kimmers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We always want appreciation. Thank you for seeing and mentioning the great things
going on at our hotel. We are glad it was such a positive experience for you and
your family. Doug takes care of our pool. He has it down to a fine art.
It sounds like you guys had some great relaxing fun and will have some great family memories.
We are glad you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel.
Thank you for the review and we hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this property from July 5 through July 11, 2014. It came highly recommended and for the most part we were not disappointed. The only complaint we had, and this was minor considering the wonderful climate at 7500 feet, was that the AC unit was somewhat undersized for the nice large room we had. The king bed, lower floor room was spacious and comfortable. Immediately outside the back door was a small deck with table and chairs. 10 feet further on, the Fall River flowed right by our unit. At night you can open the windows and listen to the river flow lull you to sleep. I would recommend the lower units for this reason alone! The bath was conveniently outfitted with soap dispenser at sink as well as shampoo dispenser in shower. We do wish that the water pressure and temperature regulation of the shower was more uniform. Once, the temperature changed to ice-cold for 15 seconds or so! Brrr! I imagine the water heater is somewhat undersized for the number of rooms that it served. The breakfast included in the room rate was very nice. No hot items, but otherwise well stocked with a variety of bagels, English muffins, pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, milk, yogurt and juice. The coffee was not fresh brewed but they used an instant dispenser. Location is extremely convenient at the west end of the downtown area. You can walk to any of the downtown shops and restaurants in 10 minutes or less but there is also a convenient shuttle that has a stop right at the lodge. Additionally, a five minute drive takes you to the Estes Park entrance to Rocky Mt, National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are so happy you had a great experience at our lodge. Oh, yes the location is
awesome. The river is so beautiful and the sound of it is relaxing and peaceful. It is
true the short walk to downtown is a positive. We are not sure why your water turned cold so
fast. The only thing we can think of is that many people took showers at once. We have had
boilers replaced because of the flood last year. It may have been one of those flukes. We will be sure and have our managers check on this. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast, unfortunately we cannot offer a hot breakfast because of Colorado State Laws. As and owner I love coffee, so much tasting went on when we chose the coffee Because of the volume of coffee drank, we chose that dispenser, but to me it tastes fresh brewed. We wanted the best of both worlds good taste and ease for our staff. We will check on the AC because that's important to keep the room cool. Thank you for the review and we hope you stay again. It's exciting to be by the river and have a wonderful vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park and it was wonderful. I was worried because it was more than we normally spend on a room but we did not get a vacation last year and so I splurged this year. It was totally worth it! Our room was right on the river with a deck we could sit on and enjoy it every day. I had chosen a lower level room and I'm glad I did. We could walk off our deck right up to the river and we had a huge elk outside our room one morning and evening! The bed was comfortable, there was a fireplace, kitchen, flat screen tv it was great. I know people expect some cons in a review so I will stretch and say the bathroom is small but the room so makes up for it you don't really notice. If there was anything the room needed to add it would be a couple of foldout luggage racks. The owners were so nice, I cannot say enough good things about this place and we will definitely stay here again. The owners say they have another property across town by a lake , how would I choose?!

Room Tip: The lower level you can walk out your door and be right at the rivers edge. We never heard any noise...
See more room tips
Green Features: They asked you to put a note on your door when you needed cleaning or towels ect. We were there 3 nights and only had housekeeping and towels once.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcblues2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We love when we get compliments, it is music to our ears.
The greatest gift to us is to hear about your positive experience.
The river does give a feeling of peace and serenity. We do
have luggage racks, we wonder where yours was, we will check it
out for sure. Next time you want to create an awesome vacation we
hope you stay at Murphy's Lodge again. Thank you so much for
the positive and wonderful compliments. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing