We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ponderosa Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Crest Resort(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maxwell Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haber Motel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
61
47
17
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
47
17
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedfall riverhot tubdeck dooroffered suggestionshuge bull elkupper leveloverlooking the riverto rocky mountain national parkan older hotelcomfortable staythere is no air conditioningwe've stayedgreat place to stayshort driveliving roomjosh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Love this lodge!


You'll feel like your in the middle of nowhere once inside the main lodge area but the towns only 2 miles from you!


There are wonderful people who have been here for a long time that care/run the Ponderosa Lodge who are very friendly not to mention great to chat with in the AM while drinking coffee & petting the lodges "security system" shadow. LOL! **Want to know what I'm talking about... go stay there & find out! :)** Beautiful surroundings with the Fall River running along side the lodge, owls hooting at night, catch/release fishing & LOTS of wild life! Room's are very nice, very clean & all have a fireplace! Fall River Rd. (Hwy 34) is right next to the lodge so it's easy to find & very surprising, you can only hear the road VERY, VERY faintly from inside the room while the river at night relaxed me right to sleep.


ONLY reason I will ever stay anywhere else while in Estes Park is if the Ponderosa Lodge is SOLD OUT!

Room Tip: Ground level because your right infront of the river!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MountainWoman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just spent 2 nights, the room was clean and updated, the stairs to second floor were old and short, a fragile person could fall. The room was in the middle of bldg. and a bit dark and you can hear the highway if door to porch was ajar. Had good coffee and tea in morning. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Included a microwave and small refrigerator. Also had a fireplace, not easy to start. A good jump start to Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. The price was right for no reservations and the grounds are attractive with a play area for children and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

we have been at ponderosa lodge 3 times before we just enjoy comeing back .MaryAnn welcomes you with a warm smile always willing to make your stay here your best. Thank you to mayy ann and her staff for all you do we will always make ponderosa lodge our place to stay when in estes park byron - peggy daniels trenton nebraska

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskersTrentonNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Ponderosa Lodge fit the bill perfectly for our (far-too-short) two-night stay over Labor Day weekend. Our family of three was originally searching for a secluded cabin, but due to several factors -- including planning late for a holiday weekend and the fact that many places in Estes Park require a three-night minimum over holiday weekends -- we booked a room at Ponderosa Lodge. The price is hard to beat for its location on Fall River.

Our room (Room 12) was the smallest of the rooms with a "European-style" bed (read: Murphy bed), small dining table, loveseat, mini fridge, microwave, and a super-clean and relatively spacious bathroom. The room had everything we needed.

The property is cute and nestled among lots of pine trees, and it's just down the road from one of the RMNP entrances. Our two-year-old loved the playground, and my husband and I enjoyed sitting by the gurgling river. The manager, who lives on the property, is very accommodating and welcoming.

The only thing that's holding me back from giving the property five stars is the fact that the railing on the deck overlooking the river is spaced way too far apart. I was afraid to let my toddler walk around on the deck. There's a good chance we'll be back, however, because it's a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank twinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent Labor Day Weekend at the Ponderosa...our room was perfect! Enjoyed the nice clean and quiet experience that we had..definitely will be back! The staff were very nice and was more then happy to share their knowledge of the area. We felt very welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews