We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Smoker's Heaven”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Smoker's Heaven”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

If you like the smell of cigarettes instead of the mountain air, then this is the place for you! The front desk chick endorses smokers since she herself smokes and has asthma. So, if you're sensitive to the smell of cigarettes, suck it up, and close your balcony door since they won't do a thing about it. It's OK to smoke on the balcony as long as it's not in the room. What about smoke traveling from the balcony to the room?? Doesn't make any sense. Also, make sure you don't talk in the room because apparently the walls are paper thin that you'll be notified of a noise complaint from your next door neighbor. It's also extremely hot and stuffy when the balcony door is closed since there's no air ventilation or AC in the room. I've been to estes park 3 times, and this is the worst place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    43
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
50
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We arrived in Estes Park on Sat. March 17 without reservations and pulled into Ponderosa Lodge on an impulse. What a lucky find! We were shown two equally lovely rooms ...both well appointed, nicely decorated, and featuring fireplaces, kitchenettes and sliding doors to a deck facing the river (and leading to the riverside whirlpool) for under $100 per night. While there were only two of us, a family could have comfortably used the room since it included a hide-a-bed in the living room area. You can hear some highway traffic, but being there in off-season when it was too cool to leave the sliding door open, this was not a problem.

We felt fortunate to have stumbled upon such a well-maintained property and would happily stay at Ponderosa Lodge again.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and would have been happy with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed in many places in Estes Park and finally found the place we will be going back to!! It is a rustic lodge-style situated halfway between Estes Park and the entrance of Rocky Mountain Park (2 miles each way) on Fall River. We stayed in Room 8, which was chosedn for the Queen bed and wood-burning fireplace on the 2nd floor. The room was super clean, and the entire interior of the building was renovated in the last 5 years! It was a GREAT stay with warm hospitality. Every room opens up to the Fall River with its own balcony. Maryann, the manager, is a gem and very welcoming! We will be back several times throughout the year!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-World-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allenspark, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Love this lodge!


You'll feel like your in the middle of nowhere once inside the main lodge area but the towns only 2 miles from you!


There are wonderful people who have been here for a long time that care/run the Ponderosa Lodge who are very friendly not to mention great to chat with in the AM while drinking coffee & petting the lodges "security system" shadow. LOL! **Want to know what I'm talking about... go stay there & find out! :)** Beautiful surroundings with the Fall River running along side the lodge, owls hooting at night, catch/release fishing & LOTS of wild life! Room's are very nice, very clean & all have a fireplace! Fall River Rd. (Hwy 34) is right next to the lodge so it's easy to find & very surprising, you can only hear the road VERY, VERY faintly from inside the room while the river at night relaxed me right to sleep.


ONLY reason I will ever stay anywhere else while in Estes Park is if the Ponderosa Lodge is SOLD OUT!

Room Tip: Ground level because your right infront of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MountainWoman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just spent 2 nights, the room was clean and updated, the stairs to second floor were old and short, a fragile person could fall. The room was in the middle of bldg. and a bit dark and you can hear the highway if door to porch was ajar. Had good coffee and tea in morning. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Included a microwave and small refrigerator. Also had a fireplace, not easy to start. A good jump start to Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. The price was right for no reservations and the grounds are attractive with a play area for children and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trenton ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

we have been at ponderosa lodge 3 times before we just enjoy comeing back .MaryAnn welcomes you with a warm smile always willing to make your stay here your best. Thank you to mayy ann and her staff for all you do we will always make ponderosa lodge our place to stay when in estes park byron - peggy daniels trenton nebraska

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskersTrentonNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinash
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Ponderosa Lodge fit the bill perfectly for our (far-too-short) two-night stay over Labor Day weekend. Our family of three was originally searching for a secluded cabin, but due to several factors -- including planning late for a holiday weekend and the fact that many places in Estes Park require a three-night minimum over holiday weekends -- we booked a room at Ponderosa Lodge. The price is hard to beat for its location on Fall River.

Our room (Room 12) was the smallest of the rooms with a "European-style" bed (read: Murphy bed), small dining table, loveseat, mini fridge, microwave, and a super-clean and relatively spacious bathroom. The room had everything we needed.

The property is cute and nestled among lots of pine trees, and it's just down the road from one of the RMNP entrances. Our two-year-old loved the playground, and my husband and I enjoyed sitting by the gurgling river. The manager, who lives on the property, is very accommodating and welcoming.

The only thing that's holding me back from giving the property five stars is the fact that the railing on the deck overlooking the river is spaced way too far apart. I was afraid to let my toddler walk around on the deck. There's a good chance we'll be back, however, because it's a good value in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 29 in Estes Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dao House
Dao House
#60 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park
Ponderosa Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing