We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiking the RMNP, Second stay at Murphy's! Awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hiking the RMNP, Second stay at Murphy's! Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is our second stay at Murphy's and again, we were impressed with the people, the service and area. We will stay here again. We love the Rocky Mountains for hiking and inspiration. Being able to have a safe and quiet night's rest allowed us to keep hiking. The breakfast is great and so are the bear stories!

Room Tip: River views are available but all rooms have windows which open for fresh mountain air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CClark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are so happy you stayed a second time. We are glad our staff treated you so well.
They are awesome and caring people. It sounds like you got to hang out in the breakfast/
community room and hear stories. That makes a vacation fun. Now you have some stories
to tell the people at home, bear stories. Estes Park is a wonderful mountain town and Murphy's River Lodge is the place to stay. We hope you stay at our Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    251
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
392
528
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Murphy's River Lodge and loved the accommodations and location. We came in on 8/7/14 through a lot of road construction with some of the main roads closed. The entire area is beautiful, so that was a miner delay. We planned to pick our son up in Denver the next morning to join us and the road closure actually allowed us to see more of the other beautiful areas near the lodge. We had a river king room that had a king bed, kitchen and pull out sofa. More than enough room for my adult son and my husband and I. The bathroom was small but clean and nice. Everything in the kitchen worked and was clean. The location of the room was excellent right on the curve of the river with a nice deck. Very close to the entrance of Rocky National Park. I think maybe 5 minutes or so. Walking distance to downtown Estes Park for shopping and dining. Didn't care for the breakfast selection, just basic cereal and sweet rolls. Free WIFI was good and the staff was friendly. They have an extra large rocking chair where they take your picture before leaving and give it to you in a frame. Nice little extra to remember your stay. No phones in the room and no one at front desk in the evening. This added just for info as neither of these bothered us. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the river are nice. We were about 2 or 3 rooms from the street at the curve of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler29TT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are happy you were able to stay at our Lodge. Yes there has been road construction because of the flood in 2013. It appears that the roads will be completed soon. Like you said the beauty of the mountains is still outstanding. The mountain beauty is amazing. It's a peaceful feeling.
We are glad you could connect with your son. Murphy's River Lodge is a great place to create family connections and memories. We are grateful for our location, by the river and close to downtown and the Rocky Mountain Park entrance. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

a clean, updated, comfortable place to stay. Our room had a little porch that overlooked a rushing river and the mountains where we could sit out and enjoyr morning coffee.. There was a wonderful upstairs room where you could enjoy a healthy breakfast while sitting outdoors with a view of the mountains and river or indoors in a spacious woodsy room. Murphy's also has an attractive indoor pool and the cheerful staff offered to take our picture at their created rocking chair photo op site.. The location is great

Room Tip: room 109 overlooks the river
See more room tips
Green Features: the breakfast area was very recycle friendly and the room had easy to open windows to let in a cool breeze
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for the review. You did an awesome job describing our Lodge.
It's just an awesome feeling to sit and enjoy the mountains and the river.
We are very fortunate to have a great location. We are happy our staff
did such a great job. We hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The place has a great setting in the mountains and a short walk from to the Estes Lake River trail that leads to downtown. The rooms have been restored nicely and are clean with nice beds, furniture, and a flat screen TV. We stayed with our dogs in one of their dog friendly rooms and had a great time. We would certainly go back. Nothing fancy, but well done and nice family-freindly amenities in a good location.

Room Tip: Several rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straightup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review. It is true we have a great location, close to downtown Estes Park.
We are right next to the river, that's a huge plus. Many love to stay at our Lodge because it's close
to the Rocky Mountain National Park entrance. We at Murphy's River Lodge would love to have you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This place has it all. Very clean and well cared for.
We stayed for 6 days and there was plenty to do.
This lodge is just 4 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park which is a must see. So majestic.
The river runs just behind the lodge. The managers, Doug and Annette were very attentive and helpful. We had a first floor king room that was just off the river. Our patio was great. Just open the gate and your on the bank of the river. If you leave the window open at night the rumbling of the waters lulls you to sleep.
We went horseback riding at the stable that is a few miles down 34 toward the park. It was amazing!
We also walked into town on the river walk that runs behind the lodge and it was beautiful. in just 5 minutes we were in town where there are lots of great shops and restaurants.
We also rode the aerial tram: http://estestram.com/ which was amazing. It was a little scary at first but well worth the $12 price of admission. Make sure you bring some food for the chipmunks when you get to the top. They are all over and will come very close if you have food for them.
We will be going back to this lodge very soon. Loved it!
.

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor near the river. It was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbieharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful vacation with us. That is what we like to
hear, people having a fun and fantastic vacation. We are glad our
managers Doug and Annette were great hosts. Thank you
for the compliments about our Lodge. It will be great for
you to stay at Murphy's River Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Murphy's offers the best of two worlds: close to town but adjacent to the cooling Fall River. A quite, peaceful setting. Grills, picnic tables, chairs, swings, and a fire pit make for great family gatherings. We have stayed at Murphy's for the past three years and have reservations for next year. The staff is friendly and the managers are very competent, nice people. The rooms and the grounds are extremely well maintained. Looking forward to being there next June!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
It is wonderful, wonderful, wonderful to hear how much you love Murphy's River Lodge.
Our location is the greatest. The best part is that you feel at home at our Lodge. We really
want people to have great memories. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed seven nights in Murphy's River Lodge, about a five minute walk from the multitude of shops, a wide range of very good restaurants, hamburger joints, ice cream parlors, bars, art galleries, liquor stores, a large Safeway grocery, etc. in the pristine clean little mountain town of Estes Park. We chanced on this Murphy's after finding it on the Internet. And we saved quite a bit phoning the hotel directly instead of making the reservation on the Internet. You never know, but it's worth a phone call to check out the rates.

We took a first-floor suite with a balcony on the edge of a clear, cold-water mountain stream that runs on through town. The suite included a king-size bed, comfortable lounge room with fireplace, fully-equipped kitchen (though we only used the fridge for keeping snacks and wine and the coffee maker). It was spacious and comfortable, with a flat-screen TV, DVD player (with a big selection of free movies in the office) and free WiFi. It was relaxing sitting on the balcony listening to the stream tumble over the rock while enjoying a drink in the evening and checking your e-mail. Try it. You'll like it.

The only little complaint we might have is that only Duraflame or other faux wood logs can be burned in the fireplace because of the risk of coals popping onto the carpet and the drudgery of cleaning up after wood fires. I'd be happy to pay an extra $5 a day to burn real logs in the fireplace.

This was the lodge's largest room and went for $1,330 for the seven nights, including $126 dollars in taxes. The rate included an adequate continental breakfast. If you stay seven nights, the last one is free. There was no noise, and everyone was relaxed and friendly. We plan to return next year at about the same time, making reservations early enough to get the same suite again. We didn't see inside the other rooms, so I don't know how they are, but I'm sure they're adequate..

The lodge and the town are a couple of miles from a main entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, a magnificent place for hiking and photography or just slow drive up to Continental Divide. Though we didn't hike this time, we have hiked almost all the popular day trails in the park during past visits (when we stayed at the nearby YMCA Camp with our grandsons several years ago).

Estes Park itself can be quite crowded with tourists like us during the summer, but we were there this year from Aug. 10-17, so most of the tourists had gone home to get the kids ready for school. The restaurants in the town are really good and reasonable. Mama Rosa's is great for Italian. Casa Granda serves up a superb menu of excellent Mexican food. Claire's has the largest and most diversified menu in town, and everything from the baby-back ribs to hamburgers and the fish is first rate, not to mention a wonderful and hardy breakfast before you head up into the mountains. The salmon isn't Boston-grade, but I enjoyed it along with an ample serving of vegetables cooked to perfection (not overly done). Service in all the restaurant was professional and friendly.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms along the little river are the best and include a fireplace in the lounge room...
See more room tips
Green Features: The grounds are well kept, and the guest breakfast room does segregate paper, etc. for recycling. Plenty of parking.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It's great you loved Murphy's River Lodge. The location on the river is so peaceful and relaxing.
It sounds like it was a great foundation for a lovely, fun vacation. That's exactly what we like to
hear, that Murphy's was part of very good vacation memories. We are glad our staff made your stay comfortable and relaxing. It is wonderful to sit and listen to the river. Thanks for the review and we are excited to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing