We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in this resort. We stayed about a year ago soon after the current owners bought the place. They had begun renovating the rooms and wow what a difference. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very very clean. Not surprised about this as we have stayed at the sister resort Murphy's River Lodge a number of times and have always had a great experience. The resort is in a perfect location right in town but has awesome views of the mountains in the distance and the lake just next door. I thought the price we paid was very reasonable especially considering it was high season. I noticed that the parking lot was pretty much full when we we were there. One of the best thing about both Murphy's Resort and Murphy's River lodge is how friendly the staff is. Loretta and Bruce are awesome! I highly recommend that someone stay at this resort next time they are in Estes Park!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We
are glad our managers, Loretta and Bruce welcomed you.
Our staff members are great hosts.
We are sure the majestic mountain views helped you
feel relaxed and invigorated.
We would love to have you stay at our Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed three nights with our two young children (3 and under) in a two room jacuzzi suite. The rooms/beds were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good and refreshed throughout the morning. It was nice to have the microwave and fridge in the room; between that and the grills on site we were able to pack lunches each day for a picnic and grill food for dinner in the evenings. The grounds were nice with many tables scattered around, lawn games, nice heated pool (with small unheated kiddie pool) and hot tub, fire pit, and playground ( a favorite of my family). The staff that we met were all nice and helpful, even the cleaning staff :) I wasn't sure looking at the pictures when I booked but I think it's just that the rooms could use better lighting....because they were fine :)

Few minute drive to store, restaurants, downtown, RMNP!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emhrnbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Exactly what we wanted to hear, a Young Family having fun.
We hope you have lasting memories from your stay with us.
We are glad your children had a great time. Our staff including the
cleaning staff are awesome. We appreciate them so much.
Our Resort does have older buildings and we have remodeled
the rooms. We have added modern conveniences. We continue to
make modifications and improvements. We would love
to have you stay at the Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently had a 7-night stay here with my wife and 3 kids (6, 4, and 1). This was one of our favorite places we ever stayed at. The resort is on the east end of town, only a few minutes from Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park and right next to the marina. We could go hiking all morning, then come back and the kids would play tetherball, or play in the playset, or enjoy any of the enormous range of activities they have. My 6-year old loved playing beanbag toss with me. They also have shuffleboard, horseshoes, ladder ball, and lots of other stuff available. One of our favorite things was going the the farmers market (open every Thursday morning) and then bringing our food back and grilling it that night on one of their numerous grills.

The hot spa and pool were godsends after hiking all day - the facilities were always clean and never too crowded. I think we swam pretty much every night they liked it so much - and the spa is indoors so even when it was raining we could enjoy it! All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day! Friendly tip: they put snacks for the kids in the drawer under the coffee that they can grab after eating. Also, there's a Safeway right down the road for anything you need.

The room was great as well. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite with a tv and dvd player in each room. Brought some dvds for the kids and that helped keep the kids quiet and in their own room at night, which helped us enjoy out vacation all the more. The jacuzzi tub was also a wonderful way to relax.

All in all, one of the most pleasant places we've stayed at with our family. Great views of the rockies, good rooms, and a plethora of activities. I can't speak to how nice it would be for a couple, but for families I haven't seen anything like it!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite great for families - rooms in the east side are right across from the hot spa for ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so happy you had a wonderful vacation.
The hiking and the fun things you did sound amazing, and then the
Resort offered fun on sight. We are so happy you had
a great time and we would love for you to come back!
We are glad you had great family fun time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Murphy's resort. Lovely pool and hot tub, clean updated rooms, good location. We have no children, but enjoyed watching families playing games together - horseshoes, beanbag games, etc. Bar-B-Q's available, and plenty of tables for everyone. Very friendly helpful office staff too.

Room Tip: We had a lake view - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank barb3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We are very happy you liked our Resort with all the activities.
It is exciting to hear you noticed all the things to do and that
it was enjoyable to see all the people as well as families participating.
We are very happy our staff was awesome.
It seems our vision is coming true we keep adding to, changing and improving our
Resort. Please come stay with us again and thanks for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here July 9th 2014 as a passing through evening,on our Harley's,getting the view of the beautiful Rocky Mountains.They very kindly welcomed us and more than acomadated us with great rates, side by side rooms, walking distance restaurants, laundry, games for the family, grills, and the most beautiful view! Above ALL, THE ROOMS WERE SO VERY CLEAN:)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Alee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are so happy you felt welcome at our Resort.
It does sound like you had a fabulous time.
We like to hear you saw our rooms clean.
Our staff works at keeping everything clean and comfortable.
Thank you for all the positives.
We hope you drop in and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I gave it four stars overall, but this is a mixed review. We were there as a family reunion over the forth of July. Overall everyone enjoyed themselves and had a good time. The place was big enough to accommodate our large group, but small enough for us to easily find each other and get together.

Pros:
Very friendly staff
Very accommodating to our large group
Convenient location
Relatively affordable
Pool and activities
Beds were clean and comfortable

Cons:
We had one of their more expensive rooms, but the flooring and decor were cheap.
We had a gas leak in the fireplace.
We found a roach in the bathroom when packing to leave (good thing my daughter did not see this).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Squeakerandkiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysmrlandmr, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

It appears that your overall experience was a good one. We are glad you enjoyed your stay ! I just wanted to your comment about seeing a roach in the bathroom. In Colorado their are many different Beetles that might appear to look like a Roach. I believe that is what you might have seen. We take a great deal of pride in our rooms and we have never had a house keeper or a guest see a Roach at our property. In fact we have a contract with a extermination company that provides regular spraying to keep out bugs. I did call our serviceman that does the extermination for all of Estes Park and he informed me that he has never even seen any Roaches in Estes Park. Please come back and stay with us again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were late booking reservations for the 4th of July and we lucked out finding Murphy's. Staff was so helpful and the rooms and grounds were extremely clean! Lots of activities onsite to do and Lake Estes in the back yard. The free breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are so happy you could be at Murphy's Resort for 4th of July. You are lucky to get a room because we were sold out. Our location by Lake Estes makes 4th of July a great place to be.
Please join us again for any holiday or just a few days of vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
851 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £67 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel
Murphy's Resort At Estes Park CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing