We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional and rude”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The office staff was very rude and unprofessional. Book at your own risk!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were looking for reservations late and the Ponderosa was one of the few places with vacancies that weren't expensive. For such an extremely low price, we were concerned about the quality that we would find. We were very pleasantly surprised to find such a beautiful location and such a clean and friendly establishment. I would definitely stay here again. One warning: this is not for people who can't stand the sound of rushing water. The river was 20 feet from our window!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Towchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Are you kidding? Where are these guests staying with the good reviews? We recently stayed at the Ponderosa lodge and the bed pulls down from the wall it is horrible unless used for your pet perhaps. The t.v. is old and small (outdated) . No air conditioner...don't bother to ask for a refund..."no way"...definitely will not be back

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bytheseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The location and cleanliness of the property were our top concerns, and we were not let down one bit! The lodge is tucked away right off Fall River Road, with the river running right in their backyard. Compared to other properties in the area, we got a fair price and had a great stay. It was a short drive into Rocky Mountain National Park, and extremely close to Estes Park, yet the property itself was very quiet with the sound of the rushing river right outside our room. The room was simple, updated, and very clean. My husband and I chose the smaller room with the pull-down European style bed, and it was actually quite comfortable. We happened to stay during one of the busiest times for the park, and one of the hottest summers in years, but it cooled off at night and was quiet enough to sleep with the windows open. The front desk service was great too, they have recommendations for restaurants, and they even let me use their phone! There is not a phone in the room, and my cell phone didn't work there (I have US Cellular, and it did work in Estes Park). The best points: location was perfect for nature lovers, yet convenient to food in Estes Park! You can grill on the patio or one of the areas on property because there is a grocery store nearby. The room had modern touches including mini-fridge and microwave, so you can save money by going to the store instead of eating out. They do have a hot tub by the river, but we didn't get a chance to try it out because we were so busy with other activities in the area. I didn't have anything that I really disliked about the place, and we would definitely stay there again!!! :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, the smallest room with a pull-down bed. It was pretty comfortable and very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SightsSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It was a wonderful stay in Estes. The room was clean, warm and very comfortable. The hot tub was perfect during the snow storm. Jim, Mary Ann, Walt and ofcourse Shadow were the perfect hosts!
Can't wait to return to the beautiful mountains, great company and good energy of the Ponderosa Lodge.
mary from Pa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Ponderosa ten or twelve times over the past 15 years. We've visited in every season and stayed from one night to one week. We came across it while planning a family reunion and although it didn't meet our particular reunion's needs, it has become "our place" to stay whenever we travel to Estes and the Park. We have always found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and in good repair, the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the rates to be reasonable and competitive. The Ponderosa offers a variety of accommodations, but is a relatively small inn. The rooms we have stayed in have had kitchenettes.
The things we like best are that the rooms have balconies immediately above the Fall River, the accommodations are simple and modern, we can save a few bucks by eating "in", and -aside from the running river- it is a generally quiet location.
What could be better? For us, that's hard to say. We have yet to have a bad experience there.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBill062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Loved almost everything about this hotel. First and foremost, it was clean! I really didn't expect to find a place located in the wilderness kept so clean, but it was spotless. It had a small fridge in the room, which was great for leftovers and for keeping drinks cold. The location was great - close to town but away from all the traffic, and convenient to the park entrances. There was free wi-fi in all the rooms, and free coffee in the lobby. I didn't use the hottub, but based on the amount of time I saw people scrubbing down the tables and chairs on the balcony just to keep them clean, I'm sure it too was spotless. At first glance parking seems to be a problem, since there is not a lot of it. But as it turns out, you can pretty much leave your car anywhere, not just in a marked spot, so that worked out OK. And you can hear the stream gurgling from your room, which was awesome. My only real complaint was that the room is a little small if you leave the Murphy bed down (which was surprisingly comfortable), but I will trade cleanliness for more room any day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#24 of 78 in Estes Park
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on Fall River
Inn on Fall River
#11 of 20 in Estes Park
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#20 of 29 in Estes Park
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park
Ponderosa Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing