We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try really hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They try really hard”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I must say that the staff really does all it can to make guests feel welcome. While the accommodations are not 5-Star they are good for a comfortable night's sleep. The stand out here is the staff attitude. That is 5-Star!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are delighted our staff is awesome. They keep the Resort in tip top shape. Their approach is to make everyones vacation a good one. They want to connect with everyone. They want everyone to enjoy and have the best possible experience. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. Their hard work and dedication does make a difference. We hope you stay at our Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    173
    45
    13
    3
See reviews for
396
298
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just spent a week at Murphy's Resort and it was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had. Yes, the property does look older from the exterior, because it is an older hotel. This is not a brand new Hampton Inn, and I was thankful for that. This place has charm, and a staff that will do ANYTHING to make your stay better. I cannot count the number of times a staff member approached us asking if there was anything we needed. There was always a flutter of activity, keeping things clean, making repairs, building new constructions, and all the other things that keep this resort looking great. There was never anything left out of place for more than a few moments before someone was on it. You can tell that these people take a lot of pride in their hotel, and love what they do. When we return to Estes Park, we will not even consider staying at another place. This one is just perfect!

Rooms: Very specious and well equipped. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, TVs in every bedroom with cable and DVD players, hairdryers, soap and shampoo dispensers, sofa, and outdoor patio furniture in front of every room. Housekeeping was fast and very thorough. Nothing was ever overlooked.

Breakfast: The continental breakfast was really good. They offer coffee, tea, apple cider, a variety of milks, yogurt, boiled eggs, apple and orange juice, cereals, oatmeal, a variety of delicious breads, muffins, bagels, english muffins, and danishes. It was a perfect light meal before an early morning hike.

Pool: The pool and indoor hot tub were always immaculate. Towels are provided at the pool area. The pool patio furniture was in great repair and looked amazing. This is by far the nicest maintenance job I have ever seen at a hotel pool.

Activities: This is where Murphy's really shined. Like most people, we spent our days up in the mountains hiking, 4 wheeling, and generally just enjoying the scenery. Evenings can be a bit boring on these kind of trips, but not at Murphy's. The offer so many activities it is difficult to remember them all. They have a variety of outside games you can check out including horseshoes, tetherball, ladder ball, ping pong, disc golf, shuffle board, croquet, and bocce. All of these games have designated areas for play that are built to exact specifications for the game. They even have a regulation bocce ball pit! There are also many BBQ grills and picnic tables available. They have some bikes for guest use, but there were not yet available during our stay. If you are tired from your day's activity and want to kick back and relax, they have a number of board games in the breakfast room, a book exchange, and a TON of DVDs that can be checked out. They were not old DVDs either, but included many new releases. They also have a lot of little touches, like having hummingbird feeders outside some of the rooms.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are perfect for families. If noise is an issue, ask for a room away from the maintena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROTJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Your positive comments sound familiar and we are happy to hear them again. The greatest gift to us is to hear about a positive experiences. It's great you mentioned the variety of activities available at Murphy's Resort. We want people to have a great place to stay with fun filled activities.
We love that Murphy's Resort helped you create a vacation with fantastic memories. We hope you visit again and stay at Murphy's Resort. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The managers and staff were fantastic to my wife and I when we stayed at Murphys Resort. They took time out and helped us greatly with our travel plans. The breakfast is the best range of light breakfast food we have ever experienced. Great location and lots of facilities.

Room Tip: Estes Park has much to offer. Do prior research to ensure you have maximum enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are extremely happy you connected with our staff and managers. It's amazing how knowledgeable they are about the Estes Park area. Happiness is the name of the game at Murphy's Resort. We are happy you were happy. Thanks for the review and we hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My son & I traveled for a week looking at colleges. We stayed at multiple resorts during our trip. Murphy's was very clean, comfortable and in a great location, close to all we wanted to do. I enjoyed the convenience of the laundry facilities. Great stay, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoV9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
How exciting for you to look at colleges with your son. We are happy you said at our Resort.
We love our location. Not only is Estes Park a great mountain town, our Resort is close to Lake Estes and on 6 acres of land. The 360 degree views of the Rocky Mountains are outstanding.
Good Luck on you college search and if you are in the area again please stay with us again.
We are continually changing things up and making our Resort better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here Aug 7th ....10th......Wonderful accommodations..clean rooms great pool
My thanks goes out to Lorretta for all her hard work in updating this Motel complex. Her and her husband run around day and night making sure everyone is happy with their stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review. Yes, Loretta and Bruce do run around all day making people happy. They have a huge amount of energy and talent. They have really, really transformed our Resort.
They have before and after pictures of the Resort. It's worth anyone taking the time to look at them.
It is truly amazing. They come up with ideas to make our Resort even more resorty and we are always in full support of their ideas. They want all our guests to be happy and have an awesome vacation and create wonderful vacation memories. They believe even a on night stay is a vacation.
We are happy you stayed with us please come again because good things are going on at
Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is what we consider to be a typical US style motel. The room was large with 2 queen beds, a couple of easy chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and tv. There was a separate closet area leading to the basin which had a large console area and then the bathroom, which was good. Plenty of towels and toiletries.

The site is large with a pool, hot tub, gas bbqs and games area . There is also a guest laundry which was very handy.

The property is a short distance from town but you have to drive for everything. Fine for getting to the Rocky Mountains NP during the day but less convenient for dining in the evening.

A complimentary breakfast is provided which is great.

A decent option but nothing fancy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We don't believe we are the typical hotel. Most US hotels don't have all the amenities we have.
Here is a list FREE DVD Rentals with close to 1000 movie choices, FREE high speed WIFI, swimming pool and kiddy pool, 12 person hot tub, FREE use of 30 barbeque grills, fire pit, playground, sand volley ball, frisbee golf, horse shoe pits, shuffle board, bago, ladder ball, tether ball, gazebos with picnic tables, picnic tables, bristo chairs and tables outside of rooms, new flat screen TVs, FREE continental breakfast, workout room,board games. We are on 6 acres of land. We also have a 360 degree view of the mountains and we are in walking distance of Lake Estes. We have new beds and linens and new towels. It's seems to us we are more than a typical hotel. Plus we have a friendly accommodating staff. Murphy's Resort is the place to stay. The transformation in the last year has been amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

As this was our first trip to RMNP and Estes Park we researched our hotel possibilities. We were very happy with our choice. The staff of this resort is excellent! They are right there to help you in any way they can. Also there is a great breakfast which is included in your room rate. There are many options for your family needs, but the main thing for us was quiet We experienced a quiet area and a
comfortable room. Our room had a king bed,fridge, microwave and new flatscreen TV with free wifi. It was obvious that a great deal of money had been spent to refurbish this property. Our bed was great and the bathroom was spotless. It is located about 1and 1/2 miles from town and has a great deal of land. They have so many activities for the children and a great library of DVD's for borrowing. I counted 3 gazebos with gas grills to use as you may wish. Overall we thought this property was perfect for a family or a couple who want to take advantage of anything Estes Park has to offer. We would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are happy you think our property is excellent. We have changed and added so many features over the last year. We have many recreational games and activities. We have created a place to rest, relax and play. It's great you mentioned many of our attributes. Thanks for sharing how awesome our staff is they are over the top. We hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Property: Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Address: 1650 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel
Murphy's Resort At Estes Park CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing