We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Been staying up here at Murphy's Resort helping to fix the highway that got damaged by the flood. From day one the staff at Murphy's Resort have really taken good care of us. Anything at all they can do to make my stay more enjoyable, they have done. The rooms are really nice as well. The beds are very comfortable. There is always a smiling face in the office, which is nice after a long day of working. A lot of extra's, free DVD rentals, fitness room, breakfast with more choices than just your regular continental breakfast, huge indoor hot tub (very nice!). Looking forward to bring my family back to Estes Park and we will definitely be staying at Murphy's Resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat m, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Chester, thank you , so glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope you do return with your family, we look forward to meeting your family. We appreciate all the work Kiewit has done to repair our roads. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    156
    44
    12
    2
See reviews for
374
287
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I were very excited for the opportunity to visit Estes Park after the highway had been re-opened. The day after Thanksgiving seemed like the perfect time as the town of Estes Park was hosting their annual "Catch the Glow" parade. A friend strongly recommended that we check out Murphy's Resort, so we booked a room. When we checked in, I immediately got the feeling that we would be treated like family. The staff had been expecting us and offered that we inform them if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. The manager reminded me of their continental breakfast served in the morning, which I might add that I took full advantage of. The room was very cozy and we were surrounded by breathtaking views of Lake Estes and Rocky Mountain National Park. As we were preparing to leave the next morning, I asked for some advice on some local hiking trails. The manager immediately pulled out a map and went above and beyond to help us find the perfect hike! If you ever plan to visit Estes Park, Muphy's Resort should be a part of your experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you will return. good luck with the little one on when he/she arrives. I hope you have a very nice Christmas! Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked a room for three nights at Murphy's Resort. After the first night I developed altitude sickness. The staff made me an appointment with an oxygen bar to see if the oxygen therapy would take care of the altitude sickness. It only worked for a short time. As the hours passed I wasn't getting any better and I knew I would have to go to a lower elevation to correct the problem. I was somewhat concerned because I was traveling alone and if I became much worse then driving down the mountain could become a problem. The next closest town at a lower elevation was 15 of 20 miles away. The manager was concerned about my condition and not only offered to book me a room in the other town but volunteered to drive me down the mountain! I was able to make it on my own. I stayed at a lower elevation for two days. Then I called Murphy's to see if my other two days were still available. This would have been the Friday and Saturday nights of the Scottish Irish Highlands Festival which is a big event in Estes Park. They let me have my room for those two days at the same rate as I was paying earlier in the week. They could have easily rented the rooms for a higher rate to someone else but didn't.

The motel was recently renovated with new beds, furniture, bathrooms, etc. Complete interior makeover.

This is the kind of service and concern that is difficult to come by in any business and especially the hotel business. The staff at Murphy's WILL go beyond what is expected to take care of their guests. The next time I am in Estes Park I will definitely stay at Murphy's Resort. I highly recommend them.

Room Tip: My room was over looking the lake where the Scottish Irish Highland Festival was being held.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
John, so great to hear from you! I do hope all is well and it was the altitude? We were really concerned. If you ever do return to visit Estes Park we would love to have you! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My boyfriend (now fiancé!) and I stayed here the weekend we got engaged in Estes Park. The secret stay was a part of his proposal plan - so after he popped the question, he told me we were checking into a new resort down the road instead of staying another night in the motel we had been at. I couldn't have been more excited! The resort staff was so sweet and accommodating. Our room was wonderful - clean, well kept, and huge! We had our own spa tub, king-sized bed, full sized kitchen, and fireplace! Although we were only there for a night and didn't really use all the amenities - this type of resort would be perfect for a small family or couple staying for a few days or more. It's centrally located to all the fun things that Estes provides. There was a nice patio to use if the weather was nice - and there was a playground and public area if you had a bigger group. This place would be perfect for a family reunion. All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone - whether you're staying 1 night or a week. We'll definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Congratulations! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Your absolutely right it would be a great place for a family reunion, large or small! We hope perhaps on your 1 year anniversary you consider returning. Thank you so much for staying with us, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at Murphy's during the floods in September. We also had trouble with our hire car which had to be replaced whilst at Murphy's . The staff were incredibly helpful,very patient, generous with their time and unfailingly polite during what must have been a very difficult time for them. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff worked hard to make sure that rooms were not flooded. Advice was given freely, the wifi worked during the whole time we were there( I understand that this was a real problem elsewhere) and staff were happy to phone the our car rental company as our cell phone was not working. The location is good and the scenery promised to be stunning. We shall definitely be making a return trip ( from England)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We appreciate your kind words. It was very nice meeting you both.
Improvements have been ongoing and it is wonderful to see the changes such as 36 is now open and very easy to travel. Car issues are never fun, I hope despite that you still enjoyed your time in Estes Park. We do hope you will have the chance to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Really enjoyed the Resort and all the wonderful mountain views, Lake Estes location and the great staff that Bruce, Loretta, Melissa, Jessica and Co. provided. Have stayed at the sister property, Murphy's River Lodge, which we also enjoyed downtown so it was nice to enjoy their new Resort location as well. Two fine eating establishments next door (Resort provided discount coupons also) a liquor store and quick access to downtown was appreciated. All new bedding, fridge, microwave, flatscreen TV's, workout room and WIFI made this an awesome choice of comfort and convenience for all of us. Thanks for making our stay so great. We will definitely be back and also refer our friends. Thanks!!

Room Tip: The South Side rooms look directly out on Lake Estes. Their was also a herd of Elk (one set of twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barracuda43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, General Manager at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for your compliments, we appreciate it very much. Our house keepers our fabulous! Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Murphy's Resort in September this year for three nights just after the Colorado floods. The room was beautifully clean, extremely comfortable beds and very friendly and helpful staff. The location is great with only a short drive to the Rocky Mountain National Park and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. If you are lucky as we were, a herd of elk took up residence in the grounds for a short while. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demeterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We love it when we hear our rooms are extra clean and comfortable.
Estes Park is amazing and we are lucky our location is close to town
and that our views are spectacular. Many love seeing the elk and
the elk always seem to mosey through and around our property.
The elk love Murphy's Resort too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel
Murphy's Resort At Estes Park CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing