We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After three nights in standard hotel rooms, it was a pleasure to arrive here and have a little space to spread out. Our unit had one bedroom with a king bed, a queen in the main area, a kitchenette with table and chairs, and a patio with a grill. After a long day of hiking in RMNP, we enjoyed a dip in the hotel’s outdoor pool, and appreciated taking a break from dining out each night of our trip by grilling on the patio. The vanity area outside the bathroom made it easier for us to get ready each morning. We also took full advantage of the complementary breakfast: Yogurt, cereal, hardboiled eggs, bagels, muffins, instant oatmeal, bananas, as well as coffee and juice. The breakfast room is light-filled and comfortable. Everything was clean, and maid service timely. There were always plenty of towels in the room and at the pool.

Murphy’s is surrounded by tranquil mountain scenery, and is a great place to relax and enjoy the views. It’s a short walk to Lake Estes marina and a four-mile paved track that circles the lake, and a quick drive to grocery, restaurants and town. It has neatly maintained grounds with a central barbeque/picnic area, playground, tether ball and shuffleboard. I just wish we'd been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so happy you had a absolutely positive time at our Resort. Everything you said is true.
Just the fact our hotel is spread out gives people space yet they can be around others too.
We have been creating and creating an awesome Resort that is getting better and better. It's a great feeling to drive up and see the mountains and say ahhhhh the mountains. It's also amazing what our staff does to keep everyone happy. They work diligently to keep everything clean and neat. We hope you stay again because Good Things are Going on at Murphy's Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    157
    44
    12
    2
See reviews for
374
288
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Another successful trip to Estes is in the books. We chose to stay at Murphy's Resort for the second time because we were so pleased the first time. Well, with the renovations almost complete, the resort was even better than the first time we visited! The pool is great: large, lots of comfy seating, umbrella tables, indoor hot tub, kiddie pool, and nice outdoor carpet surrounding the pool to help prevent slipping. There is a small playground on site, complete with slide, swings, and even a tire swing. There are tons of outdoor games as well: cornhole/bean bag toss, horseshoes, shuffle board, tetherball (yep, tetherball), and more. Right next to all these amenities is a nice bbq area with several gas grills and tables; even a fire pit so don't forget the smores! The staff is super friendly and always helpful. This resort is extremely family friendly and a quick, easy (2 minute) drive to all the shopping. Couldn't ask for a better Estes family resort!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for letting us know you love our Resort. We have indeed been working at improving our Resort. We have been creating a place for people to come play or relax.
We have lots of leisure activities within reach. Our dream of creating a fun vacation spot is coming true. The Resort will keep evolving because one thing leads to another and our creativity triggers another projects that are aimed at putting together a relaxing, entertaining and exciting vacation place. Please stay with us again so you can check out the transformation going on at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

it was better than I expected when I pulled up. I'm not when to stay in a hotel with doors on the outside but most of the hotels in the area are that way. They had people working on the property all day long and it really was clean and a perfect place to stay with kids. We would definitely stay here again the location was great the price is right the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We accidentally left a picture in the room when we checked out they called us to let us know and mailed it back to us I thought that was very awesome. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are very happy you stayed at our Resort. We feel very fortunate that our hotel has 6 acres of land. Our buildings, pool and grassy areas span across the land. We are able to have all kinds of games and a playground too. It's true we have outside doors to each room. That was typical when our hotel was built. It's very much a plus for our Resort. It helps create a sensational feeling. One way to describe it is, you step out of your room, smell the fresh clean mountain air, you look towards the horizon and I see majestic mountains, a lake, and maybe some elk, then you can just stand and look in awe at the mountains again and again and again. We hope you come stay again. We will be adding more fun things to do for both kids and adults.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

At check-in we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff member. Stayed 2 nights. Room had been renovated and was very clean. Additional toiletries we a nice gesture. Bed was new and comfortable but with a plastic wrap it was like sleeping in a furnace. Breakfast was included which is always a bonus when on a long trip. We had some water pipe noise the first night which kept us awake but was attended to by the staff, however the manager refunded one nights accom rates to compensate for our inconvenience. Not expected but appreciated. Hotel is situated on a main road but there was no noise from it at all. the setting is beautiful, near the river with mountains all around and a 5 min drive into the town of Estes Park - a quaint, pretty town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellevue03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
It looks like to us our staff treated you extremely well. To refund you for pipe noise was over the top. Our hotel is awesome we are on 6 acres and have so much fun stuff to do right on sight. We have been updating for just a little over a year. Estes Park is a very unique town in the mountains. There our many historical buildings including ours. We want to keep the old but update with some new. Many come from all over our country as well as the world to see the Rocky Mountains. Our hotel has 360 degree views of the majestic natural beautiful mountains. We are also near Lake Estes. We pride ourselves in having new mattresses, flat screen TVs, Wifi, microwaves, small refrigerators, dvd players, and more. Our house keepers are pros at keeping our Resort clean, clean, clean. We do have mattress protectors, we chose to have top of the line protectors, they are not plastic. They do protect our mattresses. This really helps our staff keep our hotel clean, clean, clean. Our manager Loretta, listened to your issues and had our maintenance staff correct it right away. We have owned the hotel for about 15 months and we have an occasional glitch. It's amazing what our staff has done in just a short time. Great job Murphy's Resort Staff!! We hope you stay again because good things are going on at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I meant to write this review a while ago but decided to wait because I wanted to compare it with a stay at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells WI, RIO Jamaica. I kept tabs on everything we Adults liked/disliked and the same with our children (6 ranging from age 5 to age 21). They ended in this order starting with the Best :) to Worst:(.
1). Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2). RIO Grande Jamaica
3). Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells

Murphy's was hands down the best darn stay of the year. Everything was perfect. My wife is somewhat of a germ freak and will point out everything. Not a world of negative from her. The Management Team of Hetke and Hetke (Bruce & Loretta) are without a doubt the two hardest workers I've encountered. They run a tight ship and it shows. They treat guest with the utmost of respect ( But that's expected ). What I was impressed about was how they treated staff. One would think everyone was family. On our week long stay in June I personally witnessed two separate incidents where neither Bruce or Loretta knew I was there able to see and hear interaction with staff. On each occasion I walked away saying to myself "boy I wish my boss was as motivating and positive as they are". I applaud both of them. They both have true talent.

The pool and hot tub were clean, well kept, relaxing and the kids loved it swimming for hours each day. Our room was so comfortable, the best nights sleep in those awesome beds. Love them love them.

The kids never said were bored. From swimming, to tether ball, shuffle board, fishing, running trails, Rocky Mountains, and down town Estes. A special treat was roasting marshmallows and listening to Bruce's stories. Every one of the kids want to go back....so do we. And we will:)))).

The RIO in Jamaica was okay. The staff was not very friendly at times and the beds downright suck. the RIO should hire Team Hetke. They would turn this place around.

The Kalahari will NOT see me again. Nothing good to say:( Over priced, rude staff, pushy management that yelled at staff in front of guest, so so beds. Bring things up to staff and management is only a lose of your time with nothing done to correct things. Maybe some management training from Team Hetke but not sure if anyone could turn this resort into a place I would want to go back to.

If your looking for the place to go book your stay at Murphy's Resort Estes Park Colorado and you will not be disappointed. Thank You so much Bruce, Loretta, and your entire staff for the best darn vacation of the year. We WILL be back:))))

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome, great review. It makes us want to cry with happiness.
Hetke and Hetke are the most awesome managers. We do have a staff that is like a family. They are remarkable.
We are super happy your family loved our Resort and want you to come back. It's exactly what we want to be able to do, Help families Create a wonderful momentous vacation. We want people to have great memories. Our Resort as made huge transformations in the last year. With the teamwork of our staff we have emerged into a fun, friendly, relaxing spot for a vacation. It's only going to get better, so we do hope you are able to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois farm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I and our 12 year old came to Murphy's Resort and took advantage of the 7th night for free offer here. The place is not new but is well kept and well attended by the staff. The pool and hot tub were very clean. The room was comfortable and had a microwave and fridge. We had a king lakeview and the view was great. We walked around the lake on a couple of occasions and that was a real treat for us. My daughter loves to swing and we were glad to have a playground with great swings. There are indoor and outdoor games and loads of DVDs for a rainy day. The food was good and the snacks were appreciated. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again. My only glitch was that when we tried to use the microwave, we would have to unplug the fridge because it would overload the circuit.

Room Tip: lakeview rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freysfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for staying at the big wonderful world at Murphy's Resort. It's true our hotel is older and we are very fortunate because is is spread out over 6 acres of land (with majestic mountain views). We have been updating and mixing the old with the new. We love to hear about families having fun at our Resort. We are making continual improvements to our Resort. When we know about a glitch we fix it. Somethings really matter to us and one of biggest ones on our list is for families to have a place to create awesome family memories. We would love to have you stay again and create even more memories. Good things are going on at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As usual the staff and property at Murphy's Resort were fabulous. The games and pool are such a great time. We love for the children to be able to play at the playground as well as laying in the hammock... Bruce and Loretta are super nice and always take time to visit with my small children. They look forward to eating a snack from the drawer as well... Thanks...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygirl265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are very happy you had a fun weekend at Murphy's Resort.
It sounds like you had a fun relaxing time and the kids stayed busy
playing. We hope you stay many more weekends. Thank you so
much for the review. We have plans to add more fun things so
come back and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel
Murphy's Resort At Estes Park CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing